We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab decor & restaurant in '06,terrible service in Mar '07”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Reviewed March 19, 2007

Stayed in Gallaghers in jun '06 for a stag and never stopped raving about it to my wife on my return {I was so taken with the evening meal in the restaurant...the snazzy bedroom with flat screen TV not the usual huge 1980's TV!},so when the chance arose for a quick break it was first on my list. However it was booked out and had to stay elsewhere in Letterkenny. I insisted on heading to it for bar food upstairs...and was very disappointed with the speed at which the m&f staff on duty went about getting to us~taking our order~cleaning other tables around us during a savage wait for our meals.For the record;the steak when it came was easily half fat...not acceptable to me anyway.Just a shame when everything else is right

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redlionbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
There are newer reviews for Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 719 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2007

me and my partener stayed here and have now booked our wedding Reception next year at this hotel we loved it that much.
we come down and have dinner in it and a few drinks most weekend and all of are friend and family use it as well.

only thing NOT so good is it is very cold,they keep air-con on most of the time and the door down stair spins around and keep it cold as well.

apart from that very nice hotel,and modern, staff are great and food is yummy.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma33123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

We stayed for one night here. It was very comfortable and the room was nicely decorated. Breakfast was slow but very nice. Its a little confusing to find your way with the arrangement of the lobby, bar, carpark, lifts and stairways.
Staff efficient and courteous.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
Thank bogbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

Having read the review here that mentioned stag parties, I was expecting the worst.
Nothing could be further from the truth. Highly professional staff, lovely decor in the rooms, a quality restaurant and best of all a very competitive reasonable tariff.
I would have no hesitation in staying in Gallagher's again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank newgrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

I recently visited this hotel for 2 nights with a group of 52 people of all ages and i can honestly say that every 1 of those people had a fantastic time! I don't think i heard 1 complaint about the hotel! The staff could not have been more helpful, the hotel was spotless, the rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated (i wanted to take the curtains home, as did a few others) and the food was lovely and reasonably priced!
The hotel is centrally situated and all the locals we met were very pleasant and helpful! I will be going back to this hotel! I have been home for 5 days and am already planning on going back with my mates!

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank Ramora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed in this hotel about 4 years ago and decided to visit again this year! What a surprise we got! The newly refurbished hotel is gorgeous and we could not find one fault in it. We stayed Sun to Wed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are beautifully deorcated with modern furnishings and more than ample space. The breakfast selection in the hotel was super and we had a beautiful dinner in the hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. If you decide to stay here you will enjoy your viist - just watch your car on the bumpy lane to the side, but there is a back entrance you can use! We will deininitley be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
13
Reviewed July 10, 2006

This hotel is Perfect..... if you are on a stag's night (batchelor party) or hens night.
They flood in from across the border and want to party all night long.
You get free access to the nite club, unfortunately it's in your room and can be heard clearly until 4am.

Food is average and atmosphere is zero. Its peak season and there were only 2 other people in the bar Saturday and Sunday night!!!!!.


Staff are used to shipping the stag's and hens night through the building every weekend and barely pay attention to other guests.

Go here if you don't want to sleep before 4am..... perfect hotel for Temple bar in Dublin.

This hotel is everything bad about letterkenny...Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#7 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,275 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $62 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing