We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Good, Smurfit Course Excellent, Palmer Course Most Disappointing”
Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel Good, Smurfit Course Excellent, Palmer Course Most Disappointing

Hotel Good - Although its expensive, the rooms are large and the breakfast provided has everything that a guest would require. The service is excellent as is the K Spa.

Smurfit Course Excellent - A really good test of golf. Well thought out holes, good fairways and greens and a very good overall experience.

Palmer Course Most Disappointing - I simply expected better from the Ryder Cup Course of 2006. The clubhouse is nice and staff were very helpful but it is the course itself that is the problem.
The greens were in a poor state with some heavily diseased along with fairways and tees that were damaged and unkempt.
Most disappointing of all was the signature 16th hole which had a temporary green due to the bridge to it over the river having collapsed.
Not only were we not told about this anywhere but no efforts seemed to have been made to have rectified the problem.
All the greens on both courses had been recently top dressed which I understand is important and don't have a problem with but the overall state of the Palmer course was most disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear tdb83,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of The K Club on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments about our hotel and service. We always strive to ensure that we exceed each of our guests expectations .

Needless to say we were disappointed with your comments about our Palmer Ryder Cup Course. I would like to take a moment to clarify a number of the issues which you have outlined in your review.

In relation to your comments about the greens, they were not and are not in any way diseased, they were struggling with discolouration as a consequence of the coldest March we have had on record. This is unfortunately very much the same country wide with parkland golf courses with similar grass as ours on the greens , however it is fully expected they will return to a normal growth pattern as soon as weather conditions improve. Currently the temperature has risen significantly to about 14 degree and growth has begun again thankfully .

It is important to note that this discolouration is very common in colder climates such as Northern States of America, Canada and in all of the Scandinavian countries.

With regards to the bridge this was a very unfortunate situation which we are absolutely rectifying. As this bridge collapsed so close to your visit with us, we were merely assessing and planning the best way forward in consultation with the experts .The bridge dates back to 1847 and so involves consultations with engineers , architects and heritage consultants before commencement.

Should you wish to contact me directly I would be more than happy to expand on these comments. Please feel free to contact me by phone here at the Hotel or by email on audrey.brophy@kclub.ie.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us and restore your faith and confidence in The K Club Experience.

Kindest Regards,
Audrey Brophy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 955 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here with family & 4 kids aged 6 to 15
Beautiful grounds. Beautiful Hotel. Stunning golf courses. Classic views from many of the windows. Great art.
Staff could not have been more welcoming. We were immediately made to feel like VIP guests and that standard of care and interest was maintained throughout the 3 night stay.
Food excellent. We ate in the River Room one night which was as good as I have had in Michelin star facilities. One night at the club house of the Ryder Cup Course which served great bar food. We also ate one night in the other golf club house (Smurfit Course) which served Thai. The service and attention at all the restaurants was excellent. The Thai restaurant made every effort to make the kids meal as enjoyable as possible with extra little treats and attention.
Facilities very well appointed. Pool large and clean. Changing rooms neat and tidy. Fitness centre up to date kit, well presented and well ventilated.
We were fortunate enough to have to the delux rooms which were enormous and very comfortable. The en-suite included a bath almost big enough for a baby to swim in, double basin, toilet, bidet and roomy walk in shower. The bed was very comfy medium firm and large enough to hold a party on.
A very particular highlight of the stay was the fishing with the Mark Casey one of the Ghillies and the golf lessons with Michael Dixon. Mark taught my 6 year old son to cast, spin and fish in about 20 minutes and then had the patience to supervise him for 2 three hour sessions. He got all the kids fishing and was a real star. He also managed to teach me to use the wet fly. We had an outstanding time with him. Thanks.
The Michael the golf pro was excellent with my 10 year old son and worked some wonders with my swing. Thanks.
The K Club has a deserved reputation as one of the best hotels of its kind. I look forward to staying here again soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor along from River room were excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanisLunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed a few weeks ago, it was fabulous! Expensive but worth it, a lovely relaxing place.
The staff were very welcoming and we got an upgrade at no extra cost which was great. We visited the club house for lunch and then the Thai for dinner, both were beautiful. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What can I say!! We just loved it! From the minute we arrived we felt totally spoilt. We had a few drinks in Legends Bar beside a blazing fire, it was so cosy and staff were so friendly. Our room was stunning..simply stunning. We had views over the gardens..lovely big bed, beautiful bathroom..I could go on and on and still not do it justice. It has to be experienced. I find other hotels all ver similar, but the K Club is unique and stunningly beautiful. We had dinner in the River Room restaurant and the food was exquisite. The taste, the presentation, the atmosphere, the service..everything was fabulous. We had after dinner drinks in the hotel bar, again a lovely atmosphere in here and we were looked after by the lovely John. Breakfast was delicious and there is a huge array of choices, and again staff were excellent. Finally a trip to the spa for a massage, as if I had not been spoilt enough! This was such a treat and thoroughly enjoyed every minute, my husband used the gym and pool while i was having my treatment and he was very impressed with the facilities. All in all, our stay in the K Club was an unforgettable experience, and thats exactly what it is 'an experience' not just a hotel stay. My only complaint is that we only had one night!! We will definitely be back! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shir78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here over Easter weekend with my wife and several friends as we were all attending a friends wedding at the hotel.

The hotel itself is gorgeous as are the grounds and the staff are superb. However there are a few things that let it down. Firstly on the Friday night, four of us went to the Thai restaurant and were bitterly disappointed. Paying over the odds for food that was all pickled in salt and thus drowning out the flavours.
In addition despite notifying the hotel well in advance that my wife is allergic to lactose/dairy produce, they still couldn't manage to supply a dairy free spread at breakfast. These spreads are readily available all over the country so there is simply no excuse for this.

The rooms are gorgeous and a credit to the hotel as are the bathrooms, the bathtub in particular was fabulous. However, the bedrooms are far too warm at night so comfortable sleep was a stretch.
We also enjoyed time at the K Spa and a lovely walk in the grounds so there were some serious plus points to the hotel.

I really don't feel it is any better an experience than any 4 star hotel I have been too. I was happy to be getting a discount rate for our stay because I certainly wouldn't pay full whack to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We took advantage of a travelzoo deal for a couple of nights b&b. receptionist was warm and welcoming and we were impressed with size of room and decor although I noted the carpets throughout the hotel were in need of replacement. Maybe it's a personal thing but we did find the bed to be much too firm for comfort. The views from the room over the gardens however were impressive. Drinks and dinner were very expensive although excellent quality and guest service faultless. Facilities such as the spa and golf course are very good and the nearby town of Clane also provided a change of scenery and activity. All in all a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jezreel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear jezreel2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read you had a comfortable & memorable stay with us.

To address your comment about the required refurbishments, admittedly a number of the rugs and carpets in public areas are indeed in need of replacement. This is being attended to as we work through an ongoing and consistent maintenance and upgrade program to ensure we constantly achieve the standards required of our customers and of an AA Five Red Star Hotel of our reputation.

The rugs in question are handmade in Connemara Ireland and we are actually expecting delivery of the new ones in mid-April. We are delighted to support Connemara rugs and carpets, an Irish family owned company dating back to 1940.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to The K Club to see the great work that we are doing.

Kindest Regards,
Audrey Brophy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked our weekend break through Travel Zoo to the beautiful K Club situated in Straffan Co. Kildare. I was a little apprehensive as I had read a few negative comments. I needn't have worried as I found the hotel to be a beautiful building with a charming range of antique furniture, interesting art work and sculptures and books on the history of Straffan house. I particularly loved the original part of the house especially the drawing room where a log fire was burning and tranquil music was playing in the background. Afternoon tea in this room or indeed in any of the others is a treat. We enjoyed dinner in the dining room again a lovely atmosphere where the staff are very pleasant. Breakfast was great with a selection of fresh fruits, cereals ...granola was tasty as were the prunes in port and cooked option.
Our room was spacious with a massive bathroom with aromatic toiletries, Voya range. Bed linens and towels all monogrammed which look impressive and give a feeling of quality.
We also had a snack in Legends bar which was great and reasonably priced while watching the golfers on the fairway.
Overall a great weekend and we will visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0lfer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
8.3 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
1.2 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#3 of 5 in Naas
1,224 reviews
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
470 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range: $229 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Ireland/Straffan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing