We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible from start to finish!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible from start to finish!”
Reviewed August 6, 2008

I am absolutely amazed at the positive reviews this hotel has received. I am just back from spending 2 nights in this hotel with a group of others. We had about 8 rooms booked and we all had problems from start to finish. On check-in, 3 of us were given our keys but not one of the 3 rooms were ready. The decor was ok but the shower wouldn't turn on. It took my boyfriend a good few minutes to get it working. One of the other rooms had no soap in the shower dispencer and there was none in the sink dispencer in my room. Some others put out the room service breakfast card and the breakfast never arrived. When they enquired they were asked "Are you sure you didn't have it"? When we went down for breakfast with 20 minutes to go before breakfast was finished, there was no coffee, no bread, no cups and saucers, no butter! After a good 5 minutes or more after we asked for everything, it finally arrived. My brother ate in the restaurnant and got almost raw chicken wings. Reception was very rude with a terrible attitude. They undercharged my mum who is 78 on check-in but demanded the extra amount on check-out even though it was their fault. A complete disaster of a hotel and none of us would ever stay there again.

  • Liked — Close proximity to my sisters house
  • Disliked — Front desk attitude
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Colette63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    199
    47
    18
    22
See reviews for
117
292
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Ok - but some problem. I was not sure wheather toi give this hotel 2 or 3 out of 5.

Nice modern style of hotel. Good food and on the edge of town centre. Clean and neat and good sized rooms. Near countryside.

Mininalist style of the hotel is not too functional e.g. the sink and wardrobe looks good but is difficult to use. When the hotel bedroom door shut, they shut with a bang and hence you can be woken up when nearby doors slam shut loudly.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank VeeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Husband and I are just back from a two night stay in this hotel and will definitely return in the future. Our room was very comfortable with a king size bed and an extra sofa bed. We had a flat screen TV with a number of channels and wifi internet access. The wetroom was great with it's uber trendy glass screen and power shower and tons of towels.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights of our stay. The food was superb and the portions were gargantuan. The restaurant was very busy and we had a wait for our food but the cost of our drinks was deducted from the bill to compensate for the delay. I can heartily recommend the Brown Bread and Irish Whiskey Ice Cream. Prices in the bar and restaurant were on a par with those in other establishments in the Town.
Service from the receptionist right the way to the chambermaids was warm and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — The fantastic food in the restaurant.
  • Disliked — The coach party who took over the bar.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikki2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

My self and my boyfriend stayed in the hotel for a night in June for a little get away. When we arrived there were road works outside the hotel and we could not get access to the hotels car park. We know this wasn't the hotels fault.
When we eventually got in to the hotel we went to check in. The man checking us in was not very friendly and it took him a while to find our reservation and we felt like we were putting him out.
Our room was great, probably one of the nicest I've stayed in and the bathroom was cool with all the glass but it did smell of stale water and the shower was hard to turn off .
Also our room was facing the same street with all the road works and they went on all night.
When we were looking through the guest hand book we noticed that you could pay for movies so we rang reception to to do this but the man on the desk said that there was problems with the movies so no movie.
We also opted for breakfast in bed and we put the card outside our door at 12am. We wanted it at 10.00 but it never came and by the time we woke up at 11.30 it was too late for breakfast and we had to check out at 12 any way.
This was very disappointing and it just added to the list.
When we went to check out we were greeted by two lovely girls which was a nice change to the previous nights staff member.
When we mentioned that we never got our breakfast we were asked if we had put our card on time????
When we said 12 they said the night porter must of forgot.
They refunded us for our missed breakfast so I couldn't fault that.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CARRIE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

My boyfriend & I stayed in the Ramada in Feb 08.
The accommodation itself is nice with a fab bathroom. Loved the walk-in shower! We ate in the hotel the first night as it was included in our deal. Couldn't fault the food although we had to eat off a more limited menu as the meal was part of a deal...
The first night we hadn't much to drink and the noise in the hotel was awful. I could hear noise from above, below, each side & from the corridors especially. We were out late partying the second night so it wasn't a problem as we fell into bed.
So if you're planning on having some late nights I'd recommend the Ramada, but don't go there for a quiet weekend break.......

  • Liked — Bathroom
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SmcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for a few nights at the start of the year. I loved everything about it - the location, the rooms, the staff, the food. It is situated at the bottom of the town's Main street so only a few minutes walk into the centre. It also has a huge Dunnes store directly across the road and a shopping complex including a cinema on the other side of the street.

The rooms were spacious and modern and the beautiful bathrooms let you feel you were getting a little bit of luxury. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants to chill out and spoil themselves for a few days. Part of the package we had booked included a dinner - we arrived at the restaurant to find that our table had been set up in a secluded corner with staff catering to our every need. It was a lovely night and an overall lovely weekend. Top class.

  • Liked — Everything especially location
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think of.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazzaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Stayed with my husband here for the weekend - fantastic hotel. All the staff receptionist, bar staff, waiting staff were very friendly and professional. The rooms were immaculate and very spacious - loved the big bathroom with all the glass decor and the power shower was brilliant ! - unsure about the wooden floors (different i suppose). The food in the hotel was superb - Good location - walking distance to shopping mall and local pubs/restaurants. Can be a wee bit noisy with hen/stag parties but you expect that when going to Letterkenny but we had no problems just good craic!! Our room was also cleaned and fresh towels provided even though we were only there for 2 nights.Overall we had a great weekend and definitely would go back.

  • Liked — friendly. cleanliness , good service/food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,192 reviews
4.0 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing