We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Nice Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Nice Staff”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here for three nights 23rd 24th and 25th July. Lovely hotel, bit out of town but very quiet and peaceful. Lady on reception at check in was very efficient and most helpful, gave us map and told us all the scenic spots to visit. Room was clean and comfortable. We ate here three nights as food was top class. Both restaurent and bar food very good quality. Bar was always busy especially in the evenings. Entertainment Monday and Wens night. Breakfast was very good with great selection. Found all staff to be most courteous and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel and will be back. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Upstairs towards back of hotel quiet and peaceful for good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philisity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Philisity,

Thank you for the great review and so many nice comments. Delighted it was all you expected and more and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    129
    64
    20
    15
See reviews for
215
287
22
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We Stayed here for 2 nights with our children. They made up extra camp beds to accommodate us all in one very spacious room. Lots of towels, toiletries provided which was great because normally have to request extra from reception which is a pain. Lady at reception was very friendly at check in. Breakfast was superb, freshly cooked very tasty scrambled egg - yum yum! Plenty of pastries etc on buffet table but all cooked breakfasts prepared freshly. DVD library was very helpful to keep kiddies entertained. The only thing missing was a little fridge in the hotel room, would have been nice to have one especially when travelling with young children.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGirleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Galwaygirleee,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us and that you particurly enjoyed the breakfast, our good selection of toiletries which really added to your experience. We appreciate your feedback on putting a fridge in the room and will certainly take this comment on board when reviewing our room facilities agin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This place is definitely not a 4 star but again you get what you pay for, it's cheap and that gets you pretty much no service!

Check in / reception lady was nice and pleasant to talk with. That's where it sadly stopped! I arrived on a Monday night, in time for the BBQ, they cHarge €10. Which in my my view is far too much, should be more like €5. Reason being you get a hotdog, tiny sausage in hotdog roll, chicken filet piece marinated in salt and a side salads. The choice is very poor and badly presented.

There was zero service while eating and you have to go to the bar yourself while sitting at the table eating, not very service orientated at all...

The room was large with nice bed, but TV was from the 1990's and outdated.

There were stains on the carpet and furniture, didn't even want to know where they came from!

Bathroom was tiny and badly fitted out, as in toilet is in triangle corner and sink almost on top you while in there! Shower is in the bath.

Breakfast- again no service, the elderly lady servicing seems to be selective who she takes orders from, took a family's order next to me, then just walked past me. I along with other solo guests had to litteraly go to where she was to order breakfast. Which was deep fat fried and looked inedible.

Disappointed really as I expected more from Letterkennys number 1 voted hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sawadee_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Sawadee_1

I thank you for your review however I don't feel all off it is justified. Firstly we offer an extensive BBQ which is excellent value for money at €10 for all you can eat, these are not my words but the reviews and testimonials of our many repeat guests who look forward to our summer BBQ each year. As with most BBQ's it is a fun, informal outdoor eating event and therefore it would not be the normal occurance to have a table waiting service for such an informal and relaxed affair however we would be happy to offer this to anyone of our guests, had it been requested as our motto at the Silver Tassie Hotel is nothing is too much trouble!!!

All our televisions are currently being replaced to flat screens and we do systematic cleaning off the carpets but as you can appreciate when they are occupied at busy times it is not an option to inconvenience the guest with deep cleaning.

Our bathrooms and bedrooms are very very spacious so I am mystified about your comments on the small bathroom and I don't feel other readers will learn anything from photographs of a sink that you have filled, as much as we do appreciate guests sharing their images of the Hotel. I can only conclude from your many negative reviews of other properties that you have either been terribley unlucky with you choices or simply use tripadvisor as a way off affecting businesses, the majority of which try their very best to exceed customers expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just stayed at the Silver Tassie for the second time this year. Yet again the experience was excellent. The accommodation was superb in caomaprison to one of the known hotels in Dublin that we stayed in the previous night. The family accommodation is second to none and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Made use of the free entry to the Aura Leisure Centre. The food in the bar at night is of high quality, tasty and is well presented. Altogether the second stay at the hotel lived up to expectations and we will be definitely returning again in the near future. A top class hotel for its size.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billymac2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Billymac2306

We appreciate your great view and in particular it is nice to hear that you enjoyed using the free Aura leisure centre. I am glad you tried out our great bar food and found the accommodation exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

What can I say, absolutely excellent, the hotel was lovely, the bedroom was very spacious and clean, the staff were so pleasant, nothing was too much bother. Would defintely recommend it,

Room Tip: Room 226, excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Elizabath M,

It was our pleasure!! Thank you for your lovely review and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antrim
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel from 4th to 6th July 2012. We were accompanied by 4 other family members and were all there for a wedding on the 5th. From our arrival until we left we were treated very well by staff. Our room was excellent, very clean and with a very comfortable bed.

The breakfasts each morning were very tasty and as someone who enjoys his food the cooked breakfast was delightful.
Congratulations must go to the staff who were involved in the organisation of the wedding we were attending. Everything ran smoothly, the wedding suite was beautifully decorated and we can honestly say the meal at the wedding reception was the best we have ever had.The choice of meals was excellent and to get second helpings of both main courses was a rareity but gladly accepted.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying either one night or a longer period. Its convenience to Letterkenney is a great bonus and only 20 minutes away from the great beach at Port Salon.

Will gladly return here again

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the extractor fans from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mil4bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Mil4bc,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and lovely to hear from a guest that attended a Wedding at the Hotel. Weddings are our speciality and we love hosting the most special day that a couple can have. It is always interesting to hear from a guest as they experience a different view of the day and it sounds like you really enjoyed it so we thank you for the review and hope to welcome you back to the Hotel sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

If ever you plan a trip round this part of Ireland, I strongly recommend that you use the Silver Tassie as your base. The greeting we received at check-in was the warmest (and most sincere) we've ever experienced. Our room was huge, triple aspect with two queen sized beds, and an en-suite equipped with a full bath. In fact, the only slight fault we found was that the bath towels could have been larger, but they were freshly laundered, and changed regularly. An added touch in the room was a folder containing suggested tours, weatherproofed in plastic, which we used over our stay to see places of interest such as Portsalon, the Rathoe standing stones, and Slieve League, the highest marine cliffs in Europe. Breakfast was first rate. Over the years we have learned to judge hotels by the quality of their fruit juice, and the Tassie's orange was fresh indeed. There was an extensive range of hot food, and I can confirm that the kippers were plump and delicious, and the small fry (for those who wimped out of trying the full Irish!) was beautifully presented, and set me up for the sternest of summer weather. A delightful touch was fresh plum jam, and rough marmalade, which complemented the toast prefectly. We never got round to trying the restaurant, as the variety of food on offer in the bar was so good. Here, also, was another surprise. Should you have forgotten your glasses, guests are able to borrow some to read the menu, from a selection kept for just that purpose on the bar itself. On a grander scale, we attended a wedding during our stay. The Tassie catered impeccably with the wedding feast for 160 guests, and we were told by others that they could cope with over 300. Impressive!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Horleylad,

Thank you for the amazing review. We are so delighted that you loved so many things in the Hotel and especially our small extra touches such as the home made jams, freshly squeezed orange juice and plump kippers, it is so nice to know that these things really add to the experience we offer. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,111 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
4.0 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa

Property: Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Address: Ramelton Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa is only a 5 minute drive from the town of Letterkenny and a 15 minute drive from Rathmullan Beach. Renowned for excellent service and award winning food the hotel has everything you need to make your stay memorable including DVD players in the bedrooms and complimentary library of DVD's and books. Sample our specialty Seaweed baths in our Seascape Spa, just one of the many treatments & ways to relax. Golf courses, surfing, walking, horse riding and Glenveagh National, are a short drive from the Hotel. An ideal base to tour the North West Coast with Derry City only 33km away. Free WIFI access throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can avail of complimentary use of the Aura Leisure Centre Swimming Pool which is ten minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Tassie Hotel Letterkenny
Silver Tassie Hotel And Spa
Silver Tassie Letterkenny
Hotel Silver Tassie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing