We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I spent a long weekend with my husband and kids in the Ramada just before christmas. We were greated by the pleasant receptionist at check in who took the time to book a table for dinner for us in the bar even though the hotel was busy. The room was nice and modern with a flat screen tv and comfortable bed. The food at dinner and breakfast (included in the rate) was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for the courteous bar staff, who even organised food that was not on the menu for one of our children (picky eater!).
All in all we were made to feel very welcome during our stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KezMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 702 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2010

Had a weekend with some friends in Letterkenny and had the dubious pleasure of staying here. The room was lovely and spacious and well equipped. Jowever, this hotel is really a lads weekend kind of place. The restaurant and bar area is bright and spacious and the food is fine but after the pubs and clubs close it can be a bit boisterous, Overall this hotel is fine.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank blaa_in_exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

stayed there with my husband in december. the hotel is very modern while also very comfortable. the food in the restaurant was great as we ate there on both nights. the rooms are very modern and not what you would exoect for the rate paid. the staff really make you feel at home as they are all so friendly. will be back to the encore.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryrose05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed at the Encore for two nights during a long weekend in Donegal. First off I agree with another reviewer, it would help if they put the name Ramada on the hotel, most travelers unfamiliar with it will look for the brand name and not the "Encore" suffix. After having driven past it twice we did manage to find the private parking lot (great) and were welcomed by a friendly receptionist even though the hotel was quite busy on a Saturday night.
We had dinner in the bar that night which was another good experience as the food was fresh and served quickly and they were able to accomodate young children on a Saturday night.
The rooms then were quite modern looking and with that a welcome surprise in a part of Ireland that has a lot of lodging interior design that seem to be last renovated in the 1960's. On second look, however, it all seemed a bit unfinished and the bathroom outright cheaply looking, a fully enclosed glassy-looking plastic-cell where the plumbing of the sink was not even hidden from view.
While that would be ok for travelers that don't care much about what their room looks like as long as they are warm and quiet that was the next downside - the oversized-airplane-bathroom-cell had a fan in it to ensure ventilation, and this would not shut off at all. No timer or switch - after the house went quiet at night one could hear the distinct humming of the fan all night. Airplane night feelign #1. Secondly the room was strangely cold, and did not have a temperature controller - with the (chic looking) wooden floor the room turned into a very icy place at all times. Airplane night feeling #2. Luckily the sheets on the very nice bed where very warm.
Breakfast (included) on Sunday was served in the ball room and yes, it had a bit the feeling of a youth hostel, but the staff was friendly again.
So, all in all nice clean safe organized place to stay, no really bad surprises but the interior design creates first a "wow" and then a "hhmm..." effect. Or shall I say "hummm...". Would still recommend this in this area as there is really not much else in newer construction loding there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uetzi-Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Stayed in this hotel on many occasions just keep returning and it never dissapoints.
Friendly staff, good food and the rooms are very clean and comfortable.
the beds especially are worth the stay alone, best sleep ever!!!
In great location close to shops pubs and clubs. And th letterkenny nightlife is second to none!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank focus55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My friend treated me to a trip away for shopping to Letterkenny and we booked this hotel under a special deal with Leisure breaks. We arrived about 1pm and asked could we leave our bags, and we were informed our room was ready..and proceeded to our room. The room was magnicifient, spotless and clean..with two single beds a sofa and a plasma TV..the bathroom was okay, a bit on the small side, and had no bath, but water pressure and everything else was perfect. We booked our meal for 6oclock and for the price of the deal, it was fantastic. It was a three course meal and all the food served was perfect. Breakfast the next morning was brilliant as well. There were a variety of foods on offer, even crossiants which I love. We dealt with Aisling, who mainly served in the bar, but also dealt with us at reception..she was a pure gem. Thanks again..We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and would strongly recommend it. The rooms are very spacious and are of modern look. Hotel staff are friendly and I would stay again in the Ramada when I next visit Letterkenny.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.4 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
369 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,293 reviews
4.0 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $76 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing