We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We went on the Groupon deal to this hotel. From the time we arrived in reception, we found the staff nothing but friendly & helpful. The girl who checked us in was very good with all the vouchers for the various parts of the deal, explaining everything, booked our dinner table there & then - which was good because they were booked out later. We chose to go for the Dinner menu which was very good - my steak was really great and both the prawn starter and the deserts were fab. We had a €15 allowance from the menu from the groupon offer so we had to top it up by €10 but we felt it was well worth it. Busy place with a great atmosphere. Great buzz for a hotel bar. There was live music there that Sat night - which wasn't exactly to my taste but made for a lively spot.
The room was very nice, and I liked the wet room -bathroom. Although they said the wi-fi was wired and provided the wires etc I picked up the wi-fi from the bar no problem.
Breakfast was very good, with good choice and a constant flow of fresh food being laid out. I asked for a softly fried egg , and was met with a friendly and courteous response.
Highly recomend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    196
    44
    18
    22
See reviews for
111
283
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crumlin, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I took my better half up to letterkenny for her 30th birthday. We stayed in the fantastic Station house hotel. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who answered the barrage of question I had with a smile. On reaching our room we found it lovelly inside with good space a comfy bed and the icing on the cake choclate strawberries and and champers. We had our meal on the second night and the meal was fabulous. A warm and and friendly hotel fantastic service we will be back again soon

thanks Martin McCoubrey

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationHouseHotel, Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Martin

Thank you for your very kind and encouraging review. We are delighted that you both thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Station House very soon. Our team participate in regular guest service training programmes to ensure that we maintain our excellent service standards and continue to provide a warm and welcoming experience for all our guests. Your business is our pleasure...

Warmest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My partner and I travelled to the hotel on the Groupon Deal as a nice weekend away. This was 1 Night Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal. When I originally called to book the deal it was later at night (around 8pm) and the receptionist wasnt able to answer some of my questions and advised me to call back. When I did I booked an additional night and a Spa treatment and requested a corner room as (based on a review I read on this site) I knew the rooms were bigger.

When I was travelling to Letterkenny I rang and confirmed some of the details and they were able to tell me my corner room was booked and they were looking forward to seeing me which was really nice. The person at reception when we booked in was lovely and really friendly. The room was the best part with lovely floor to ceiling windows and beautifully laid out room. If i was being picky the only things I didnt like about the room were that the broadband wasnt wireless and that the floor in the bathroom/wetroom tended to pool the water a bit rather than drain away.

We had our meal on the first night; it was lovely and lots of it. The only thing was that the menu was for Groupon bookings so we were given three options for a main course i.e. Meat, Fish or Vegetarian and that was how it was written; not "Penne Pasta with Vegetables" for example but "Vegetarian Option". The menu looked a bit strange with those three options written on it. There was a note saying that you could substitute dishes on the main menu up to a certain value which we did. Also the menu was for a main and dessert but it would have been nice to have a choice i.e. starter/main or main/dessert as I'm not really a dessert person.

On the second day I had my Spa treatment which was a little way from the hotel; about 15 minutes walk. It was a lovely hour well spend and because it was through the hotel there was a discount. We then had tea/biscuits in the bar which was part of the Groupon deal which was a really nice touch.

On both nights, because the room was on the first floor and right above the front door, the noise was a bit distracting. On the Saturday there was a group of girls on a hen night and they were a bit noisy into the morning. However I think this is a trade off from having a bigger room on the corner and on the first floor.

The location is great with lots of well known shops close by and places to eat too. There is a Dunnes food/clothes shop straight across from the hotel which has a bank machine if needed.

Overall, I had a great time, the location was good, the staff were brillant and the value was perfect. Will definitely be visiting again!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room at the front but on the 2nd or 3rd floor. The rooms are bigger but the 1st flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationHouseHotel, Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Jodel

Thank you most sincerely for taking time out of your schedule to review in depth your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you as our valued guest. We pride ourselves on our excellent levels of guest service satisfaction and we work very diligently to ensure that all our guests enjoy a memorable, warm and welcoming stay. Your kind comments are delightful and we look forward very much to having you back as our guest very soon...

Yours Truly

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I am a wheelchair user & found this hotel very accessible. Staff lovely. Overall - great!

Room Tip: Only saw a disabled room - it was a great size, but dont know if disabled rooms are generally larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1983Gary1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationHouseHotel, Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Gary

We are delighted to read that you had a great experience throughout your recent stay with us. Your review is very positive and thank you for your kind comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Station House, assuring you of our best personal attention at all times

Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

3 night stay from thursday to sunday. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful throughout. Hotel bar is spacious and welcoming and with plenty of tv screens, comfy seats & bar stools whatever you prefer. The bar/reception area also has free wifi access for all.
Only ate there once but was very good and they do offer a good 2 course for €15 deal which you will struggle to better anywhere else.
Room was very clean and had all amenities you would expect from a hotel, no iron in room but available on request at no charge. Free broadband in all rooms also. Adjustable heating and of course open windows made it very easy to make the room a comfortbale enviroment.
Location is excellent, shops and pharmacy within 100 yards. There is also a cafe open mon-sat that offers any breakfast you want for a reasonable price if you dont have breakfast at hotel. you are also about 5-10 min walk max to the m,ain street full of restaurants, bar and the old style pubs.
All in all, a very good stay and would definitely recommend to anyone and would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan_Carmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationHouseHotel, Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Alan

On behalf of team Station House I thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We have a very dedicated team who work diligently to ensure that our guest service standards exceed the expectations of our guests at all times. We thoroughly enjoy looking after you, our valued guest and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House very soon

Warmest Regards

Siobhan Barrett- Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

bit of a walk from the bus but surrounded by plenty of shops and pubs. The hotel itself is lovely the rooms are clean and bright and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great a huge selection of different things to suit all tastes

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seany76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationHouseHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Seany

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your comments are very kind and encouraging. Team Station House strive to ensure continued customer service success and we thrive on happy satisified guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel in the near future if your plans permit

Warm Regards

Siobhan Barrett- Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I was there with a hen party. We didn't want a big dinner so we chose to have a buffet meal. It was lovely.
Not much selection of fruit for the breakfast, and make the toast yourself. The buffet Irish Breakfast was good though.
The main thing i liked was the friendly, helpful staff and the clean, comfortable rooms. It is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationHouseHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear MC

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. On behalf or our team thank you for your very kind comments. We take huge pride in our excellent level of customer service standards and it is our pleasure to ensure that all our guests have a happy and memorable stay. Thank you for your reference to our friendly & helpful staff, levels of cleanliness and value. We apologise for the lack of selection of fresh fruit at breakfast, this was an oversight and has been rectified

We welcome your return to the Station House in the near future

Warm Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
4.0 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing