We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable stay of our trip”
Review of Glendowan House

Glendowan House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendowan House
Ranked #23 of 26 Letterkenny B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most comfortable stay of our trip”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This July, my parents and I found ourselves haphazardly road tripping across Donegal with a map and no plan. After a long day of driving, we decided it would soon be time to call it a night, and Glenveagh National Park seemed like a good region to aim for—being such a large attraction, we assumed it would have plenty of well-marked and available B&B options. Instead, we followed a road around the hills desperately searching for signs as dusk fell and my dad’s eyes started to glaze over at the wheel from exhaustion. Luckily, the Glendowan House B&B pretty much descended from the clouds into our weary path right as night fell. We did not spend a lot of time in the area, so I can’t review the proprietors’ skills in giving activity or directional advice. However, I will say the following: the room we were given was extremely comfortable and tastefully designed, with a very nice bathroom and ample storage space. The tea and biscuits provided were a nice touch. Everything, especially the bathroom, was extremely clean and well-kept. In the morning we were fed a generous and delicious breakfast and had a great conversation with Derick and Teresa about Irish culture, geography, and the state of the economy, while their kids entertained themselves in the kitchen. They are wonderful people. We left that morning very refreshed. The Glendowan House was definitely the best B&B that we stayed at on our trip (out of about 5), and it also had a very reasonable rate. Coupled with the beautiful surrounding and the Glebe Gallery and other attractions nearby, it is a must-visit if you happen to be in the area. All three of us agree that we would highly recommend it to any traveler.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Teresa & Derick are such lovely folks. We were there 2 years ago and couldn't wait to get back. Their warm hospitality went above and beyond. They are so very helpful in assisting you to plan where to visit and how to get there. The snacks they offer, the breakfast they provide are delish! It was fun to see how their 4 children have grown. All quite adorable and enchanting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Just returning to a whirl wind tour of Ireland, One of the places we wished to see was the Glenveagh National Park. We booked a B & B that is not far from there, and worth finding to stay and meet the Farrell family. Her husband runs a local Taxi service if you are in need to geting out and about to a local pub.
We had the great pleasure of staying at Glendowan House
B & B in Churchill, Letterkenny, County Donegal Ireland.
The proprietor, Theresa Farrel runs an absolutely lovely place. It is a a newer home and offers a warm and restful place. It is closely located to: Gartan Outdoor Centre (St. Comcille Heritage Centre), Glebe Gallery (home of Derek Hill) and the fantastic Glenveagh National Park*** A definite DO MOT MISS if you are in this area.
All rooms are en-suite. www.glendowanhouse.com is her web site. It is a grand place to stay!
Debbie Derwart
Ellicott City, MD

Helpful?
3 Thank Irishdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

My husband and I happened upon this B&B during our honeymoon and stayed here for two nights. We had attempted to stay in Bunbeg, but we couldn't find a B&B that was open (it was late October, and every house we tried was already closed for the season). Fortunately we came across Glendowan, which is very well situated for a visit to Glenveagh National Park or a hike up Errigal. Our hostess was extremely accommodating and made a delicious traditional breakfast. She gave us a number of recommendations for hikes in the area, and even offered to drive us a half hour to an excellent starting point. Rooms were nicely decorated, very sunny, and had great views of the Donegal countryside. And the showers featured the best water pressure I've found anywhere in Ireland. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FeistyMarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
12.9 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
379 reviews
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,110 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Bridgeburn House
Bridgeburn House
#4 of 26 in Letterkenny
36 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oaklands B&B
Oaklands B&B
#1 of 26 in Letterkenny
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendowan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendowan House

Property: Glendowan House
Address: Glendowan House Glendowan House Glendowan House Corderry, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glendowan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing