We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be Bette r”
Review of Barberstown Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barberstown Castle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Had a nice stay attending a wedding in November but it's the little things that leg it down. No tea making facilities in the room. Last breakfast is too early. It was the first wedding I've felt cold at. Breakfast felt very rushed. Room was lovely but had to close curtains as it was beside reception and everyone walking into the hotel had a view straight into my room. More like a b&b than a hotel, staff pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRLWX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 345 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We fell in love with Barberstown on on our first 2 night visit (there'll be more) this Valentines weekend. I'm baffled with the poor reviews, we were seated at dinner both nights at the time we wanted, same with breakfast, head waiter, maitre'd and all staff quintessentially professional, four poster bed, incredibly romantic setting, first class fine dining (fabulous little amuse bouche), complementary choc and champagne in our room.....what's not to like! Yes, it's expensive but we got all we paid for and more!! In a word, exquisite

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JeanEithne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding and found it very good.The wedding was seperate from the main hotel both for function and breakfast the next morning.
The bedrooms were large and very comfortable. Food both at function and breakfast very good.
Staff very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boland58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed one night - valentines night
Booked table for 9.30pm ; on arrivals was offered table at 8.30pm in yellow room / booking verified
On arrival to dinning room was ushered to bar and waited one full hour for table
Complaint was poorly received on evening although one hour late on seating us manager said wine ( 1 bottle) on them ( even that poorly executed whilst not sought by us- we just tired and hungry at that point);appalling attitude again next day when checking out when hotel interaction was akin to a grand inquisition ! No sense of our discomfort as customers as they tried to pin us down repeatedly on who said what where when!
To add insult to injury they hadn't taken wine off bill and that took more time out of our scarce time away

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PEDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just outside Celbridge in Co. Kildare, this is a quiet place to stay and it fairly close to bus and train routes to Dublin but you will need a car if you intend to leave the castle.
First of all the facilities and staff are excellent. We stayed one night and had dinner. The food was very good and the bedroom and bathroom were both warm and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful the whole time we were there. We had a four poster bed which was very nice and there was fast wifi internet in the room and a flat-screen TV. Oddly there was no fridge/mini-bar.
There is a very definite sense of history here and the rooms are named after historical figures that stayed there through the years and on the way to the restaurant there is a list of many of the more contemporary celebs who have stayed.
The food is mixed value over all, the quality is very good but two scones with jam and cream will cost you €6.50 and a coffee, €3,50 but breakfast and dinner were included in our package. The breakfast was very good but again, I've had better (I had the Irish breakfast/fry) and again the service as excellent.
The bar area is comfortable but very small and there was a guitar player and fiddler playing while we were there who were pretty amazing. Oddly there was only Guinness and Heineken on tap but there seemed to be a plethora of spirits. The wine we had with dinner was excellent.
The minuses are that there isn't much to do at the castle itself and there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room or fridge. I detected a somewhat anti-family sentiment while there (I don't have kids but even I picked up on the 'kids under 12 should be quiet and monitored at all times' bit). It's a bit dear overall for what you're getting. I wanted to give it a 3.5 star rating but you can't do half stars so three it is, take from that what you will.
Separately and somewhat less reliably (seeing as I couldn't/didn't walk through the area myself) - the castle won best Irish wedding castle venue. Now I'm sure you'd have to attend a wedding there but I just don't see it. The banquet hall doesn't seem like the bride and groom would be able to see everyone as the hall seems L shaped and narrow. Anyways, could be wrong about that.
Overall - very quiet and comfortable and good food but not really worth what you are paying.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I made a reservation for a small number of people a few months before our wedding day in December. When booking we advised the receptionist it was for a wedding but we didn't need a wedding package. We turned up on the day and was in the middle of having photos taken when the manageress (I'm assuming because she didn't introduce herself) interrupted and said "We have another wedding booked today. We have a one-bride policy I'm afraid so you'll either have to change your dress, cover it with a coat or leave. Needless to say we left!

It was actually a blessing in disguise because the hotel was lifeless, dull and the staff in general rather rude or uninterested in making their guests experience a happy one.

Being asked to leave was actually a blessing in disguise because we had our dinner in Celbridge Manor (<10 minutes down the road) where they couldn't have done enough for us. They even provided a prosecco reception on arrival free of charge. Now that is a 5* venue!!

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague. The hotel has no atmosphere and staff are among the rudest people to be emplo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed recently as a wedding guest. Our room was pleasant but on a noisy main corridor, shower disappointing, toiletries very average, no after hours food on offer, staff out on floor serving wedding meal were pleasant but seemed stressed, the two ladies behind this bar were rather rude & incompetent. Poorly stocked bar. €178 wedding rate- steep

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irisheyes20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
1.2 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
940 reviews
2.3 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
454 reviews
5.0 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
8.0 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,213 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barberstown Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberstown Castle

Address: Straffan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range: $216 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberstown Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barberstown Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberstown Castle Hotel Straffan
Barberstown Castle Ireland/Straffan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing