We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and hospitable”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at this hotel and the staff could not have done any more for us. The bar staff in particular were exceptionally friendly and made us feel very welcome from the off set. The rooms were impeccably clean and of good standard. The food was great and the service within the restaurant could not be faulted. If you want a warm and friendly atmosphere, feel relaxed during your break and go on a break to actually enjoy it....... this is the hotel for you. For all those who moan about it, I guess you are hypo critical and need a sense check on the real world. Well done this hotel. We will be back. :-)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    234
    120
    68
    37
See reviews for
77
293
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2010

A group of 15 of us stayed in this hotel for a hen party. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful during the booking process and were very flexible when umbers kept changing.
On arrival the staff were also freindly and helpful and put us all in rooms close by making it easier for shepherding of the group. The rooms may not be 5 star but they are clean and the beds are lovely, shame about the shower curtain though, I hate those ones that stick to you.
Dinner was included in the price and enjoyed by all and the breakfast the morning after the night before came with a vat of tea which was the perfect hangover cure.
If you want a place that is very reasonably priced and in a great location for a good night out Gallaghers is your place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auds26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I have now stayed with this hotel on numerous occasions for leisure but will not be returning as the hotel has got very grubby, and the cleanliness in the rooms has gone down hill as the throw and pillow on the bed for display purposes are appaling the stains are ridiculous there was also quite a lot of hair on the bathroom floor. we where upgraded to an executive room as i complained bout our previous stay in February and believe me this is not worth the extra money that is due to be paid.Two consolations are that the Food and staff are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrymcewan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Hotel was nice, first we chcecked in to smoking room but had to move as there was awful smell in room. Had dinner included food was ok, It maybe a bit noisy from night club which is a part of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelservice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2010

During our trip around Ireland we stayed two nights in the Gallaghers. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the staff is very friendly. Dinner is either served in the bar or the restaurant where you get high quality food for great value. Breakfast is served as a rich buffet with typical Irish but also continental food. The hotel is located in Letterkenny's mainstreet - pubs, clubs and also supermarkets are within walking distance. Moreover Letterkenny is an ideal place for further trips to the beautiful landscape of Donegal or northern Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imca_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I had my son's christening here in June. I found the accommodation to be of a very high standard. The staff went out of their way to do everything we asked and to accomodate our guests, friends and family. The food was lovely and it lent to making my little boy's big day so special. I am ever so grateful for everything they did for us and not only that, it was super reasonable and we priced numerous places. Nobody could've offered us what they delivered. I have to compliment the wonderful staff here, they are very friendly and It would certainly contradict some of the other posts here. Some people are never happy, and I think its rather personal ad rude to call someone "sour faced". All in all, my family and I had a wonderful time and would highly reccommend a stay in this hotel for its fab food, friendly diligent staff and covenient location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davisldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I had to advise other people about this hotel, I never usually complain, see other hotel I really would go back too.
I booked to stay in this hotel, when i arrived at the hotel, i was met with a sour faced receptionist, I secured the booking through the telephone the night before, in which i had used my credit card to book with, when i arrived at the hotel with friends on the sat evening, there was no booking and no credit card details.. the hotel refused to contact the girl who took the booking, i asked to speak to the manager, who might as well have been a puppet as the sour receptionist told the manager what to say, the hotel then asked for an extra €39euro per person for both nights. Customer service non -existant, if wanting to stay in Letterkenny Do Not Stay In this Hotel, stay in either Clanree or Mount Errical..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armagh_Girl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,192 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing