We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit”

The Victorian Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This cafe is well worth a visit. The food is excellent - you can choose from a large list of breakfasts, salads, sandwiches, breads and cakes. The atmosphere is great - the china is mismatched, the teapots are old-fashioned and none of the chairs are part of a set. The staff were very friendly, and the food was very quick to arrive. The portions are huge, and it is great value for money.

The only downside is that it can be very crowded. It is a small cafe, and very much in demand. When we arrived, there were no tables available. Staff were very apologetic, and when a table became available about five minutes later, they not only saved it for us, but actually came looking for us to tell us that it was ready!

I will definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely concept, rather overcrowded”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I think this lovely idea has rather been a victim of its own success because the last three times I visited it was full to overcrowding, and the last two times - by the time the waiter or waitress made it to our table, the cakes I had chosen from the glass display cabinet had been nabbed by people on other tables, which makes for a rather disappointing experience.

The waiter we had today was a lovely chap, but all the staff look a bit hot and overworked.

The food is generally of good quality and we love the mismatched china and old fashioned style.

Might be time to swap floor space with the antiques area next door to give your customers more space.

Thanks for a lovely cuppa all the same.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle_Roue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delightful tea, antiques - and pianos!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Victoria Tea Rooms are just one of several small businesses gathered around an old farm courtyard at the Straffan Antiques and Design Centre, in the beautiful Co. Kildaire.

The Tea Rooms cater for breakfasts, light lunches and teas - but also have a couple of specialist High-Tea's available (if you book ahead). Everything is freshly baked, and served in a lovely refurbished barn on wonderfully mismatched old crockery. We had a light lunch of their delicious soup and home-baked bread - then the proprietors kindly held our table whilst we had a stroll around the beautiful antiques and pianos in the Antique Centre next-door, before returning to the cafe for tea and cake.

Definitely somewhere to come back to, if only to see what new antiques have arrived!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice brunch or cake”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Went to visit the Straffan Butterfly Farm and got this place recommended by the lady at the reception of the farm. This is a very cosy and old-fashioned place - but in a good way, with a very tasty food, nice atmosphere and very nice and attentive staff. If we come back to the farm we'll certainly make this a combo visit with the Tea Room. And loved the shop too, with all the vintage clothes and handbags and jewellery.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A lovely little tea room. Food homemade and delicious! The location is wonderful and there are lovely little shops next door to browse. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dee2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victorian Tea Room also viewed

Straffan, County Kildare
Straffan, County Kildare
 
Maynooth, County Kildare
Celbridge, County Kildare
 

Been to The Victorian Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing