We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“w keep coming back can't beat it.great staff and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Killaloe
Certificate of Excellence
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“w keep coming back can't beat it.great staff and facilities”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stay here everytime we head to kerry as it is a great stop off point.We got a huge family room and breakfast for only E79!!unbeatable.Kids love the pool,it goes from shallow to deep so the toddlers could enjoy themselves as could we!They have plenty of floating gear for the kidsso we didn't need to bring all our own with us.
The staff here are so lovely I didn't get the lady's name on reception,so cheery and informative.Another person i want to recomment is the young man in the pool area who gave us lots of local knowledge and went out of his way to help us.Sadly I didn't get their names.
Great breakfast ,huge selection.TIP I got a cheaper rate ringing them up directly than on their website
Killaloe?Ballina is so pretty we pottered about the next day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowertree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    151
    36
    16
    13
See reviews for
212
169
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worksop
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This hotel although not modern has been refurbished and has excellent rooms most with good views of the river shannon, the food at breakfast is exceptional for a hotel of this rating and the evening meals are good too both in the restaurant and the bar. The staff are very helpful and the leisure facilities are not bad although the swimming pool can get busy with locals at certain times of the day but is kids friendly with splash pool and tube. The towns of Killaloe and Balina are within easy walk and there are plenty of restaurants and shops but of the local type not big! Would recommend a trip on the Spirit of Killaloe up the river shannon even if it rains?

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevieworksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I enjoyed my stay here mostly for the tranquility. It was March so it was quiet. The grounds are lovely, there is a nice big parking lot, the room was a good size, the ed a nice double bed, plenty of hot water, but it wasn't as warm in the room as it could have been. I called the front desk and they tried to fix it, it was still cold, they offered to move me to another room but I was too tired to really care. It was reasonably priced as well - 70 euros and it included breakfast. I didn't explore the pool or adventure center. The view is really wonderful - you see the two villages of Ballina and Killaloe and the bridge that connects them.

Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jyo_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed here after having had a look around Killaloe and deciding Ballina may be a better and nicer place to stay over the river. We consulted Trip Advisor and picked this place. It is a little out of the way and could be difficult to find but its location on the side of the Shannon is superb.
The staff were nice and the room was very spacious and clean. It wasnt anything special - but perfect for our Irish holiday. The bar was busy and the service friendly. The meal was also very good. Wireless WiFi was available in the lounge area. We went for a beautiful walk along the river after dinner. Breakfast was in a sun filled area and of a high standard. A very good hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyg555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Myself, wife and family (two children under 4) stop off here regularly on way to Kerry. Great value for money, huge room, super pool (3 pools that suit toddler and small child and slide for me!) and wide spread for breakfast. Typical Irish hospitality i.e. very pleasant.

Cons: it's a bit dated, wouldn't say it's exactly 4 star standard in terms of decor but it's very acceptable as I'm not that fussed. Hope I'm not doing them a disservice there. Can be noisy if there's a wedding in but we just move room or ask for one at back. Lately it's been very quiet which suits us fine and keeps the rates down!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurystillout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington D.C.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Well there are not many places where you stay that you are looked after in every way. We had the most wonderful meal in the restaurant .The breakfast was also a delight! But when we lost our keys of the car!!! They pulled out all the stop's even had the bins shifted through. They could not have been nicer .So thanks to the manager Eion and the lady at reception Sinead and all the staff even the lady with the red hair who worked at the Leisure Center Thanks God Bless you all

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oshmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We had a relaxing break at this hotel.The staff are very friendly and polite. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable with great views.We would efinitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyespyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killaloe
0.4 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
19.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
17.5 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Lakeside Drive, Killaloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Killaloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Killaloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lakeside Hotel & Leisure Centre in Killaloe on the County Clare and County Tipperary border. This Family Friendly Hotel is situated in a stunning location on the banks of the river Shannon, proudly overlooking the twin towns of Ballina Co. Tipperary and Killaloe Co. Clare with its famous 13 arch bridge and 13th century cathedral, St. Flannans. With its innate sense of peace and warmth, it is often described by locals as "Ireland's Best kept secret" and is one of the top hotels Clare has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Killaloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing