We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is this number 1 hotel in Letterkenny?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This place is definitely not a 4 star but again you get what you pay for, it's cheap and that gets you pretty much no service!

Check in / reception lady was nice and pleasant to talk with. That's where it sadly stopped! I arrived on a Monday night, in time for the BBQ, they cHarge €10. Which in my my view is far too much, should be more like €5. Reason being you get a hotdog, tiny sausage in hotdog roll, chicken filet piece marinated in salt and a side salads. The choice is very poor and badly presented.

There was zero service while eating and you have to go to the bar yourself while sitting at the table eating, not very service orientated at all...

The room was large with nice bed, but TV was from the 1990's and outdated.

There were stains on the carpet and furniture, didn't even want to know where they came from!

Bathroom was tiny and badly fitted out, as in toilet is in triangle corner and sink almost on top you while in there! Shower is in the bath.

Breakfast- again no service, the elderly lady servicing seems to be selective who she takes orders from, took a family's order next to me, then just walked past me. I along with other solo guests had to litteraly go to where she was to order breakfast. Which was deep fat fried and looked inedible.

Disappointed really as I expected more from Letterkennys number 1 voted hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sawadee_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Sawadee_1

I thank you for your review however I don't feel all off it is justified. Firstly we offer an extensive BBQ which is excellent value for money at €10 for all you can eat, these are not my words but the reviews and testimonials of our many repeat guests who look forward to our summer BBQ each year. As with most BBQ's it is a fun, informal outdoor eating event and therefore it would not be the normal occurance to have a table waiting service for such an informal and relaxed affair however we would be happy to offer this to anyone of our guests, had it been requested as our motto at the Silver Tassie Hotel is nothing is too much trouble!!!

All our televisions are currently being replaced to flat screens and we do systematic cleaning off the carpets but as you can appreciate when they are occupied at busy times it is not an option to inconvenience the guest with deep cleaning.

Our bathrooms and bedrooms are very very spacious so I am mystified about your comments on the small bathroom and I don't feel other readers will learn anything from photographs of a sink that you have filled, as much as we do appreciate guests sharing their images of the Hotel. I can only conclude from your many negative reviews of other properties that you have either been terribley unlucky with you choices or simply use tripadvisor as a way off affecting businesses, the majority of which try their very best to exceed customers expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 798 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just stayed at the Silver Tassie for the second time this year. Yet again the experience was excellent. The accommodation was superb in caomaprison to one of the known hotels in Dublin that we stayed in the previous night. The family accommodation is second to none and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Made use of the free entry to the Aura Leisure Centre. The food in the bar at night is of high quality, tasty and is well presented. Altogether the second stay at the hotel lived up to expectations and we will be definitely returning again in the near future. A top class hotel for its size.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billymac2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Billymac2306

We appreciate your great view and in particular it is nice to hear that you enjoyed using the free Aura leisure centre. I am glad you tried out our great bar food and found the accommodation exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

What can I say, absolutely excellent, the hotel was lovely, the bedroom was very spacious and clean, the staff were so pleasant, nothing was too much bother. Would defintely recommend it,

Room Tip: Room 226, excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Elizabath M,

It was our pleasure!! Thank you for your lovely review and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel from 4th to 6th July 2012. We were accompanied by 4 other family members and were all there for a wedding on the 5th. From our arrival until we left we were treated very well by staff. Our room was excellent, very clean and with a very comfortable bed.

The breakfasts each morning were very tasty and as someone who enjoys his food the cooked breakfast was delightful.
Congratulations must go to the staff who were involved in the organisation of the wedding we were attending. Everything ran smoothly, the wedding suite was beautifully decorated and we can honestly say the meal at the wedding reception was the best we have ever had.The choice of meals was excellent and to get second helpings of both main courses was a rareity but gladly accepted.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying either one night or a longer period. Its convenience to Letterkenney is a great bonus and only 20 minutes away from the great beach at Port Salon.

Will gladly return here again

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the extractor fans from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mil4bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Mil4bc,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and lovely to hear from a guest that attended a Wedding at the Hotel. Weddings are our speciality and we love hosting the most special day that a couple can have. It is always interesting to hear from a guest as they experience a different view of the day and it sounds like you really enjoyed it so we thank you for the review and hope to welcome you back to the Hotel sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

If ever you plan a trip round this part of Ireland, I strongly recommend that you use the Silver Tassie as your base. The greeting we received at check-in was the warmest (and most sincere) we've ever experienced. Our room was huge, triple aspect with two queen sized beds, and an en-suite equipped with a full bath. In fact, the only slight fault we found was that the bath towels could have been larger, but they were freshly laundered, and changed regularly. An added touch in the room was a folder containing suggested tours, weatherproofed in plastic, which we used over our stay to see places of interest such as Portsalon, the Rathoe standing stones, and Slieve League, the highest marine cliffs in Europe. Breakfast was first rate. Over the years we have learned to judge hotels by the quality of their fruit juice, and the Tassie's orange was fresh indeed. There was an extensive range of hot food, and I can confirm that the kippers were plump and delicious, and the small fry (for those who wimped out of trying the full Irish!) was beautifully presented, and set me up for the sternest of summer weather. A delightful touch was fresh plum jam, and rough marmalade, which complemented the toast prefectly. We never got round to trying the restaurant, as the variety of food on offer in the bar was so good. Here, also, was another surprise. Should you have forgotten your glasses, guests are able to borrow some to read the menu, from a selection kept for just that purpose on the bar itself. On a grander scale, we attended a wedding during our stay. The Tassie catered impeccably with the wedding feast for 160 guests, and we were told by others that they could cope with over 300. Impressive!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Horleylad,

Thank you for the amazing review. We are so delighted that you loved so many things in the Hotel and especially our small extra touches such as the home made jams, freshly squeezed orange juice and plump kippers, it is so nice to know that these things really add to the experience we offer. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Have just come back from the hotel, out room was 201, with a large stain in front of the beds, not a good start. We were next to the spa and the noise comming from there during the night kept us awake, also the noises from, I presume the bar staff clearing up and draging chairs around the room didn't help. Stupidly we didn't complain the next morning, we thought that it was a one off but no, the next night the spa noises were back. We did complain the next morning but from the expression of the receptionist i doubt if anything was investigated. We did enjoy the B.B.Q on Monday night but the hotel was dead on Tuesday, where did everyone go, I expect to their rooms to watch T.V. (you can do this at home). The food was good but dont think we will be back, disappointing.

Room Tip: Dont get room 201 , it is for disabled people but sleep would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tyzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Hi Tyzack,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear that it was not all that you expected. From time to time people do spill things on the carpets and we regularly have carpet cleaners come into do deep cleans, it was indeed the case in your room and the spill was scheduled to be cleaned several days after your departured. It is always our priority to have rooms cleaned as quickly as possible should any soiling arise but at peak times of year this is not always possible.

The spa does not open beyond the scheduled late opening nights of 8pm so any noise you would have heard would not have come from there. When this was brought to our attention we offered to move you to another room but you declined. This is a small family run hotel and we rarely experience noise problems however at busy times of year people do tend to come and go from their rooms more often and socialising is a large part of the Holiday experience for some families therefore an acceptable level of noise is reasonable and to be expected during busy times.

We do feel that we did everything we could to make your stay enjoyable and hope that you will come back to us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a place,after a very long drive,we were greeted by three angels,checking us in,we totally forgot our journey.The room was a cracker,bathroom was hugh,the bed was devine,the tv had all the soaps,very important to my wife,the bar was cosy,the food was fantastic,we had the the set menu @ 25 euro for four courses which was great value.The staff throughout this hotel were first class and I would say,that as a group,[in all my years of travel and that is many,] they are the tops.When we were checking out,we were not looking foreward to our long drive home,the receptionest was so nice we forgot all troubles and had a lovely drive home.
Letterkenny is a lovely place with a fantastic place with lots of shops for the girls

Room Tip: you will have a lovely time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank referee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascapespa, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Referee,

Thank you for your lovely comments and the heading off your review is great!! I am delighted you picked up on our famous Donegal welcome, which is something we really do pride ourselves on! We do indeed offer a great value menu of four courses for €25 which is has a very extensive selection so I am over the moon that you enjoyed it, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 13 in Letterkenny
1,177 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 13 in Letterkenny
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 13 in Letterkenny
400 reviews
4 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa

Address: Ramelton Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $96 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa is only a 5 minute drive from the town of Letterkenny and a 15 minute drive from Rathmullan Beach. Renowned for excellent service and award winning food the hotel has everything you need to make your stay memorable including DVD players in the bedrooms and complimentary library of DVD's and books. Sample our specialty Seaweed baths in our Seascape Spa, just one of the many treatments & ways to relax. Golf courses, surfing, walking, horse riding and Glenveagh National, are a short drive from the Hotel. An ideal base to tour the North West Coast with Derry City only 33km away. Free WIFI access throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can avail of complimentary use of the Aura Leisure Centre Swimming Pool which is ten minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Tassie Hotel And Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel Letterkenny
Silver Tassie Letterkenny
Hotel Silver Tassie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing