We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Gallaghers!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Dunoon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Love Gallaghers!!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Beautiful hotel, Very clean rooms..fresh and airy + good size. Excellant central location, brilliant friendly staff aka Andy, Gav Henson, Adrian and Aisling!! Good quality folk helped make our weekend one to remember! Would stay here time and time again!!
From the 3 Scottish birds 11-14/May ;))

p.s Thanks for putting up with us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kas24aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    239
    123
    71
    39
See reviews for
82
304
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here for a week on business. The rooms are tastefully furnished, with WIFI. My room was very quiet, at the back of the hotel, which was a bonus considering the hotel is on the main street in Letterkenny.

The staff were helpful with the few requests I had.

The food, however, was not good at all. My first night, I wasn't too hungry, so ordered a Cesar Salad, which arrived with a whole chicken fillet, about 5 rashers, drenched in grease which had spread all over the lettuce. It also had no croutons, tomatoes or Parmasen, but did have perppers, onions & cucumber (how on earth does the chef call this a cesar salad??).

The second night I had a fillet steak which was tough as hell and overcooked, and so decided to dine out from then on.

The breakfast was good each day.

So, with plenty of alternative dining options around the town, this hotel has a great location right in the middle of the town, with comfortable rooms and good rates it's well worth a stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

hi we stay here for one nite (sat) got your dinner 6oz steak with chips well thats all u will get no dressing no peas didnt even ask us if we want anything more? the Desserts are terrible i got a Strawberry & Cream Cheesecake could not eat it oh there was no strawberrys one bite and had to drink lots of water to get it down terrible my husband got a brownie and ice cream well u could bouncy the brownie it was that bad all he could eat was the ice cream. the room you cant get Free Wireless Internet.
When you use the parking area you have to use the back door. This entrance seemed dirty. The elevators were small and their system was very confusing. sorry would not go back, dont get me wrong the rooms were clean, shower very very small........

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallaghers1, General Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Ms Mc Candless, It is with regret that we read your review of your recent experience at Gallagher's Hotel but we thank you for sharing your comments so that we can address the issues you have mentioned. We take all comments very seriously and value the feedback from our guests,In the meantime I have spoken with the restaurant team here and I have your order that you placed with the waitress which clearly states that you ordered two steaks both cooked medium rare with peppered sauce,there is an option to have a choice of side order which you both choose chips, vegetables were also offered but you declined.It is our policy to ask all our guests when food is delivered to the table if there was anything else you required or needed but you said just the chips and all was fine. However we do apologise for the quality of our desserts that they were not satisfactory and to your liking. I would like to thank you for your kind comments in regards to our bedrooms. If you would like to discuss the matter futher please do not hesitate to contact me.Kind regards, Antoinette Coyle, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

just back from a 3 night stay in gallaghers hotel and was very pleased with everything the rooms are good and spacious and the beds are very comfortable as were the pillows the hotel itself is in a good location on the main street everything is walking distance the staff were nice and friendley and the food was good would certainly stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen19689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Spent 3 night in this hotel. Down side we had a very high dirty wall 3ft from our bedroom window.The up side was it was clean comfortable and very good value. The food was very good and the staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them. Good bar and entertainment, centre of Letterkenny so very conveniient. Would stay there again and can reccomend it

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OAKTREE95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Lovely hotel, nice staff, nice room, although very cold on arrival. Modernly decorated and clean. Great Location for a night out, close to all the bars and Night Clubs, all within walking distance. We had a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kane356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed here on a sunday night and was very happy to get a sunday saver rate of €59 b&b for two. Good secure carpark, slap bang in the middle of the town, clean spacious rooms(although bed a bit hard-can't please everyone eh?) and friendly staff. The bar was also nice enough although very quiet on a sunday evening. Recommend McGinleys bar down the main street, great music and great atmosphere.
The cook at breakfast is a lovely jolly girl which deflected slightly the fact that the cooked breakfast was not that great. Usual hotel buffet overcooked fayre.Improve this and this place is well worth using as a base for holiday or business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#7 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,257 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Property: Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing