We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one word AWFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“one word AWFUL”
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Awful, from start to finish, for example, no parking, plastic everything including noisy plastic floors plastic CURTAINS, HEN parties stag parties, all night long, not to mention the horrific traffic noises outside it was like we slept on the street, I have stayed in far far nicer Hostels, we had booked bed and breakfast, it was like we were camping, breakfast was an afterthought they actually served coffee out of a flask, i could,nt believe it, the whole place was cold and impersonal. YUCK, the shower leaked everywhere, and we were almost given out to by the cleaner, sorry but not our fault. all they were missing was an automated check in desk that would have completed the impersonal touch. I cannot emphasize how much you should not use this hotel if you want to get any sleep. Oh and as their car park is tiny, i had to park almost a mile away on a busy street on a saturday night, i went early to get my car the following moring and it had been puked on. how nice. Will deffinately not be going back, and would look for a nice B&B or an older hotel where they still maintain a standard. They will not let you have an iron either, they prefer you to use their very costly laundry service, and don't order the movies, they are not the ones they advertised. Consider yourselves warned, I wont say i told you so

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank walsh389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    200
    50
    18
    22
See reviews for
119
297
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

It’s hard to think of much nice to say about this hotel. It’s clean, modern and charmless, as you might expect from a Ramada. That’s about it.

The rooms are strangely small given the cavernous expanses of the corridors. Shower curtains have been foregone in favour of a sloping floor. If the water drained properly, this would be a good idea. But it didn’t, so the entire bathroom floor became soaked.

All that is forgivable in what is basically a budget hotel. But personally, when I pay for a hotel, I expect at the least a decent night’s sleep. No chance.

If you think noisy hen parties are isolated incidents and that the hotel can’t be blamed when they keep everyone else up until 6am, please do yourself a favour and think again. As you may see from other comments, these problems keep happening, and it IS the hotel’s fault.

One hen party camped out in several rooms and the corridor, playing music, squealing like pigs, blowing smoke down the halls of a supposedly non-smoking floor and generally being loud and disruptive. Any request from other guests to keep the noise down would work for around 10 seconds. Finally, we tried to call down to reception, only to find that in fact there was no phone in the room. Yes, you read that correctly. Our room, in one of the world’s biggest hotel chains, had no telephone.

I walked down to reception and one of the staff did eventually come up. He tried, but he was alone and fighting a losing battle.

What was most disappointing was that when we complained to the manager the following morning, he did not want to know. There had in fact been six hen parties staying in the hotel that night, but he insisted that three staff was plenty to deal with them all. Plainly it wasn’t. Did he not feel that if they could not handle hen parties then they should not admit them? No, he didn’t. Hen and stag parties were, he said, their main summer weekend business. In other words, to hell with any of the other paying guests. We’re not prepared to hire enough staff to make sure that we can accommodate everyone comfortably.

Quite apart from the appalling attitude, this shows a total lack of competence. The last time I was at a stag weekend, the hotel had separated the group out onto different floors. This is standard practice for hotels whenever a large all-male or all-female group book rooms. It is the first and most obvious method of trying to provide decent hotel facilities for all paying guests. But not here.

Unfortunately, we had prepaid for our stay through another website, where we will now be pressing for a refund (and I hope the Ramada never sees a cent of our money). The manager was certainly not prepared to do much more than “apologise” while staring into the middle distance – and I have heard more sincere apologies from politicians. He did offer lunch in the hotel bar, which was of course full of screaming hens. Given that the breakfast was no better than edible, I don’t think we would have taken this up even if we had been staying longer in Letterkenny and had the place to ourselves.

Stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Poor design surpassed only by the awfulness of its management
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank hungarianelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

Some problems. The room was not clean. Car park is very small, so expect to park elsewhere. A request for toiletries was fulfilled, but only when I was asked if I really needed the them. Fire alarm went off three times in the room during the night, no indication why. Was there a fire? I don't know. Broken window frame held together with tape.

Luckily, I was no where near the hen/stag rooms. It should be made clear to other guests that the hotel welcomes such groups, so that we can book elsewhere. I'm sure it's possible to exclude stags/hens and not breach the Equal Access legislation.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Onee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2007

My husband and I used this hotel as a base for exploring Donegal. Hotel was clean and modern. Power shower was brilliant. Wet room was well designed - the water didn't really get near the toilet area. Our rate (which was excellent value) was room only so I can't comment on the breakfast / dinner.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsysmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Beware ‘Hen Parties’, especially on Saturday nights. Other reviews have dealt, in a very positive manner, with the hotel location, rooms etc and I would agree with them but our stay was a rather different experience. On the Friday evening we went for a meal in the hotel bar/restaurant. We were met, with the exception of one smashing young girl named Ciara, by completely indifferent staff, who ignored our many efforts to attract their attention that we might order a drink to accompany our meal. My Thai vegetable curry came on a bed a dry mashed potato (?). My wife thought her chicken dish was ‘excellent’.
On the Saturday evening we were horrified to count at least three groups of young women, obviously on ‘hen nights’, who appeared as if they were intent on partying. This they did, beginning at 3.00am in the room adjacent to ours. The noise was unbelievable. In fairness, when I rang the duty manager, he came right away and told them to be quiet. They were, for about ten minutes. Then the party recommenced, until breakfast time.
On a more positive note, the reception staff were superb and couldn’t have been more helpful.
So, a lovely hotel but, if you want a quiet weekend, you might be better booking elsewhere.

  • Liked — clean spacious rooms/bathroom
  • Disliked — noisey guests
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

We wanted a break in Donegal and decided to hit letterkenny!
We booked on their website which was very easy.
I wasn't sure about the choice, but thought that Ramada hotels should be of a decent standard. The directions to the hotel were excellent and it appeared to look quite new.
When we arrived we had a choice of smoking or non-smoking rooms.
We had some lunch in the hotel bar/Restaurant , it was fabulous, excellent value for money and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant!
When we went to our room, we were very impressed. The rooms are large and have modern decor. We also had a large sofa bed in the room, which could have easily slept two people.
The bathroom was fabulous with its lovely glass sink and wet room type shower. A flat screen TV with internet access was very handy.
The room also had tea and coffee making facilities, which is so often missing in other hotels.
Letterkenny has so many pubs and has great nightlife. We loved the brewery and the cottage bars. Another relatively new and very modern bar is the Voodoo club. As the hotel is situated at the bottom of the main street, you are in a relatively quiet part of the town.
For a really nice meal, try the red/green/yellow pepper(I can't remember the colour!) It was beautiful and not too pricey.
We had a great couple of days, we did have to share every bar with hens and stag parties from every part of the world..but it was great fun!

  • Liked — The excellent standard and value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank poppy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

This is a lovely hotel on the edge of the town. We booked 7 rooms for
a group attending the Pan Celtic festival. The rooms are spacious and
the staff were very helpful (except for an incident with the Night Porter, which tainted things slightly). We needed 2 rooms that would accommodate 4 people. We were a bit anxious when we were advised by the hotel that the room might be a bit cramped with the extra sofa bed. There was absolutely no need to worry. The room fits four comfortably! When we reported that the TV in one of the rooms wasn't working properly, it was dealt with immediately by the staff and when it couldn't be fixed we were given a new room.

We had breakfast in the hotel at a cost that is a bit steep at €10 for hot breakfast. The food was very nice with a lot of choices.

While the hotel is advertised as being on Lower Main Street, it is really around the corner from that. Because of the permanent traffic
jams on Main Street (I even encountered it at 11.45pm), I would recommend that you bypass main street by taking the earlier turn on the roundabout (Pearse Street, I think). Because of the one way system, you will have to go in around the retail park (great, for shopping by the way) when you get to a T junction go left. The hotel is about 100 yards up the road on the right hand side.

  • Liked — Clean modern rooms
  • Disliked — Expensive breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.4 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing