We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location”

Flanagan's on the Lake
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Killaloe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Youghal, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“location location”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stopped off recently at flanagans while waiting for a trip on the Shannon.This is a nice bar and restaurant with great views.Food was keenly priced and well presented.This Pub has the biggest selection of whiskies that i have seen.The owner informed me that it is the biggest collection of whisky in Munster,and I had no reason to doubt him.Cheese wrap and Fries on the side with salad cost around 7 euro fifty which represented good value.Coffee here is delicious although the cups are a bit small.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    108
    42
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I loved this restaurant situated on the lake with great views from the window. The food was gorgeous, I had the fish and chips which were outstanding and fresh. for dessert I had the sticky toffee pudding which I cannot even describe it was so good. Best dessert I have ever had. Staff are very friendly and chatty. Great experience here, came back a second time on my weekend visit to Killaloe. Definitely recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elainecj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co limerick
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Couldn't fault this restaurant at all . Have been there on many occasions , fine food , reasonably priced and of course the setting , by the lake , first class.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food and good friendly service”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is located right on the edge of the lake in a great location. The bar is well stocked as you would expect and the menu has some great offerings. Our party of four all had a different main course and the presentation and taste of each dish was excellent, the chicken supreme was particularly good. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Super atmosphere and great food. Shame the smokers congregate just outside the restaurant window...”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We tried this place while we stayed overnight in Killaloe. As it was my birthday, we wanted something a little special but not overly stuffy. The place looked great inside and out and the bar and waiting staff were very firndly and professional. The bar looked fantastic with a huge dark wooden cabinet containing lots of different spirits - especially whiskies of the world. You can join a whiskey club for 50 Euros and taste 10 of these for free apparently. Some whiskeys should be over 25 Euros per shot!

... any-hoo, food: It was superb. I do however struggle with the fact wherever you go in Ireland the steak seems to be extortionately expensive. The average seems to be about 23 Euros for an 8oz rump... very steep. I opted for confit duck leg and my other half went for lamb shank. Both dishes were gorgeous and we only needed one course to feel stuffed!

It looks like they can cater for about 100, so I suspect when it is busy, it may not be quite the same experience. This relatively quiet Wednesday in December was however sublime.

In easy walking distance of the town centre and the hotel we stayed at (Lakeside Hotel and Spa), I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linskibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flanagan's on the Lake also viewed

 
Killaloe, County Clare
 

Been to Flanagan's on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing