We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab restaurant”
Review of Barberstown Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barberstown Castle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Dined in Barberstown - Truly fab food and while a bit pricey really not bad for what you got. Quality was absolutely excellent, i would happily say the best meal I have had.

Didnt actually stay over, but did look at rooms at another time when considering having a function there. I think they are overpriced, and you would want to like old style decor. However, they do have a certain charm I would stay there despite the price. I think if you went early in the day and enjoyed the grounds, afternoon tea, cosy bar you would get your moneys worth.

And the reception and waiting staff were lovely.

Heard a couple of negative things like breakfast finishes at 10 and there are no tea/coffee makind facilities in the room (so you have to order room service at some crazy price) but didnt experience that directly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 347 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. We were very glad we stayed in the hotel and did not go for the cheaper option of staying elsewhere, although we did find it was rather overpriced as we have stayed in much plusher places for less money.
We arrived early enough and they had given us an early check in. We even arrived in time for breakfast as they serve quite late - the food was absolutely delicious and plentiful, it is included in the room rate.
We were staying in the older part of the hotel, in a room above the dining room. The room was fabulously large with a 3 piece suite in a bay window although the room was rather old and rickety, so were the floorboards in the room above as we could hear every step they made when they returned to the room after us. The bathroom sash windows had creepers growing in through the gaps. We did visit other friends in rooms in the new part of the hotel, they were lovely and smart although didnt have the charm of ours- if they were to renovate the older part of the hotel it would be well worth it, it is just a shame the rooms were rather shabby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_30_something-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I had 28 French guests visiting Ireland for the first time. Conference Partners very wisely booked them into Barberstown Castle, and it was a perfect choice for them. It is very well postioned for the motorways to the west and south. ALL visitors were very happy with their bedrooms, and the food was absolutely stunning. They had 3 dinners in the hotel, and ,without exception,every meal was brilliant. The staff were professional and courteous. It was such a good experience I had to write this review! I have no other connection with this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseDublin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This romantic gem is a highlight in itself. The old castle was built in the 13th century, another part was built on, a conservatory followed and a new wing with 4 poster bedrooms all exquisitely furnished and in the highest style and taste. Bathrooms are all with English style taps, French toiletries, softest bathtowels and robes.
The tearooms offer Highland Toffe Tea and other delicacies. Wherever you look there is highest taste and elegant touches.
it is only 30 min away from Dublin and the airport, but it is in serene countryside absolutely tranquil and elegant.
Sometimes they host musical events, also with best classical artists.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraAshleyVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. It was our third trip to Barberstown and although it is pricey, it is worth every penny. The rooms are second to none and the food, service and ambience is outstanding.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank AdaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed here for one night for an anniversary. The food was as good as we’ve had anywhere. However, I found this hotel to be completely over priced. Certain hotels charge and deserve a premium, but this is not one of them. On arrival the receptionist was friendly. The room we stayed in had a big carpet stain which seemed to be coming from the leaking toilet. There was a drawer missing from a chest of drawers. Also, a 14 inch portable TV is not sufficient. There was no comment card in the room and we were not asked if everything was ok during our stay.
The entertainment here was also very poor. After dinner we went to the bar as there was a musician advertised. Calling this music was a bit flattering. He tried playing a flute but seemed to give up after about half an hour. Either this or he was told to stop. There were a few couples there but most left early. This was a Saturday night!
We will not come back here as there are plenty of other good hotels in Ireland where you get value for money

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eobyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I have just stayed at Barberstown on an overnight romance package for a special occasion and can highly recommend it to anyone looking to treat themselves to some romantic indulgence. The Four Poster Suite was really impressive, and champange and chocolates were the perfect start to the stay. The customer service and appearance of the hotel itself is immaculate. Open log fires, candles, piano playing in the tea rooms all add that little bit extra to the already charming ambiance of a hotel that is full of character. The service in the dining-room is fine-dining but is not overly pretentious and the perfect mix of customer service combined with privacy for the diners. The location of the hotel is perfect for getting away from it all in relaxing and serene surroundings, but Dublin city centre is still only half an hour by car depending on traffic or there are local attractions in the area, such as Castletown House in Celbridge, which is less than ten minutes away by car. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel, particularly for a romantic break away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
1.2 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
949 reviews
5 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
9.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
464 reviews
8 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,216 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barberstown Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberstown Castle

Address: Straffan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range: $227 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberstown Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Barberstown Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberstown Castle Hotel Straffan
Barberstown Castle Ireland/Straffan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing