We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great prices, great hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I regularly visit Donegal for business, this Is in my view the best value for money for the business traveller in letterkenny. Rooms are clean, compfortable and the hotels central location is ideal. The food is good also with an excellent breakfast option. Overall it has a nice modern look and feel to it.

Room Tip: If you need wifi access ask at reception so the staff can get you a room closer to the signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fagan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Fagan 73,
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we are truly delighted with your positive feedback on the Hotel and we hope we can welcome you back to visit very soon. the staff are delighted to read your kind words about the team here in Gallagher's.
Many Thanks again,
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 733 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very central and convenient. We were met by beautiful Claire at reception with a warm smile and plenty of advice for our stay in the town. I would advise not getting the breakfast, as there is clearly some aggressive cost cutting going on which is affecting quality. That brings me to the loo paper, which is "prison quality". But otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Take your breakfast elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplehaze777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear bigspottedcat,
Thank you for choosing Gallagher's Hotel for your recent trip to Letterkenny, we were pleased to read your comments on your welcome at reception by Claire who has recently being trained for reception and I have passed on your lovely comments to her, I thank you for your positive comments in relation to the other aspects of your stay, I would like to welcome you back in the near future so you can see the changes we have on our breakfast service.
Having , introduced a new breakfast service which includes selection of cereals, porridge fresh fruit, yogurt, and array of juices and a selection of breads and pasties along side the traditional Irish Breakfast.
I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Gallagher's.

Many thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a small gathering in this hotel over Easter. I can't speak highly enough of the staff and the food was excellent. The service we received was first class and very professional. I would highly recommend this hotel. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackers90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Mackers 90,
Thank you so much for choosing Gallagher's for your recent family occasion, all the team in Gallagher's 'Hotel are truly delighted and pleased to receive your 5* review.and to learn that you had such a positive and enjoyable experience with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Gallagher's very soon, many thanks again.
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago and it was luxurious. Stayed again this year and I was very disappointed it seems nothing has changed since then. New bed clothes and a coat of paint would make it much better.

Value for money.
Excellent location.
Charge corkage for drinking in rooms beware!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Emma D,
Thank you for your recent review on Gallagher's Hotel, I really appreciate your feedback as it is from you our valued customer we learn any shortfalls, we constantly do painting in all our bedrooms and public areas and are at the moment changing and upgrading all toiletries in our bathrooms, I hope you will see the benefits of these changes on a return visit. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Gallagher's in the near future.
Many Thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in Gallaghers for a Saturday night, Room was clean & tidy, Bathrooom was ok, I had to call in one of the room maids to fill up the shampoo dispencer as it was almost empty. It does not have any little shampoos or shower gels which is a pity as it would enhance the hotel. Also most hotels provide a small pk of biscuits in the hotel room with the tea & coffee but this one had none & none available to buy. I would come back but it would not be my 1st choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Brendan JM,
Thank you for your lovely review and your kind comments in relation to the cleanliness and location of the Hotel, apologies for the lack of soap in the dispenser this was an error on our part we are at present upgrading from dispensers to individual bottles for shampoos and lotions in all our guest rooms, and I hope you will see the improvements on your next visit if you choose or decide to visit Letterkenny again.
Many thanks again Brendan.
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed here over New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. We found the service to be brilliant for such a busy time and staff were very helpful and friendly.

The room was basic but pleasant and very clean. The room was very reasonable so our expectations were met from the moment we opened the door. It was a last minute decision to go somewhere for NYE so we were convinced the whole trip that we had made the right decision and that we would definitely return.

Also the food was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble (I'm a veggie) they were perfectly happy to accommodate me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear CM218,
The team in Gallagher's are thrilled with your lovely review regarding your stay over the New Year, always a lovely time to celebrate and enjoy and we hope we will see you very soon again on another occasion very soon.
Many thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

stayed at hotel for 2 nights .checked in 2 april. hotel staff very friendly. room clean and comfy beds .Have previously stayed at Mount errigal and Clanree which are a bit shabby.Gallachers much better!!.great location. staff very friendly with our children. thankyou for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgggcgbggray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank your so much for such a fabulous review, we are truly delighted you had a great time here both in Donegal and Gallagher's Hotel, it was our pleasure to welcome both yourself and the children on your Easter Break, we really look forward to seeing you all very soon.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,314 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny F92 C440, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $61 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing