We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusted”

Straffan Butterfly Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusted”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Vistited this farm with my family and was not impressed to say the least. Firstly the price is daylight robbery. Only because the place is so small. We had a twin pram and couldnt fit it through the main door which meant we had to hold our 2 young children. After we looked inside and at the butterflys there was literally nothing more to do, no play area for our children to enjoy just a large garden. Lady in reception didnt want to talk which i found this strange. Feel robbed and also think some of the comments on here are misleading.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank suemclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmond f, Owner at Straffan Butterfly Farm, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
A review vary much at variance to the general feedback of the many visitors to the butterfly exhibition some of whom post their reports on Trip Advisor. This is a small privately owned exhibition which has been running for 28 years and is suitable for children and adults but it is not a children's playground. There is a covered in picnic area which seats about 30 people and beside that on grass there are goalposts and a football which many people use. In the main exhibition area (about 1000 sq.feet) there is a wealth of information about butterflies plus living reptiles, scorpions,spiders and stick insects. There is always someone there to answer questions and to let the children or adults handle the leaf or stick insects if they want to. There is another area which seats 30 people with a short educational film about the life of butterflies and this film repeats itself every 20 minutes. The tropical butterfly house (1200 sq.feet) is maintained at 28 degrees centrigrade and we have regular visits from camera clubs and enthusiasts. Humidity is high and lenses will initially fog up on a cold camera but will clear after about 10 minutes - we have a hair dryer available to speed up the process if required.The climate recreates the natural Peruvian rain forest conditions which the butterflies require but it is not unduly oppressive for most people. Many people do not realise that the life of a tropical butterfly is less than one week so most of the butterflies are imported every week from the tropics which is extremely expensive. There is also a large garden where on a sunny day there are lots of native butterflies to be seen feeding on the flowers and bushes and I would contend that for anyone with an interest in butterflies the exhibition is good value for money at 8.00 euro for adults. Many visitors have a picnic and are there for several hours and in some cases all day. Single buggies are not a problem anywhere in the exhibition but double buggies will be cumbersome in the butterfly house and are generally left outside the tropical house door. We welcome all reports and feedback and hope that this may assist if someone feels that the reports on Tripadvisor are misleading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    8
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor Value For Money”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Arrived expecting to be there with the kids for a few hours. Admission was 20 euro plus for a family of four.
The overall area is very small and alot of visitors were looking around the back to see if there was more!
They should definitely reduce their prices, feel a little bit conned.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sroo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmond f, Owner at Straffan Butterfly Farm, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
The length of time that people spend is entirely dependant on how interested they are in butterflies and other insects. There are always staff on hand to talk to and a big effort goes in to having creatures such as large stick insects available so that children can handle them or at least see them up really close. There are a lot of educational displays which some people study at length and ask questions but orthers walk by. It is very costly to run a living butterfly exhibition because apart from all the associated costs of year round maintaince we still have to fly most of the butterflies in from the tropics every week - most tropical butterflies live less than 7 days. Many people stay for more than 2 hours and for the information that is available plus the experience of exotic butterflies flying and feeding all around you I would contend that it is not bad value for money. The cost of something and the value of something can be very different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience for all the family”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a great place for both children and adults.our boys aged 6 and 4 really enjoyed it.they got to hold leaf insects and watch feeding time.the butterfly house is just amazing.well worth a visit. Really nice covered picnic area in the car park.really nice visit for a family day out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmaok1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great but smaller than expected”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Daughter loves butterflies and 2adults and 2 children went here expecting a day out. Staff friendly and informative, but was disappointed with the size of the farm for the price of entry. Short walk around and then option to watch a short film on the life of the butterfly. We were done after an hour ....don't expect to spend much longer there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank caraq90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Magic little flutter in butterfly oasis. Good value, excellent staff!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our 2nd visit to this little bit of magic. Adults and kids (gran, 2 x teen's, 2 younger) love this little oasis in a gardeners paradise. Created lovingly, the gardens, the gallery of butterfly's, and the live species are eye catching. Craig (hope it wasn't Greg), anyway - loves his job, and is very good with the kids & adults. He will engage and answer anything the kids randomly thought of! It is a wonderful way to spend the day. The lawn is made avail for picnics, and there is also tables and chairs enclosed (all weathers). The magic of the colourful butterfly's floating about so close, and landing on you if you stand still is a fab experience. There is also ongoing educational information which the kids could sit and watch.
Will defo, call again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DublinFreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Straffan Butterfly Farm also viewed

Kildare, County Kildare
Maynooth, County Kildare
 
County Kildare, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Straffan Butterfly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing