We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Reviewed May 20, 2011

nice hotel good athmosphere and rooms in a great location breakfast even ok and thhe staff are friendly, only drawbacks is the lack of a pool/gym which isnt the end of the world but is a bonus whether on buisness or hols

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marktravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 731 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed in the hotel over the weekend, my partner and i had the misfortune of checking into the hotel at the same time as what i now know from the previous post was a hen party, as we were getting the usual speach from the reception staff in regards to dinner times etc the "hen party" who were very drunk and abusive from the get go and subjected the other member of reception staff to such a ream of abuse and name calling and treated the girl with complete disrespect and such bad manners, it was a disgrace, the whole hotel came to a stand still as the group of women who may i add were no "spring chickens" they were older women who really should have known better!! the receptionist done her best to calm the situation but the abuse did not stop, i thought they had been asked to leave the hotel only to discover later in the evening when we had bar food and one of the women who had now had even more drink was there again shouting abuse at the barmaid, the bar food wasnt great but after the abuse the barmaid had took i didnt have the heart to complain, we paid the bill and left the bar. Thankfull neither me or my partner seen the hens for the rest of our stay. breakfast was lovely great choices, rooms were clean and location great right on the main street, the staff are friendly and really coundnt do enough for us, the staff had put up with such bad manners from the hen party but took it all in there stride and this did not effort the welcome and service in which we received. well done

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limavages1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Well where do I begin! Group of 9 girls turn up for a hen wend (which the hotel knew about) and we were treated like 2nd class citizens from the minute we arrived, (1 member of staff with the fringe in particular was so rude. We paid the full amount up front and then they try hit us with another 450 Euro bill for possbile damages to the room, needless to say none of us carried that sort of money unless we handed over our spending money which certainly was not going to happen! After alot of heated talk the general manger waifered the fee as we were heading to alternative accomodation. The rooms were nothing much to shout about, the views were unreal looking out at a brick wall. Food not the best either. Staff very unprofessional, this hotel is very quick to take a large booking but when it comes to the crunch they treat you like dirt, will not be back and would certainly not recommend to further hen/stag parites. (13-16 May 2011) What a nitemare!!!

Room Tip: Dont book it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAZZYKAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Would highly recommend this hotel, me and my wife stayed here easter weekend and had a great stay with meal and breakfast in hotel bistro. "food was great" we booked through Donegal tourist board website and got a great package for two nights b & b with one evening meal.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasonfrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We booked this hotel for a nights stay in an executive suite and we're extremely disappointed with the room we got, firstly when we walked in the room and furnishings were very dark, the living part of our suite the furniture was chipped and in seriously bad condition the sofa was very dirty with a lot of stains and in my opinion needed replacing, the bath was dirty and again around the sink area dirty, we were really disappointed with the overall presentation of the room, i would like to point out that we are not fussy people and i have stayed in b&b's with better standards needless to say we did not stay and requested our money back.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooby987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Hotel is in a great location central to almost everything. We went for 1 night to celebrate my partners birthday in group of 6 of us. when we arrived at the hotel, we were asked to pay a €100 deposit per room which we would get back on check out if off course the room was in order. None of us had been told this when he made the reservations for the 3 rooms. After a long debate about this the receptionist lowered the deposit to €50 per room. I still dont know if they had the right to do this but we got the money back the following morning so we didnt let it annoy us for 2 long!
The rooms are very nice & clean, tea & coffee facilities are fine, the beds were really comfortable!
The breakfast was really nice with plenty of choice. Id would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank versacebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed here for my hen party 20 girls, food in resturant was fantastic, steaks unbelievable, breakfast great, rooms were lovely and staff so friendly, great location, not one complaint from anyone in the group 89euros for 2 nights b+ b and 5 course evening meal great value.

EXCELLENT SERVICE
EXCELLENT LOCATION
EXCELLENT FOOD

WOULD DEFINATELY BE BACK

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.1 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
378 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny F92 C440, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $51 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing