We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out”
Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2008

I played the Smurfit course with a golf society recently and came away glowing from fantastic day out. Over all it was exellent value for money with nobody trying to squeze extra revenue out of you for practice balls and pull carts( all complementry).

Service in the pro shop and Monza cafe was friendly and professional. Even the starter was a happy soul. Golf course is simply spectacular. Greens are just perfect. Bring plenty of balls and enjoy the ride.Buggies have GPS which was cool but did not help me break any course records.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank golfandmoregolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 955 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2008

We have just returned from the K Club after a 3 night stay over the New Year period. We weren't really too sure what to expect but we certainly weren't disappointed! The hotel was beautiful with lovely cosy public areas with log fires and big squishy sofas. The staff were friendly, professional and efficient. We didn't have one blip during our stay (apart from on our departure), which considering how busy it was there was amazing! Nothing was too much trouble.

The food was great although we didn't eat at Legends which has had a few duff reviews.

Golf was good too although a little expensive, but isn't it always!! Especially at a Ryder Cup course.

Only little blips were on departure when we were overcharged 500 euros and our taxi didn't turn up - but we were so chilled out after our stay this was no big deal - it was soon sorted.

overall an extremely well managed hotel with excellent staff and incredible grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

my wife and i stayed for one night at the K club. Beautifull old hotel and two of the best golf courses i have ever played. BUT..we had a meal in the legends restaurant and it was not at all good..my steak (medium) must have been cooked with a blowtorch..it was burnt black..yuk. The chowder was poor as well. I dont mind paying E160.00 for a meal if its good..but this was disapointing..and no i didnt complain but i should have shouldnt i!..Still,lovely place,lovely staff..brilliant golf.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sadcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We stayed at the KClub this year in August for a long weekend. The hotel is stunning and the staff are very good. Our room was huge overlooking the lawn and grounds and there was plentyof room to put in an extra bed for my daughter. The 10% gratuity tax is very steep I have to agree with the other reports I did find this hard to swallow when the prices are 5* already.
However, the men playing golf did have a bit of a problem the greens were top dressed...! means nothing to me but they were not too happy but the hotel dealt with this and gave us a discount which was very good of them. We apparently should have been told previously so they were most apologetic.
The Spa was great, massage/facial wonderful but the pedicure/manicure took ages and after an hour and a half I really wanted to get back to the hotel, felt that I was left for quite a while. But the results were very good, best pedicure Ihave had. Fantastic place ....

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank A8nnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We were planning the perfect weekend in Dublin & Kildare. Rod Stewart concert in RDS Dublin Friday. Drive to K Club in Straffan straight afterwards for a 2 Night stay @ K Hotel. Arriving at midnight and even at that ungodly hour the Main Door wide open inviting us in like old friends. Pampered by the professional unintrusive staff. Living in understated luxury. Enjoying the culinary delights available. Transfers to the Barbra Streisand concert 10 kms away. Views of spectacular gardens and 2 World Class Golf Courses amongst other pursuits available The list in endless. Suffice to say, having stayed in many 5 Star Hotels through Europe and World - this is the BEST Hotel I have ever stayed in ! A little more expensive than most other Hotels but well worth the extra. My wife and I are in agreement -
When we die and go to Heaven we will not be surprised in we are in the K Club, Straffan, Co, Kildare
As the Nike ad says - JUST DO IT !!!
Paul & Mary Beaddie
Raheny
Dublin
Ireland

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bettyglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We stayed in the K Club as a special treat for my father-in-law's 75th birthday. And boy was it special! I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this was the most wonderful experience I have ever had in an hotel. The staff are friendly, courteous, and so thoroughly pleased to help you, smile and say hello, it was a pleasure. The catchphrase for the weekend was "nothing is a problem at the K Club". The food was expensive and the compulsory 10% gratuity a bit steep but it is exactly what you would expect of the most exclusive hotel in Ireland. The grounds and courses are beautiful, with natural variety trees amongst landscaped gardens. The K Spa is luxurious with any treatment you desire, my massage and manicure was wonderful, service was discreet and the surroundings relaxing and not overly ostentatious. There is a pianist during dinner in the Byerly Turk restaurant which was unobtrusive but entertaining. Breakfast is a feast in the River Room and the foyer is a wonderful place to people watch. The rooms are huge and the suites, with their own private patio area and breathtaking views over the course and gardens are worth the extra 200 euros upgrade. The bathrooms are enormous and individually decorated. I thought the plastic duck was a humourous touch in a hotel that takes its customer service extremely seriously and suceeds in every respect.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ilovetotravelIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

Without doubt one of the best hotels in the world, world class service, amenities, dining and comfort. Very personal service, everybody seems to know your name, and our suite was excellent, filled with interesting antiques and paintings. Great location, especially as we were going to the Curragh races. The golf's good too! Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
8.3 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
1.2 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#3 of 5 in Naas
1,224 reviews
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
469 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range: $229 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Ireland/Straffan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing