We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth detour”
Review of The Wooden Spoon

The Wooden Spoon
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Killaloe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth detour”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have eaten several times at Wooden Spoon, both in its current location and also at its previous locaion on Convent Hill, It is a step above most establishments of its ilk and deserves all the recommendations that other have bestowed on it! I have many an excuse to go to Killaloe/Ballina area just so I can have a decent meal/snack and coffee delivered to me with a smile for the guys working there. I have also sent some friends there who equally came back with glowing reports. While its prices match the location I would prefer to pay a little more and get quality and food provenance!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ballykilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    40
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited as part of our Trafalgar tour of Ireland. It was a cooking class including soda bread, Guinness stew and apple berry crumble. We loved the demonstration and enjoyed the great lunch! Thanks for a fun event!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darleen1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Restored my Faith in Wholesome, Affordable Bistro Food”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just had (a) Fresh Basil/Tomato Soup (wonderful, satisfying portion) and great homemade brown bread (b) Spiced Lamb Moroccan Pitta Bread, zingy Salsa & chunky chips (c) my partner had the soup & a Vegetarian Potato/Chickpea/Freshly made Curry. Glass of New Zealand wine, Bottle of Pelegrino sparkling water, a "to die for" Chocolate Brownie & 2 Coffees - all for the reasonable price of €50.50 (without service charge.) If Ireland had more eating establishments, such as "the Wooden Spoon" - then "The Gathering" would be in safe hands. Wonderful quick, friendly, efficient service. If only the connecting road from the Motorway to Killaloe was not so dreadful, it would be the way to Heaven !! And to think that, growing up I used to associate the "Wooden Spoon" with painful memories - NO LONGER ! Only Pleasure, from now on !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank droileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Wooden Spoon”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is such a lovely place!!! If you want good coffee and great wholesome food this is the place to go. Yummy bits to treat yourself to, from Brownies, to Bakewells, to delicious brown bread. A great variety suiting the meat eater to the vegetarian, and whether you what a lite bite or something a bit more filling. Have eaten in the small cafe part at the front for a quick bite and coffee, and the larger restaurant at the back where they serve great quesadillas, and my favourite which is quinoa stuffed peppers!!! yum. You can eat-in or take-away, so if you happen to be in the area of Killaloe give it a try!!! enjoy

Tracy

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Wooden Spoon”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Went in here for a bite on Saturday night. The food was fantastic it has to be said but the service let it down massively. The waitress we had was a bit sourly which was a huge shame as the food, atmosphere and location were fantastic. Food was what you'd expect price wise, noting too reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank druidschair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wooden Spoon also viewed

Killaloe, County Clare
 
Killaloe, County Clare
 

Been to The Wooden Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing