We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like a nice hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Looks like a nice hotel....”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Looks like a nice hotel. Rooms nice, but issues with the tv remote control which did some things and not others...strange. Restaurant service very slow. Too few staff doing their best, but coach parties seemed to be given less staff than the bistro area next door, which was less populated. Annoying when there are also two people behind the bar, and one person doing their best to serve a meal alone, which means food sometimes arrived cold. Menu repetitive, and food sometimes very overcooked. No vegetarian choice. Part of a coach party probably isn't the best way to be a guest here.Things featured on the printed breakfast menu that never seemed to be on the actual menu. On the last day, when breakfast was very busy, definately a case of first up best fed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnParsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Lynn,
Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us, I am disappointed to learn you experienced a few issues during your stay, we have leisure groups staying with us on a regular basis and with all guests we assure everyone our best attention at all times and I apologize on behalf of the whole team if you felt this was different with your group .
Please feel free to contact me if you world like to discuss the matter. I do hope Lynn you will be in Letterkenny again and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in Gallagher's Hotel.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
00353749122066
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    231
    118
    67
    37
See reviews for
76
289
24
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here over weekend worn my inlaws. Great food,location second to none as we didn't have to pay for any taxis. Staff couldn't do enough to help, rooms were very clean and comfortable. Excellent value. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you Jim for your recent feedback on your stay with us here in Gallagher's, delighted to read your lovely comments about the team and the Hotel in general we really appreciate it, the Hotel is in an ideal central location to enjoy a few days with family members and we look forward to your next visit in the near future.
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a funeral. We found in difficult to find parking and it was limited but that is the only fault we could find with the place. The receptionist was very pleasant and allowed us check in as soon as our room was ready as we needed to freshin up after a substancial drive. We stayed in a twin room which we couldn't fault. The hotel itself is located right in the town which made it very easy to get around. Breakfast was served from a carvery style buffet and everything was pipping hot and fresh. Staff were extremely helpful with any queries we had. We needed directions a few times as we couldn't figure out the layout of the hotel. The next Morning we requested a late check out as we had mass and would miss the checkout time. Unfortunately they couldn't accommodate this as they were fully booked for that night however we were allowed to keep our car in their carpark for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolo_polo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Lolo,
It was lovely to read your recent feedback on your visit to Gallagher's in Letterkenny, and I pleased and delighted you enjoyed everything we had to offer, we indeed have upgraded our breakfast service recently and I am truly delighted we were able to assist you with an early check after a long journey it was our pleasure, and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back very soon to Gallagher's in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

me and my husband went in for dinner one day it was quite in the restraunt it was mid week the staff was very nice the food was very good my husband is very picky about where to eat and what to eat but they were very accomadating for him we will return again with the rest of the family someday they should try putting on maybe a midweek deal

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Martina K,
The team in Gallagher's are delighted to read your lovely review on your recent visit in our dining room and your kind compliments on our food and service we have just introduced our New early Bird Menu which is running each day Sunday-Friday and I hope we will have the pleasure to serve you again very soon.
Many thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are a training company and we use Gallaghers Hotel conference rooms on a weekly basis.
Their service is next to none and their conference rooms are equipped with excellent projector screens and air conditioning. Our participants always comment on the quality of the rooms and refreshments. We have a quality system that we deliver all our training programmes on and Gallaghers Hotel consistently keep the standard raised for us and our participants. We would have no hesitation in recommending Gallaghers Hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: All of Gallaghers Hotel conference rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_sweeney20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Maria,
Thank you so much for your recent feedback on our business services in Gallagher's, we are delighted to host your conferences and training in our well equipped conference suites and look forward to working with you in the future, yes indeed all our rooms are fully air conditioned and it was a welcomed bonus for all delegates during the hot spell of weather we experienced recently.
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just back from a weekend at Gallaghers Hotel,really enjoyed the good food and great service.The room was clean and comfortable. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend if you are looking for a good hotel in Letterkenny.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eam0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of entire Team, may I extend our thanks for your lovely compliments on our hotel and we are truly delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Letterkenny and Gallagher's Hotel.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a lovely weekend recently staying in Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny. It is a beautiful hotel with friendly and helpful staff, the food is great and the rooms are excellent as is room service.Breakfast times are well explained so as to be able to avoid the rush hour. McCarreys bar is also very friendly where you can meet and make new friends.
D & P Larne

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Joseph M,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, delighted you had such a great time, Gallagher's is indeed really central and ideal for meeting old and new friends , we really appreciate all your kind comments regarding our service food and overall comfort in the hotel.Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future to Gallagher's Hotel.
Many Thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing