We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like visiting Grandma's house, which isn't always a good thing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glencairn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glencairn House
Ranked #2 of 27 Letterkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like visiting Grandma's house, which isn't always a good thing.”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had a very nice stay - room was clean, breakfast was decent, the view from the side garden is AMAZING, and like the others have stated, the owner is incredibly welcoming. It is a bit of a trek in to town... we took one wrong turn heading into town and it cost us quite a bit of time. I would say if you stay here, plan on driving or taking a cab to and from the city center.

The best way to describe this B&B is "grandma's house," which is very nice in some respects, but a bit off-putting in others. We loved the quiet, but felt like we had to be on our best behavior and talk in hushed voices while there. This is in no way enforced... it's just the impression we had while there. Beyond that, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
40
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you are looking for peace and quiet and a fantastic breakfast this is the place for you. Glencairn is a short 1.5k from town, located up the Ramelton road this b&b boasts beautiful views of St Eunans and the town. Great accomodation, hosts and excellent breakfast had here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuam, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The b&b was advertised as being in the centre of letterkenny town, even on google maps it's down as right in the middle of town. When we rang the owner to see how to get there she asked us if we were out side the chemist (nolans I think) to whic we replies yes.. She then told us to go through several roundabouts and way our of town( bareing in mind this was night time an it was raining and we had a dinner to attend) we hailed a taxi and they brought us to the b&b the cost of the trip was €15 so that shows you how far out of town it was, this brough the cost us considerably since we had to in and out of town quite a bit. We where also give a much lower rate when I phone and apon checking out, we where told it was much higher....... The rooms where clean and the food nice. But I would not recommend it.... And the main trap is the nice lady routine, and the getting caught to pay more which I am sure many have fallen for before our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Karey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambery, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was going to put a 4/5 because I found the furnishing and general decoration of the place old and that it could do with a little refreshning of some sort. But then I thought about the lovely landlady who's doing everything in her power to be helpful and kind without ever intruding on your privacy. She's really sweet and gave us some great advice (on places to eat - which turned out a good surprise - or special views to see on our way).
Breakfast was plentiful and the bed was very comfortable. Can you ask for more when you've got such a welcoming host? No. So here goes the 5/5!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zzaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I brought a friend from New Zealand to Donegal so she could experience friendly and beautiful rural Ireland. I had never been to Letterkenny before but decided on visiting there so we could go to Glenveagh National Park and some nearby beaches. While I was expecting a friendly welcome as is typical in rural Ireland, I was not prepared for just how lovely Maureen and her husband were. They are such a humble, gentle and gracious couple and it is such a lovely experience to stay at their b & b. They were so friendly and went out of their way to help us with various things. The b & b was spotless and so quiet so we had a great night's sleep. It's a quaint place too and feels very Irish! The breakfast was really delicious. If you are looking for a warm Irish welcome and great accommodation this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveller54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Lovely comfortable room with a proper firm bed. Television in room. Wide selection of breakfast types available. But do not ask Maureen to chat when she's doing the toast. Lovely lady helpful and friendly. A real Irish welcome awaits you.
Thank you so much.
Maureen McGarry-O'Hanlon, Isle of Barra.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed in Maureen's wonderful guest house from Friday to Monday. From the beginning Maureen was the perfect hostess, making us all feel welcome and comfortable. We wanted for nothing, the service and the rooms were first class, and the fantastic breakfast set us up for each day. The breakfast room view is truly wonderful. If you ever want to stay in Letterkenny, this would be the ideal place, we can't wait to get back there really soon.

Thanks Maureen, from the Dunlop family, Ballymena.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoopybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
2.0 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,065 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn House

Property: Glencairn House
Address: Ramelton Road | Letterkenny Co Donegal, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic view from patio and dinning room central for all touring routes & golf courses/5 min drive from all hotels/ restaurants and 30 min drive from Glenveigh National Park. Family run accomodation help with with all touring plans. En-suite rooms all ground floor with tea/coffee facilities/hairdryers, private parking /open all year.Bord failte 3 star approved member bed and breakfast Ireland Guide de routard recommonded ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Glencairn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing