We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bowled over on the Green!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Browns On the Green

Browns On the Green
Ranked #7 of 110 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bowled over on the Green!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Went to Browns on the Green on Saturday night for the early bird..The experience was outstanding in every regard. The food, ambience and service were to an excellent standard-and all for a mere 22.95euro. Definitely warrants a return visit! Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    23
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
“friends nite out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

a group of 6 friends ate in browns on the green yesterday eve. we ordered from early bird menu which is excellent value at 22.50! This includes three food courses of a very high quality from a locally sourced menu. Joseph our floor manager was extremely attentive and returned to our table on more than one occasion to see if we were ok. The serving staff are well trained and told us of chef's recommendations re. meat dish. WE were served a glass of prosecccio after being seated on the house and some lovely homemade breads. The atmosphere was alive with chatter and good humour!! We will definitely return in the near future. A lovely addition to dining out in letterkenny and surroundings are fab too...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, surroundings and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This little gem in the "bunker" is a must for anyone who loves amazing food, wine, comfortable surroundings and excellent staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia555_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramelton, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At Last, My Favourite Restaurant on our doorstep! thank you Ian Orr”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been frequenting Brown's in (waterside) Derry for many years, always labelling it as one of our favourite restaurants! Then they opened Brown's in the City of Derry, in which I have enjoyed many fabulous light lunches. And NOW here they are! in Letterkenny, on our doorstep, just 3 minutes from Ramelton. Yay!!! Since they opened at the beginning of December, we have had two birthday parties celebrated there, as well as our choice for New Year's Eve tonight, and a couple of casual dinners with my husband and friends - we are delighted to have Brown's on the Green at the Letterkenny Golf Club so close to us. A stunning peaceful setting, fabulous attentive and friendly staff, and best of all, the food!!! Just perfect, every time! We look forward to seeing you make the number one spot soon. All the best to Ian and the team and a Happy New Year to you, Kind Regards, Lin

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moorfieldlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great food at reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

we visited this newly refurbished restaurant in Letterkenny Golf Club, which is being run by Browns for our anniversary. we chose the set menu which was €22.95 for three courses. There was a good selection on the menu, service was excellent and the food was delicious and very well presented. The restaurant has been refurbished and is lovely.
Only downside was that is was a Wednesday night and the restaurant was quiet, so not much buzz about but as this is only newly opened I'm sure when word of mouth gets around it should do very well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank letterkenny1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns On the Green also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Browns On the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing