We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My friends and I stayed in Gallaghers Hotel for one night as we were going into Letterkenny for a night out. The hotel's location was perfect as it was right in the middle of the town and everything was handy to get to. When we checked in, the reception staff were very friendly and checked us in very quickly. When we had queries about the hotel's closing time, they informed us that there was a night porter on duty for us to get back into the hotel (this was really good as we didn't get back to the hotel until 3:30am). I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family as it was very comfortable and very convenient.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are the same, a double bed with a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallaghers1, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Andrew H,
It was a pleasure to have you and your friends in Gallagher's Hotel and delighted you all had a great time whilst visiting Letterkenny.
Many Thanks &
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 752 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

my husband and i stayed with you over the wkend of aug 31st until mon 3rd sept, and i could not begin to say how well we were looked after for the duration of our stay as my husband has limited mobility due to M/S and your hotel was more than able to accomdate with lift access and most imporant walk in shower it added greatly to our comfort and we relaxed straight,away the staff are superb especially Christina on reception who also gave me direction,s to great shopping, most enjoyable stay,thank you for agreat stay, john and helen bradley.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The rooms were ok, the food portions HUGE, too huge actually. But we shared and then iit was alright. Food quality was good. Staff was freiendly and helpful. The breakfast room is too dark and the tilded floor makes it rather noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ulrike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallaghers1, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Ulrike M. Aichwald,
Thank you for choosing Gallagher's for your recent trip to Letterkenny with your friends and taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us, we appreciate this from all our guests and take on board your comments about the huge portions in relation to the food, and we have rectified the lighting in the Bistro Restaurant area.
I do hope you give us another visit and oportunity to welcome your group in the near future.
Many Thanks &
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed in Gallaghers mid-week for a wedding anniversary night with the 'better 'af'. Despite living less than 30mins way, this was the furthest I could talk her into going now that we have a little one in our lives :-)

The Hotel looks great as you approach from the Port Road. Parking is to the rear and secure. Check-in was courteous and the room was large and airy. The biggest positive of the room was the air conditioning.

We booked in on a B&B basis and enjoyed a full Irish breakfast before we left. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as I have a booking arranged elsewhere.

Good hotel to stay in for a midweek break. Not so sure about weekends (if you're an older traveller) as the hotel is located right at the intersection of where people spill into the street from all the pubs/clubs.

+

Air-Con in room.
Good size TV.
Good location.
Good food.
Free parking.
-
Narrow bath with cheap shower curtain that tried to molest you while showering.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PMC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallaghers1, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear PMC 100,
Many thanks for your positive review, delighted to have you stay with us here and you both had such a relaxing time on your special occasion. Hope to see you both very soon.
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stat here whenever I'm working in the area. I find the rooms are always clean, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar food is excellent quality, both in portion size and price.
The hotel is in the centre of Letterkennys main street and only a short walk to the many shops in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallaghers1, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Phil,
Many thanks for your glowing review on Gallagher's Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Have visited here twice and also my mum and dad have been. Food is gorgeous, really generous portions, great central location and staff are lovely. Prices are also very reasonable. Letterkenny is a great town for a visit, loads of shops, great restaurants, absolutely stunning scenary.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallaghers1, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
Wow, thank you so much,I have passed your Lovely comments on to all the staff who are delighted with such positive feedback from you, our guests, it is so important to us as we strive at all times to improve our standards and service, we are truely delighted.
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great hotel, I use every time I need to stay in letterkenny. Lovely comfy bed, great location close to shops and the theatre. Good pricing on the rooms with a nice design. Good parking facilities at the hotel also, which is great for a town centre hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank oohbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallaghers1, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Oohbin,
We are delighted you had such a lovely time and experience in Letterkenny and Gallagher's Hotel, indeed Letterkenny has so much to offer visitors, be it the Theatre or indeed if you love shopping its all here right on our door step. Thank you so much for your very kind comments we really appreciate them.
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 13 in Letterkenny
1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 13 in Letterkenny
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 13 in Letterkenny
2,341 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 13 in Letterkenny
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny F92 C440, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $59 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing