We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heavenly!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

i stayed here for one night for a spa break with my friend and i must say from the minute we entered the hotel we were treated very well. staff are lovely and couldn't do enough for you esp the reception staff!! the room was lovely/clean and the food very tasty. however we saved the best for last and that was the spa, its a credit to the hotel. we felt as if we dropped off in heaven. 2 full hours of sheer bliss. complements to olivia and louise the spa therapists that looked after us and very well i may add!!!
hopefully be back soon and would defiantly be recommending!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aislingmclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverTassie, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear aislingmclaughlin
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at The Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, I have passed on your compliments to the spa ladies which they are delighted about. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 798 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Myself and my daughter spent a fantastic day on 6th Feb. in the Spa. Best Spa we have ever visited. The staff are very friendly and the treatments we had were first class. The place is spoitless. We then treated ourselves to a meal and as also we weren't disappointed. A great way to finish a great day. Could not recommend this Spa & Restaurant enough. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millstone Cotta... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverTassie, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Millstone Cotta... H
Thank you for visiting the Seascape Spa and for writing a fantastic review about your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The Silver Tassie is a hotel I would recommend as a Must Stay Hotel in the Donegal region.Situated a few miles outside of Letterkenny on the Ramelton Road and part of the Select group of Hotels of Ireland,I started staying there in 2012 as a commercial representative having viewed the hotel reviews on trip advisor.The hotel itself has a lot of history and has grown in stature throughout many years.The business package suits my budget.The staff are very welcoming and friendly.The rooms are nicely decored and beds comfortable and not noisy even though the hotel is situated along the main busy road.There is free wifi access .The food is fantastic and offers are available to those on a budget .The foyer area is nice & relaxing .There are DVD" s available at reception for those who want to watch a movie in the room or entertain the kids if on a family break.There is a small gym upstairs also & a spa within the premises to those wishing to pamper themselves.The breakfast is freshly cooked which is a big plus and a wide choice available including home made brown bread & jam.To sum up I have been travelling the highways & byways of Ireland for many years now & it's a hotel I have described as a must stay whilst in Donegal.Sign up for the select hotel card too if you are a frequent visitor.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverTassie, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Damacon
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay and for describing us as a "Must Stay Hotel in the Donegal"
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My partner and I had a first class break at the Silver Tassie hotel, excellent food, clean hotel bedrooms and friendly staff: The lounge was out of service during our stay as they were redecorating but their restaurant and foyer and conservatory were available for food and drinks. There is some lovely scenery around that part of Donegal, even in January when the weather wasnt great. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return later this year

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverTassie, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Mary Jane K
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
I am glad you got to experience Donegal when you were here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The wide selection of fresh Food and service were excellent. The Staff are very helpful. Would definitely recommend, especially the carvery lunch. The bar & restaurant were welcoming. Toilet areas were well attended with good quality toiletries. Also try their tea and scones

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank analli_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverTassie, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Analli_12

Thank you for your review and for the compliments you gave on the service being excellent and the Staff being very helpful. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our room was great and had plenty of options for family sleeping loads of room for our disabled sons wheelchair and all his kit! Room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, water pressure to the bath and shower was great whatever time you chose to use them.Choice of breakfast food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.We were staying for a wedding the function room was stunning and service on the day was second to none with everyone having a choice from the menu and the food arriving good and hot with everyone being offered seconds of steak, salmon and turkey! Even though the wedding was on New Yaers Eve no-one felt they were rushed out of the room even though they had to set it up for service the following day.We would highly recommend everyone tries the full carvery experience on a Sunday we ahve never seen so much choice of food.

Room Tip: There are 2 accessible rooms we chose the "semi accessible" one which suited our needs. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverTassie, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Mandy M

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience, I am glad you got to experience our Sunday carvery while you were here.
We hope to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I arranged a trip on short notice on the basis of special offers. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite which was pleasing but the staff were good enough to let me look at the standard and superior rooms and these were large and comfortable looking - I certainly wouldn't have been disappointed with them.

The Silver Tassie is a well-run family hotel and it is good to stay somewhere that has its own character and personality. Both the design and decor is a mixture of the traditional and modern but in my mind it works. The room furnishings were attractive yet comfortable and the shower had good pressure and was fitted at a decent height on the wall so the bather does not have to duck to get under the shower head - a sin many hotels are guilty of. All the staff I encountered were, without exception, friendly and helpful.

The hotel is situated a few miles outside Letterkenny beside a busy main road but the rooms are double glazed and traffic noise was not a problem. There is ample free parking so the hotel would be a good base for exploring the northwest of Ireland. The bar was closed for renovations during our trip but we had an evening meal as part of the package and even if bought separately, the table d'hote menu at €25 for four courses was tremendous value. The food was like the decor, a mixture of traditional and modern - a fair number of old favourites with a modern twist. I found it a little conservative in style but the a la carte menu was extensive. I enjoyed what I had and the portions are generous, certainly no one should leave the table hungry. I also had a few bar snacks in the lobby over the course of my stay. The service was prompt and the food was fine. The dining room itself is fairly large but there are a number of nooks and crannies which give it an intimate atmosphere and the open fire was welcome on a dark January evening. All hot breakfasts are freshly cooked - much better than luke-warm bacon and rubbery eggs left under lights - and guests can vary the menu to their taste, so that is a massive plus in the hotel's favour.

The spa was excellent with a wide range of treatments for male guests which can be limited elsewhere, though I made the mistake of not booking in advance and was only able to get an appointment on the morning of departure. As the hotel was not too busy, a late check out was no problem. The spa staff like everyone else at the hotel were charming.

Donegal has no shortage of hotels. You will find ones with better views, others with a swimming pool and jacuzzi, more avant garde cuisine and more frills but you will do well to find one that delivers such a good all-round experience at such reasonable cost.

The bottom line would I go back and would I recommend the hotel to others? The answer to both is an unreserved 'yes'. Customer service and excellent value are the hallmarks of the hotel so if you are considering a stay in Donegal it is well worth giving the Silver Tassie a look.

Room Tip: If a view is important ask for the first floor. Some ground floor rooms have little to look out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverTassie, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear SamThompson

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for giving such a descriptive review, we truly appreciate that. Thank you for stating the reason for your return, being "Customer service and excellent value are the hallmarks of the hotel so if you are considering a stay in Donegal it is well worth giving the Silver Tassie a look" we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 13 in Letterkenny
1,175 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 13 in Letterkenny
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 13 in Letterkenny
400 reviews
4 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa

Address: Ramelton Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $96 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa is only a 5 minute drive from the town of Letterkenny and a 15 minute drive from Rathmullan Beach. Renowned for excellent service and award winning food the hotel has everything you need to make your stay memorable including DVD players in the bedrooms and complimentary library of DVD's and books. Sample our specialty Seaweed baths in our Seascape Spa, just one of the many treatments & ways to relax. Golf courses, surfing, walking, horse riding and Glenveagh National, are a short drive from the Hotel. An ideal base to tour the North West Coast with Derry City only 33km away. Free WIFI access throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can avail of complimentary use of the Aura Leisure Centre Swimming Pool which is ten minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Tassie Hotel And Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel Letterkenny
Silver Tassie Letterkenny
Hotel Silver Tassie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing