We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solved our winter blues! Wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the Silver Tassie during a snow storm over dec 09 which forced us to stay indoors. It was no troubles tho, there is a gorgeous rustic bar attached to the hotel and dvd hire for your room. A lovely cosy hotel with fantastic and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbuggedaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 777 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel has left an average impression on me. It had some positive and negative features. Let's start with the bad. You are not that close to Letterkenny, I would be well impressed if you can do that on a walking trip, second, we had some plumbing issue's that were only temporarily fixed. The positive side is that the view from the lobby is really nice, there is dvd player in each room and the breakfast has a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bibabever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have stayed here twice and travelled to it just for the sunday carvery! We had the same room on both occasions somehow, it was very big (think possibly a family room?) at the front of the hotel and very comfortable. I like that there are dvd players and films available.
We enjoyed the room service for breakfast and the food was good and delivered warm - so often cooked breakfasts are luke warm by the time they are brought to you, but this was good service!
The sunday Carvery is to die for! Fantastic value for money and very good food and service! We love it!
The bar food is also very good and value for money.
Overall the hotel is a little 'tired'?? It is nice and comfortable and staff are very friendly - just on both occasions we stayed there were children's parties going on and disco and alot of children running around the hotel, mainly unsupervised so not the most relaxing experience but still a very nice break away.
The location is not the best, not alot close at hand and would be expensive to get into town for a night out but if you only want a few drinks in the bar then it is fine.
No complaints, but still rate hotel as average overall, however I do recommend to friends for a wee night away or a great carvery if they are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The hotel is typical of rural Ireland - it is a little dated and old fashioned with small rooms and CRT TVs with a handful of terrestrial channels - absolutely nothing fancy. But it was very clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly. We had a problem with a toilet not flushing correctly when we checked in and it was fixed straight away, but reoccurred shortly after and wasn't fixed properly at all over our stay. The food in the restaurant was good, though dessert was far from elegant. It was perfect for our purposes (a one night stay) but I didn't leave with the feeling that I would like to spend a lot of time there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca_RGC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had a really wonderful experience at the Silver Tassie. We arrived to be met by a very friendly receptionist and were checked in within a matter of minutes. Rooms were ready on arrival and were extremely spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom. Very difficult to find hotels offering family rooms but Silver Tassie not only cater for the family, but provide proper beds for the children and not sofa beds as is the case with so many hotels. Our bedroom faced the road but you could not hear the traffic. Food was excellent - plenty of variety for breakfast, afternoon tea in the conservatory was relaxing and the bar food in the evening was very tasty and catered for everyone's taste including the children. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is ideally situated for exploring surrounding area. Children well catered for with DVD library and a variety of TV channels to choose from. Can't wait to go back for return visit.

Room Tip: We had a family room with 2 double beds and a single bed. This was ideal for our family of 4 and was...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billymac2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a wonderful couple of days in the Silver Tassie , we had booked a midweek break and were lucky bth with the weather and the hotel . On arrival we where met with instant service at the reception with a warm and welcoming lady who booked us in with ease and directed us to our room in minutes. The room was warm and the bed comfy breakfast was great and again service top notch and friendly and professional. Evening meal in the bar again efficent service and tasty fare , we will be back for more

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Lough Swilly
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Just back from this hotel. First impressions were ok but after checking in, we went to the lift to find these notices to say if we brought outside food or drink to the room we will be asked to leave the hotel. We found this a bit too much and were worried we could have been asked to leave for bringing a btl of wine to our room. Also the toilet plumbing made a massive sound on two occasions which lasted for 5 minutes, Just as well we never went to the loo in the night. We'd of woke the other guests. The bed was a standard dbl which I expected to be king in a 4 star hotel. There was a stain on the net curtains also. To put the slieve donard in Newcastle in the same league as this is a joke.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slaw3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
3.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,143 reviews
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.7 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,277 reviews
4.0 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa

Address: Ramelton Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $127 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa is only a 5 minute drive from the town of Letterkenny and a 15 minute drive from Rathmullan Beach. Renowned for excellent service and award winning food the hotel has everything you need to make your stay memorable including DVD players in the bedrooms and complimentary library of DVD's and books. Sample our specialty Seaweed baths in our Seascape Spa, just one of the many treatments & ways to relax. Golf courses, surfing, walking, horse riding and Glenveagh National, are a short drive from the Hotel. An ideal base to tour the North West Coast with Derry City only 33km away. Free WIFI access throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can avail of complimentary use of the Aura Leisure Centre Swimming Pool which is ten minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Tassie Hotel Letterkenny
Silver Tassie Hotel And Spa
Silver Tassie Letterkenny
Hotel Silver Tassie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing