We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was of a good standard, rooms were a nice size (except we were given a twin, but no problem), it had a lovely restaurant, and breakfast especially was impresive as it was a help yourself with ceareals, fruit, meats, and a hot table for cooked breakfasts.
We especially enjoyed the entertainment in the evenings from a couple on Monday playing a nice mixture & all dancing, and on Wednesday there was a local Irish Folk group that were extremely good.
The hotel is situatred at the bottom of the Main street with nice shops and Bars/restaurants, and the other way from the Hotel approx 500 -700 yards there is a retail park with the usuall stores, and a Lidl food store.
All in all a lovely hotel and well situated

Room Tip: check sleeping arrangement to siut your requirement.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Will

On behalf of our team thank you for posting a review regarding your recent Station House experience, we were delighted to have you as our guest.

We are extremely well situated and an ideal base for exploring Letterkenny and our wonderful county of Donegal and all that it has to offer.

Thank you for your kind reference to our Live Entertainment and excellent food. We are a family owned and directed Hotel and hugely popular with our local community so we always ensure that we have a great variety of entertainment to suit all our guests.

A warm welcome awaits your return visit to the Station House which we hope will be in the near future.

Best Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Station House Hotel Letterkenny
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 696 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is close to the Main Street in Letterkenny as well as all the shops. It is very comfortable, the food is excellent and the price not to bad. Rooms are comfortable and spacious.The food is also very nice and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Chillen

Greetings from the Station House! Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review your recent with us and for advising other travellers about your excellent experience.

We pride ourselves on our ability to meet and exceed our guests expectations by continuously going the extra mile to ensure a memorable and flawless stay. Thank you for your kind reference to our comfortable surroundings, value for money offerings and our friendly team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House in the very near future.

With Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

clean and courteous excellent food and service rooms are well looked after and the location is well placed i will be making this hotel my place to stay any time i stay in letterkenny and i will be recommending it to all my friends. looking forward to my next stay.
WELL DONE TO ALL THE STAFF

Room Tip: ask before you book if you need or want something in room placement .the staff will be willing to he...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desmond o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Desmond

On behalf of our team thank you for your wonderful kind review regarding your recent stay with us and for advising other traveller's about your Station House experience.

We are a professional family run hotel and our core values represent tradition and style combined with excellent customer service and great food, thank you for your acknowledgement of the same.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House very soon, assuring you of our continued personal attention.

Yours Truly

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

the hotel is right on a corner and has parking in the back which is convenient. It seems to be popular with the tour busses, but it is convenient to downtown and there is a department store right across the street that's kind of like Walmart with a grocery store and clothing store and whatnots. This was a one night stay so we came in in the evening and left the next morning. We didn't see much of Letterkenny unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theloneexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Loneexplorer

We are delighted to be in receipt of your kind review, thank you for taking the time to post the same.
I am glad you enjoyed your Station House experience and that you found the Hotel convenient to all local amenities.

We look forward to your return visit if your travel plans permit you to return to Letterkenny.

Thank you and Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great place for a break, convenient to the town centre. service was excellent, the food in the bar was of a high standard and good value, highly recommend this place as the room was modern with a nice power shower in the bathroom

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golftheology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Golftheology

On behalf of our team, thank you most sincerely for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. Your positive feedback is very encouraging and rewarding for our team.

We are very dedicated and passionate about delivering a first class memorable stay for all our guests and I am delighted that you found our customer service to be of an excellent standard.

Thank you also for the recommendation and we look forward very much to welcoming you back to the Station House in the near future, your business is our pleasure.

Warmest Regards


Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed one night on a living social deal which we enjoyed very much. Good location, nice bar, friendly staff. Was a busy night with plenty of people about which was good. Rooms were spacious but the shower wasn't very powerful. The room we were in was noisy, we could hear the outside noise and the residents near to our room. I would recommend this hotel and hopefully stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tree373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Tree373

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the Station House and I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. On behalf of our team, thank you for taking the time to post a review advising other travellers about your experience.

We have a very dedicated team who are passionate about delivering success and strive to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay.

Thank you for the recommendation and as soon as your travel plans permit you to be back in Letterkenny, a warm welcome awaits you at the Station House.

With Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights for a friends family function. Our room was very clean and nicely presented. The bathroom has a shower and no bath but this was not a problem. Our room had the ability to be an interconnecting room so there was a door in the room that was double locked. You could hear noise from the other room from their tv but it was fine.
We ate in the bar on Friday night and it was nice. The service was good and we didn't have to wait very long. It was very reasonably priced also. We stayed for drinks in the bar and there was a good atmosphere.
On Saturday morning breakfast was served in the bar again but at the other end. We arrived down at 9.30am and there was very very little left, it is self service so I would guess that the earlier you arrive the better the selection. They did refill some of the food again however it was close to 10am and we had finished. Having said that, breakfast was hearty and the mushrooms were our favorite. We were served coffee with our breakfast however it was very very weak. We were going into town and Costa coffee is just 10 mins stroll up the road so we were happy to go there.
That brings me to the location, Across the road is an ATM, within 10mins walk are lots of highstreet shops and on the main street there are lots of cafes and bars. Everything is within 5-10mins walk. If you are taking children there is a cinema, and a community Leisure center very very close by.
On saturday afternoon we had our friends function which was taking place in the hotel. The food was very good, soup to start, a choice of lamb, salmon or turkey for main course and a trio of desert. The only thing that looked to be left on alot of plates was one of the deserts which was like a small apple crumble. It was a little over spiced with cinnamon for me which might have been why others left it too, but again the food was very very nice. We stayed late in this function room until aprox 2am when the night manager closed the bar. We then went to the residents bar and from the moment we arrived in there we were told there were residents above us and we needed to keep noise down. Considering we were a party of 110 people on the day and maybe half went to the residents bar that is easier said then done. When the night manager came again and asked for the noise to be kept down again she advised this time that the group could not have music as there were residents above the bar. On the third occasion, she was challenged by one of the group as to who the residents were who were over the bar and she said there had been a call down.............. the only problem with her reasoning was that the rooms over the bar were filled with guests from the group in the residents bar! When this was brought to her attention she was less then impressed! Overall i felt she was not approachable, and was the only staff member who had been less then accommodating all weekend. I was not drinking myself so was able to assess the situation rationally and I can see how the hotel would have concerns for other guests, but when the rooms over the bar are occupied with those in the bar surely this is helpful and if there were other guests in rooms above, it may have been an idea for the hotel to accommodate the groups guests on the first floor in these rooms. The hotel was told that it would be a late night and they had said there would be no problem. I would be concerned that if you booked this hotel for a wedding and your group wished to use the bar after hours, it might be disappointing!
Apart from that it was very good service, two small things. We asked for an iron to our room and when it arrived we put water in it and allowed it to heat, when we went to use it, it leaked all over my husbands shirt as there was a hole in the bottom! The hotel did change the iron for us though. Also I like a very hot shower and it was not. It was warm but not hot, even at the highest I would have liked it warmer.
If I was staying again I would ask for a non joined room but that is all. We have stayed in other hotels in letterkenny with a higher star rating that would have been on par or not as good as the station house. Also we had a room over the street which was not a problem with noise, which I had heard others say might be a problem.
All in all it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NearlyThere2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Nearlythere

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave such a detailed and delightful review about your recent Station House experience.
It was our absolute pleasure to welcome you all to the Hotel and I am delighted that everyone had a great weekend. We received wonderful feedback from all guests and I hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back as soon as your travel plans permit you to return to Letterkenny.

Once again on behalf of our team, thank you!

Warmest Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.4 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
366 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#7 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,275 reviews
4.0 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $78 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing