We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel experience ever! 5 Star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Antrim
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel experience ever! 5 Star service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is for sure the best I have stayed at. Customer service is second to none and the hotel itself is set in beautiful landscape. Its immaculate and the food and atmosphere are second to none. You pay for what you get here. Staff are so professional and nothing is too bother for them. Breakfast is the best I have ever seen at a hotel.
Fantastic place for that special treat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear RAKelly,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about The K Club. I was so pleased to read that you felt the hotel exuded 5 star service and facilities. It was lovely to read your wonderful comments about our staff and the atmosphere in our hotel. We were delighted to look after you during your stay and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    144
    85
    18
    13
See reviews for
149
378
6
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Antrim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed one Saturday night. It was a fantastic experience. The service and attention from staff was top class. I had worried that the hotel may have been a bit stuffy, but this was far from the case. We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Our room was upgraded which was a fantastic suite overlooking the river. Food was fantastic.

It is not cheap, but this was a treat, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear NCK72,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & that you got to experience the beautiful views from our River Room Suites. We strive to ensure that all our guests get to enjoy the 5 star experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again very soon.
Kindest Regards,
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Brendan was polishing the sign as we drove up and immediately came to assist with the bags. The front desk staff gave us a warm welcome and we were cheerfully and efficiently settled by the fire. What could be more welcoming? Well, John, the barman, his capable talent for libations and conversation, Lisa, the sommelier, a fascinating history and tour of the wine cellar, Jack, as he drove us to and fro the golf club,and, the genuine friendliness of all employed at the KClub Did I really stay in the same room Tiger had for the Ryder Cup? I don't know but ii was gorgeous, sumptuous and delightful. Beautiful views of the property with an enjoyable spa, wonderful food, and good location for touring the National Stud Farm...a must.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kabu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear kabu_13,

On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel, I would like to thank you for writing such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read the lovely comments you had about the great team that we have here! I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team here at The K Club.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to The K Club again.

Thank you again for your encouraging words.
Kindest Regards,
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from spending 2 nights B & B in this beautiful hotel. This was done with the help of my son and his wife giving us a gift using Tavelzoo. On the first day we had lunch and evening meal at "The Legends Restaurant". Food lovely and staff very friendly and efficient. Hotel accommodation excellent. If you like oldie worldie then this hotel is just for you. Meal in The River Room Restaurant beautiful but on the expensive side. Staff in the hotel were excellent and couldn't do enough for you. They really made you feel important!! Hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Jacqueline H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to The K Club on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your 2 night break with us.

I was delighted to read that you were impressed with our warm and friendly team. I will be certain to pass on your kind comments onto our food and beverage teams here in the hotel.

I hope you had a safe trip home and please contact us here if there is anything we can do to make your next stay as memorable.

Look forward to seeing you at The K Club again soon.
Kindest Regards,
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great hotel 5* luxury even better if you get a deal staff are a credit to the place food good especially the breakfast.
Had a meal in legends clubhouse and the selection of food is great
Great gardens for walking in.

Room Tip: Look out for a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthM709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Ruth M,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your recent stay at The K Club. I was so pleased to read that you felt the hotel exuded 5 star service and facilities. It was lovely to read your kind comments about our staff also - we work very hard as a team to ensure our guests have the most enjoyable stay possible.

I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The K Club again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a very grand hotel. It is situated outside Dublin and it has 2 excellent golf courses. The grounds are vast and offer various walks. It is very expensive but it is the lap of luxury. The facilities are excellent, from a the K spa to a swimming pool and an outside hot tub. Surprisingly we went outside to it in the cold and it was great! Find out offers for it and go!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Damien G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to The K Club on Trip Advisor.
I was so pleased to read how impressed you were with our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and thank you for sharing them.

Lastly it was great to read that you found time to visit the K Spa which is an experience in itself. I hope you have had a safe journey home and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The K Club again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in March, on a deal from Travelzoo. although mainly a golf resort there is plenty here for a short break if you get a deal, because after we found out the regular rates I would say this place is vastly overpriced. The rooms are very comfortable and the main areas of the hotel have an old world charm. BUT we felt that the restaurant was very ordinary and the levels of service just so so. Overall we would stay here again but not at regular rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays1work0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
8.3 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
390 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Property: The K Club
Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Ireland/Straffan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing