We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just superb”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Took a short break away and stayed here. Had a ground floor suite, the food was first class and staff couldn't do enough during our stay- very friendly and helpful. Some great deals on too- definitely worth a stay if you're looking for a getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    129
    64
    20
    15
See reviews for
215
287
22
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thank you is not enough for the wedding reception the silver tassie gave us, it was more than what we expected, the food was amazing and all of our guests commented on it all night long, there was plenty of extras to go around. the function room was beautiful and the communication between the wedding co-ordinator and ourselves was excellent. The guests commented that the wedding was the best they were at and the honeymoon suite was spacious romantic and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel for anyone getting married or staying overnight in. This hotel made our day and we are so glad we decided on this for our wedding. The staff were really friendly and looked after all of our belongings and left them in our room. We cannot thank John the wedding co-ordinator and the staff enough for the amazing day we had.
Jason and Amanda 31.08.2013

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a three night break. There was a very warm welcome on arrival. All of the staff were friendly a extremely helpful. The food was really good. We would travel a long way for the fantastic steak! Except for the very tired fruit salad the breakfast was great.
The only let down was the bedroom. It was the smallest hotel bedroom I have seen. The proverbial cat couldn't be swung there! The bathroom was a good size and both were clean and well maintained. We were facing the front of the hotel and expected a beautiful view of the bay, but unfortunately we were overlooking the roof of the conservatory. Apart from the bedroom I would recommend this hotel 100%
Well done

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We attended a wedding in Letterkenny and stayed at the Silver Tassie (goblet) for several nights. We were so impressed with the quality of the wedding reception and related wedding events that were held at the Silver Tassie. They really know what they're doing. They clearly do a lot of weddings. During our stay there were weddings at least three of the four nights we were there.
The only thing I would've done differently knowing what I know now is to request a room that is not right over the bar and bar entrance. Irish people really know how to party and celebrate and there were people talking into the wee hours down on the sidewalk outside our windows so we needed to keep our windows closed in our room to sleep. The room was lovely, and service was good. We enjoyed breakfasts there every morning in the hotel restaurant. A very good hotel...we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermoy, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for a short break. It was really beautiful the room was massive with 2 queen beds, a sitting area with 3 piece suite huge bathroom and shower. There was a gym for the guests which my wife used. I being disabled unfortunately could not enjoy this facility. I asked if the heating could be turned in our room as I need to keep warm due to pain. This request was promptly executed and indeed I was checked on numerous times to ensure I was comfortable and enjoying our stay in the Hotel. The food was fresh and warm when served and the staff were very obliging and friendly. They looked after me as if I was one of their family. We stay in a lot of hotels on short breaks but the Silver Tassie is one of the best we have used in fact I would say it is in the top three of the Select Hotel group we have stayed in. We live in the south of the country and the hotel is in the extreme north. We would be very regular visitors to the hotel if it was not so far away from where we live. The only criticisms i would mention Is that the Hotel does not have a swimming pool on site, one has to drive about 4 miles into Letterkenny to avail of this facility. Other wise a lovely lovely hotel to relax and unwind for a while.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are just back from 4 days in the silver tassie and had a brill time. The breakfast was good and the staff were all lovely and very helpful, the dinner also was great with about 5 choices. The bedroom was very comfortable and had a double and a single bed, a table and 2 chairs and coffee and tea making facilities replenished each morning by the very pleasant staff. I will definitely will stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have eaten in the bar of this hotel many times and the foot is beautiful, but last night myself and 5 others ate in the restaurant... It was outstanding. The service was five star, very friendly staff. The menu has so much to choose from.We all ate different dishes ranging from mussels, steak, enchiladas and stir frys and everyone truly enjoyed their food. Will definitely be back to try some other fab dishes that are to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireLkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,111 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
4.0 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa

Property: Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Address: Ramelton Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa is only a 5 minute drive from the town of Letterkenny and a 15 minute drive from Rathmullan Beach. Renowned for excellent service and award winning food the hotel has everything you need to make your stay memorable including DVD players in the bedrooms and complimentary library of DVD's and books. Sample our specialty Seaweed baths in our Seascape Spa, just one of the many treatments & ways to relax. Golf courses, surfing, walking, horse riding and Glenveagh National, are a short drive from the Hotel. An ideal base to tour the North West Coast with Derry City only 33km away. Free WIFI access throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can avail of complimentary use of the Aura Leisure Centre Swimming Pool which is ten minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Tassie Hotel Letterkenny
Silver Tassie Hotel And Spa
Silver Tassie Letterkenny
Hotel Silver Tassie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing