We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soiled mattress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Caldicot
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Soiled mattress”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here sept 2013 , first impression was very good, but only on the surface,,on checking out,
Stripped the bed, to my horror, found I,d been lying on badly soiled mattress, obviously, urine,
I,ve photo,s and witnesses to prove, but ,management tried very hard to convince me, it
Was a coffee stain!!! the biggest cup of coffee anyone has ever seen,covering, most of the mattress! Also, that all their rooms are to the highest standard !! I don,think so,
Thank god mine are higher. What about the health risk??

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Lorna T

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.

It is with great disappointment that I am replying to your review for the simple fact that prior to your departure from the Hotel you were delighted and completely satisfied. We apologised for the inconvenience you suffered and as a good will gesture we offered complimentary dinner which you gladly accepted.

Your acquisitions are completely inaccurate and unfounded. We carried out a thorough investigation and the stain on your mattress was definitely coffee.

Our standards of cleanliness are excellent and this is clearly evident from the reviews before and after yours.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your experience and thank you for choosing the Station House.

Yours Truly

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    199
    47
    18
    22
See reviews for
117
292
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for 1 night whilst visiting family.

Check in was efficient and friendly. Rooms are very comfortable - with the weather becoming very chilly the ability to control the heating was welcome. The bathroom was clean and modern with good shower.

Breakfast was excellent quality (not included in our room rate, but EUR10 each was a good price). The free car parking was also appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Martin M

On behalf of our team thank you kindly for your delightful review. We have a very dedicated team who strive to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay.

Thank you for your kind reference to our efficiency and our clean and modern facilities, this is testimony to our commitment.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House in the very near future.

Warmest Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Clean, central location. Great food prompt service and reasonably priced food and very friendly staff. Free parking . Comfy beds. Would stay here again and would recommend it to people travelling to letterkenny.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sheila

It is with sheer delight that I am responding to your wonderful review. Your enticing comments epitomise what our core values are about and we continue to strive for perfection. Thank you for your kind reference to our great food, cleanliness, value and friendly staff.

Team Station House are dedicated and passionate about ensuring excellent guest service satisfaction and thoroughly enjoy going the extra mile for all our guests.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Station House in the future.

Yours Truly

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was of a good standard, rooms were a nice size (except we were given a twin, but no problem), it had a lovely restaurant, and breakfast especially was impresive as it was a help yourself with ceareals, fruit, meats, and a hot table for cooked breakfasts.
We especially enjoyed the entertainment in the evenings from a couple on Monday playing a nice mixture & all dancing, and on Wednesday there was a local Irish Folk group that were extremely good.
The hotel is situatred at the bottom of the Main street with nice shops and Bars/restaurants, and the other way from the Hotel approx 500 -700 yards there is a retail park with the usuall stores, and a Lidl food store.
All in all a lovely hotel and well situated

Room Tip: check sleeping arrangement to siut your requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Will

On behalf of our team thank you for posting a review regarding your recent Station House experience, we were delighted to have you as our guest.

We are extremely well situated and an ideal base for exploring Letterkenny and our wonderful county of Donegal and all that it has to offer.

Thank you for your kind reference to our Live Entertainment and excellent food. We are a family owned and directed Hotel and hugely popular with our local community so we always ensure that we have a great variety of entertainment to suit all our guests.

A warm welcome awaits your return visit to the Station House which we hope will be in the near future.

Best Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is close to the Main Street in Letterkenny as well as all the shops. It is very comfortable, the food is excellent and the price not to bad. Rooms are comfortable and spacious.The food is also very nice and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Chillen

Greetings from the Station House! Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review your recent with us and for advising other travellers about your excellent experience.

We pride ourselves on our ability to meet and exceed our guests expectations by continuously going the extra mile to ensure a memorable and flawless stay. Thank you for your kind reference to our comfortable surroundings, value for money offerings and our friendly team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House in the very near future.

With Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

clean and courteous excellent food and service rooms are well looked after and the location is well placed i will be making this hotel my place to stay any time i stay in letterkenny and i will be recommending it to all my friends. looking forward to my next stay.
WELL DONE TO ALL THE STAFF

Room Tip: ask before you book if you need or want something in room placement .the staff will be willing to he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desmond o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Desmond

On behalf of our team thank you for your wonderful kind review regarding your recent stay with us and for advising other traveller's about your Station House experience.

We are a professional family run hotel and our core values represent tradition and style combined with excellent customer service and great food, thank you for your acknowledgement of the same.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House very soon, assuring you of our continued personal attention.

Yours Truly

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

the hotel is right on a corner and has parking in the back which is convenient. It seems to be popular with the tour busses, but it is convenient to downtown and there is a department store right across the street that's kind of like Walmart with a grocery store and clothing store and whatnots. This was a one night stay so we came in in the evening and left the next morning. We didn't see much of Letterkenny unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theloneexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Loneexplorer

We are delighted to be in receipt of your kind review, thank you for taking the time to post the same.
I am glad you enjoyed your Station House experience and that you found the Hotel convenient to all local amenities.

We look forward to your return visit if your travel plans permit you to return to Letterkenny.

Thank you and Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,191 reviews
4.0 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing