We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding day couldn't have been better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Killaloe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding day couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Me and my wife had our wedding reception at this hotel on 31st of July 2014. I can honestly say I could not have dreamed that the day would go better. The staff were exceptional, the ballroom looked amazing and the food was out of this world. Special thanks to Courtney our wedding coordinator. We did not have to ask her twice for anything. This hotel does not Merit it's 3 star rating and a lot of 5 star hotels could learn a lot from them. I thank them for making our day so wonderful and wish them all the best for the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwardkennedy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    145
    35
    15
    13
See reviews for
193
162
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Wonderful Hotel , wonderful staff , just returned from a family wedding ,from the time we stepped inside until we left everything was perfect ,our meal was exceptional, served with a wonderful sense of theatre, our room was spacious with great views,I would highly recommend this welcoming hotel .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50lol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I combined business and pleasure and had my family stay here while I worked nearby. A real hotel with character. A little dated in places, but this is to be expected with a hotel dating from the 19th century. But it has a real charm, and the staff are without fault. Food was very nice and good value, the steak was amazing. Kids menus were a bit more than the usual nuggets and well received. Free open wifi throughout, helped keep the kids quiet! We used the pool facilities and we all loved it. Water slide for the kids (and big kids), good kids area and decent facilities for adults like jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. I didn't use the gym, but it looked OK and was being used constantly. A half hour drive from Limerick, the hotel is perfectly located at a bend on the Shannon overlooking the Ballina/Killaloe bridge, the town is a 5-10 minute walk away and there are some good looking pubs and restaurants there, which I didn't sample this time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank theredoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

This small hotel is in an idyllic setting. The view across the Shannon River to the village of Killaloe is so beautiful that it alone justifies a visit. The rooms are not fancy, but they are comfortable and airy. The hotel has a nice pub and restaurant that also looks over the Shannon and the gardens are beautiful. My only complaint was that the bed was somewhat uncomfortable. The bottom sheet kept coming loose and the comforter was tucked in very tightly. The TV in the room has a very small screen and limited channels, but this is a place where you should walk around rather than sit in the room. The area has a number of very nice small restaurants and pubs and the short walk across the bridge to Killaloe is very pleasant. There are a number of historic sights about Brian Boru nearby.

Overall, I liked the hotel very much and would recommend it to friends if they happen to be traveling in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing East have the best views. Rooms in the East/West wing of the hotel are either over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MercuryChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is in a great location. Staff are friendly and efficient. I stayed in a twin room which was very small but clean and had everything one would need. The bathroom was also clean but in need of updating. Breakfast was buffet style and had a great selection.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishtank5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just spent two days at this lovely quaint Hotel. Staff are very helpful friendly and welcoming at all times, we had an inclusive deal which included a very high standard four course meal. Only downfall was our room which was in need of some modernization in particular the bathroom which was very shabby and old. At a cost of 290 euro for two adults i would expect a better standard of room. Killaloe is a truly beautiful place to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just spent the past 2 days this at this with a family group , 9 adults 4 children . We were all very impressed, the hotel is old style but has lots of character is v clean and well maintained . The staff are friendly , helpful and efficient . We had one evening meal included in our deal which was v good quality.
The kids loved the swimming pool especially the huge enclosed slide which kept them entertained for hours . The hotel is located at the edge of the lake in a beautiful setting and many of the rooms have windows facing it . There are nice gardens and common rooms which were especially useful with kids.
While the hotel was perfect for us, It may not suit everyone , there is no lift so people with mobility issues would need to request rooms on the ground floor. You would also need to be on constant alert with small kids due to the proximity and open access to the lake . While some of the rooms had modern showers others had old style ones controlled from bath taps which could definitely be improved on .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killaloe
19.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
11.3 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Castle Oaks House Hotel
Castle Oaks House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleconnell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Lakeside Drive, Killaloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Killaloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Killaloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lakeside Hotel & Leisure Centre in Killaloe on the County Clare and County Tipperary border. This Family Friendly Hotel is situated in a stunning location on the banks of the river Shannon, proudly overlooking the twin towns of Ballina Co. Tipperary and Killaloe Co. Clare with its famous 13 arch bridge and 13th century cathedral, St. Flannans. With its innate sense of peace and warmth, it is often described by locals as "Ireland's Best kept secret" and is one of the top hotels Clare has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Killaloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing