We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with the wow factor”
Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a luxurious hotel just a short drive from Dublin. The main part of the hotel is located in what was a magnificant country house. The public rooms are beautiful and I would recommend the afternoon tea as an indulgent treat. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated with a good sized bathroom with both a shower and large deep bath and lots of goodies.

The hotel has a lovely spa just a short distance from the main hotel and golf course in the grounds. There are a number of restaurants both in the main building of the hotel and in the grounds which provide a range of eating places to suit all budgets.. We chose to eat in the restaurant at the Club House which was a short walk from the main building and we were offered transport in the hotel car. There was a good range items on the menu and our choices were tasty and well presented.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 949 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here last week with my Fiance parents. We are getting married at the K Club in May. The staff throughout the whole process have been great. Cannot fault them at all. The detail in everything they do is perfect. The rooms are lovely. The grounds are so pretty. We can't wait to go back in May

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the 2 bed apartments which were fitted out great. Right beside the spa and restu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Leanne1981,

I would like to thank you on behalf of all at The K Cub for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your words of appreciation to our team. We are so looking forward to having you back for your big day in May!

Warm Regards,
Audrey Brophy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Food extremely over priced and very little of it. Far superior hotels now in Ireland with much better facilities. It's a 5* golf resort but on entering hotel it's very noticeable how shabby everything has become. Furniture fraying cracked tiles in bathroom and tea for 1 was €6.50. Waiter got our order wrong so by the time it was sorted the joy was gone out of it. Amazing grounds very well kept so maybe the attraction is the golf course. Not for me. When I have a meal I like to be full afterwards, not on this occasion. The spa is only average as no thermal rooms r tropical showers no ice treatment and the steam and sauna (very small) in changing rooms. Needs an immediate overhaul. Very disappointed. Next time I visit I shall bring a picnic and sit outside as far more beautiful outside than inside

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaoisBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear LaoisBelle,

Thank you for taking the time to review The K Club. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. It is unfortunate that you were not able to meet myself or a member of our management team so that we could discuss and resolve these issues during your stay.

Providing our guests with the best in Irish hospitality and 5 star service has always been of the utmost importance to us here at The K Club. We will examine and address the issues you encountered during your dining experience and stay. We have an ongoing maintenance and refurbishment program to keep the facilities in good order and meet the expectations and standards associated with our red star status and reputation.

If you are to make a return visit to The K Club I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please feel free to ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The K Club to restore your faith!


Kindest Regards,
Audrey Brophy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we spent a really lovely night here recently, everything is just perfect. The staff are so friendly and helpful and made our stay really comfortable. The restaurant food is really well presented and tastes delicious. The food in the legends bar was very good also. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was the best of any hotel we have stayed in. We will definitely return for a longer visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laylaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Travelzoo offer so the price was very reasonable. Really friendly staff and food in he clubhouse lovely with big portions!

Rooms were lovely but old fashioned and therefore not to my taste - made the place look grubby which I'm sure it wasn't.

Grounds were spectacular!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Insomnimum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear gduffy10,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and for such kind words of praise. It will be my pleasure to share your review with the entire team here at The K Club and they will all join me in thanking you also.
We work very hard as a team to ensure each & every guest has an enjoyable and memorable stay with us.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to The K Club again.

Yours Sincerely,

Audrey Brophy

Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and was blown away by the place.The staff member on reception was friendly and efficient.Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable with all the accessories you could possibly want.I thought the bathroom was superb - what a pleasure to have a bath large enough to actually stretch out in.I noticed one or two other reviewers comment on the decor - I certainly did not find it tired looking or worn.I found it charming but above all spotlessly clean and this to me is the most important thing.Breakfast in the River Room overlooking the gardens with the sun shining was just the most pleasant of experiences.Lots of choice and professional, friendly and polite staff.We didnt use the Spa facilities but walked at length through the beautiful grounds - next time I will bring my golf clubs! It is a 5* hotel so I did expect the restaurant to be expensive 63 Euro per person for 3 course Table d'hote in the River Room or 35 Euro for 3 course set menu in Legends in the Palmer clubhouse with tea/coffee.What is dear for some may not be for others especially with TravelZoo deals on offer The quality of the food will be very good whichever you choose.One final comment Having stayed in Carton House The charm and old world atmosphere of the K club wins for me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear n1952,

Many thanks for the lovely review you posted and for taking the time to share your experience of The K Club with us. On behalf of everybody at our hotel, thank you for your very kind comments about your stay with us; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to The K Club again.

Yours Sincerely,

Audrey Brophy

Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I frequent the K Club on a regular basis and even now, after years of lunches, dinners, corporate events etc, I have never been disappointed. It is truly an incredible experience, one which cannot be matched elsewhere in Ireland. The staff have always bent over backwards to grant even the most awkward of requests, are always well-presented, professional and polite and the food is utterly delicious. This observation is across the board, from Legends Restaurant to the Main hotel. As for the comparison the previous review makes with Carton House and the Ritz Carlton- both of these properties are modern monstrosities and could not be even held in the same light. I would not consider the carpets and decor to be faded but if they are not sparkling and straight out of an IKEA catalogue, it is most likely due to the fact that they are priceless antiques. I could not recommend the K Club highly enough and any friend or family member I have ever introduced to it is in absolute agreement. We have never been disappointed. Go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
8.3 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
1.2 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,216 reviews
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
464 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range: $241 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Ireland/Straffan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing