We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Killaloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Very impressed in everyway. Staff very friendly , Bedroom was very comfortable and quite Swimming pool was great, the location was beautiful, breakfast was delicious and we had dinner one night which was part of the deal and was also very good. lots of good pubs and restaurants nearby we also went on a cruise to lough derg, it was a perfect weekend break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lissssssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 584 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2010

This was my first time to visit this part of the country along with some friends and it was really lovely. The hotel itself is situated in a beautiful place with the most beautiful scenery. The staff where extremely friendly and welcoming.The bedroom was so comfortable. It was lovely and cosy and warm. I was not woken during the night and found it to be really quite and relaxed. The breakfast was really tasty and the restaurant was extremely clean. Would love to stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Attended wedding reception at hotel in late Dec. Hotel is in great location beside Lough Derg and less than half hour from Limerick City. All staff were mannerly and polite. Food was fab and plentiful - we were stuffed . Main hotel is modern, clean and spacious. Bedrooms are basic and clean. Breakfast next morning was buffet style with lots of options of hot food, different fruits and cereals etc.. It was a great choice for wedding venue.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinatipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I stayed in the Lakeside Hotel Killaloe in County Clare for 2 nights. I had a wonderfull stay . I found the staff extremely welcoming and friendly at all times. The food was brillant.We dinned in resturant one day, and had bar food the following evening.
I found the rooms very comfortable, and the views were great. I would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londoner123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We were a bit nervous about staying here, having read the reviews on Tripadvisor already! We did pay the extra and upgraded to a room with a view of the Loch and I believe that this was worth every penny. The double room was spacious and clean with fantastic views of the loch and mountains. Yes, the room was a bit dated and could have done with a new carpet (it was quite worn), but it was spotless and the bed was so comfortable, we had a fantastic nights sleep.
The staff went out of their way to help us, nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast was out of this world, we both commented that it was one of the best we had ever had.
We would use this hotel again with no worries, but we would pay for a sea view room, it was the best 20 euros we spent and we would thoroughly recommend the Lakeside.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The staff were ok ,however there were not many of them.mainly young girls without any obvious supervision.We were put into a room over the kitchen,a twin ,we booked a double.It was small ,basic and shabby,The TV remote did not work.Two bulbs gone in overhead light.No plug in wash basin,bathroom grubby and the whole room smelled of food plus an extractor fan that worked all night.After a complaint next day we were moved to another room,the only difference bieng there was no fan,but now we overlooked the overflowing dustbins!! The location was beautiful and the food very good especially breakfast.howevwer we were glad to leave infact the room spoiled our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pammula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We have stayed here a few time with our 2 kids under 3 and would really recommend it.Large family room plenty of room for all our gear.Evening meal was good value and they made up a "baby bowl" for 6 month old.
The pool is huge goes from very shallow to v. deep with a water slide.
We will be staying there again next month.perfect to stay in to break up long drive from dublin to kerry!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowertree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killaloe
0.4 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
19.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,244 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
17.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,471 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre

Address: Lakeside Drive, Killaloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Killaloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Killaloe
Price Range: $89 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lakeside Hotel & Leisure Centre in Killaloe on the County Clare and County Tipperary border. This Family Friendly Hotel is situated in a stunning location on the banks of the river Shannon, proudly overlooking the twin towns of Ballina Co. Tipperary and Killaloe Co. Clare with its famous 13 arch bridge and 13th century cathedral, St. Flannans. With its innate sense of peace and warmth, it is often described by locals as "Ireland's Best kept secret" and is one of the top hotels Clare has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Killaloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing