We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb (but get it on an offer!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb (but get it on an offer!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in the K Club for two nights with a very good value offer from Travelzoo. Although the hotel could do with some freshening up in places it truly was a slice of relaxing heaven. It could be described as vintage 5 star with some of its older furnishings and a few marks on carpets here and there but in some ways this added to the charm. I only have a couple of minor criticisms which I'll get out of the way first before indulging in the praise. The hotel is very very expensive if you don't get it on an offer like the one we got on Travelzoo - which included 60 euro credit for dinner or a treatment. Without that we would have found it extremely punishing on the wallet - especially for dinner. I've stayed in a number of 5 star hotels and one of my favorite bits is the luxury products in the changing rooms of the pool/spa (nice shampoo, conditioner and moisturisers etc) in the K club showers and changing rooms however the soap and shower gels were reminiscent of fairy liquid! I had to run back to the room to use my own prodcuts each time after the pool. That is where the criticisms end though because it was an absolutely fantastic stay and we had a deluxe room which was much more like a huge luxurious suite! It had his and hers sinks in a massive bathroom, a lounge area, walk in wardrobe and bureau etc. The food was superb especially the breakfast. The atmosphere was so relaxed you felt like you could sit for hours sampling the huge range of the freshest breakfast food - from fruit selection, to eggs cooked to order, full irish breakfast, cereals, cheeses, breads, fruit juices etc and much much more. We ate the in the bar both nights as opposed to the restaurants as the restaurant prices were very expensive but the bar food was as good as you would get in most restaurants and was very reasonably priced. The spa area and gym were superb with a body temperature pool, jacuzzi and outdoor hotub - heaven! The steam room and saunas are split into male and female and are located inside the changing rooms - that's not a personal preference of mine I much prefer if they're located out with the rest of the pool facilities and can be enjoyed by couples at the same time. The hotel was only a short distance (about 20 minutes) outside of Dublin so very accessible and located on the most fabulous grounds. There are bikes available out the front to take and explore the grounds - we did this and had a great time taking in some of the wonderful views around the grounds. Finally to the staff who were incredibly helpful - a particular mention to Mairead who went above and beyond to ensure we were 100% happy and comfortable at all times. We left the K Club feeling completely pampered and relaxed - the room was the highlight but everything else was great too. If I'm honest I wouldn't pay the normal prices for a stay at the K Club but if an offer comes up again like the one on Travelzoo I recommend snatching it up fast - you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had room 60 beside the presidential suite-highly recommended (see pics)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coc o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    145
    85
    18
    13
See reviews for
149
379
6
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A short 30 minute drive to Dublin, this is a heaven place whether you're a golfer or not. Suite 6 is fantastic, a beautiful living room with fine Bang Olufson tv, very fine and comfortable furnishings, 1 1/2 bathrooms and its own private patio.

Every inch of the hotel is lovely, the spa is awesome, particularly the body temperature pool.

But the real story is the staff. I had damaged my rental car on the way there, and didn't want to get hosed by the rental company. Jack, the concierge, arranged within an hour for a local to fetch the car and make it look new again, for a very small price. Throughout our stay, every staff member was friendly, thoroughly professional..all with a good sense of humour!

The included breakfast is a spectacle, and room service was perfect, quick and tasty, albeit quite expensive with a 10 euro "plate charge."

I would personally avoid the odd Thai restaurant in the clubhouse, which employs no Thai people, and was fairly ordinary at a high price.

Stay here and you'll enjoy every second!

Room Tip: We were upgraded from a small suite to a "hotel" suite, which was fantastic. Ask for #6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanglazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Highlight of this one night stay was the breakfast. Proper silver service, squeezed orange juice, eggs for the full irish were ordered to your liking and all ingredients - including marvellous black and white pudding - were fresh and very tasty.

Very grand hotel in need of refurbishment in a number of areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlianoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here on a special offer from Pigsback.com, fab hotel set in beautiful surroundings, it was raining the day we stayed so we didnt really get to appreciate the surroundings, we had tea and scones in the drawing room, lovely setting. We had a few drinks in the bar, complimentary bowls of crisps and peanuts were a lovely touch. Our room was fab and the bathroom was huge! We had dinner in the drawing room as the dining room was closed, great choice on the menu, lovely waitress and a very cosy setting. The staff were great, from the receptionist to the barman, we had a great time and will definitely be back, probably during the summer when we can appreciate the grounds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrianne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a fab hotel. We went for a one night stay on a special offer and we were astounded by the ambience of this special hotel. My husband played golf while I went to the K Spa. The Spa is a 5 minute walk from the Hotel, but most of this is under cover. There is an outdoor jacuzzi which I tried - a lovely experience. Our room was luxurious with plenty of space. Food and drink excellent but not cheap. Everything about this hotelis 5 star.

Room Tip: Our deluxe room (75) was on the ground floor, but the view was not so good, also delivers to the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We decided to take a family trip to the K club. We got a great offer online and jumped at the chance to experience this 5 star hotel. Overall, we were left quite disappointed. When we arrived we found that the staff were quite pleasant, but we then came across just as many who were not pleasant. On several occasions we weren't even acknowledged by some - no smile or hello, nothing. It was as if they didn't want to be there. We had booked a table for 8.30 in the legends restaurant. The food was indeed delicious, however, the service was appalling as we only received our dessert at 12 o'clock. We made use of the spa which we did enjoy, however, once again the staff were not very pleasant. Overall, this was a disappointing stay and was not 5 star quality.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank F2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

It is 5*. Beautiful room. Food silver service. Hotel has a lovely atmosphere.
Would high recommend.
I would have tea & coffee making facilities in all rooms without having to ring down for.
Entertainment would also be nice, like Irish group etc.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
8.3 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Property: The K Club
Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Ireland/Straffan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing