We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our one stay at the Silver Tassie Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was a one night visit and we paid the extra for a superior room and it was well worth the money it was 1st class, we have stayed at this hotel a few times and it and it has some very good offers.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 784 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

What can I say,.....From the minute you walk in the door, you are made feel so welcome.
We have been coming to the Silver Tassie for many years,.....maybe four times per year. We are in our early 60's,... we sometimes come here alone,.....sometimes with our children,..... and with our grand children. So we have an all round experience.

The moment you arrive at reception you are greeted usually by Yvonne, Cathy or Selina, who are most welcoming. After settling in our most comfortable room, we would normally go and have our celebrated "Cream Tea" (a Tassie treat!!!), We always have our meals in the hotel,sometimes bar food, sometimes silver service, the menu for both are equally brilliant, and the food experience is second to none. At night we usually end up in the bar at some stage Gary and Kieran never take their eye of the ball, between seeing that the meals are served promptly, and making sure your glass is never empty, all this is done with friendly Irish banter. The breakfasts are Mmmmmm everything you would want,....and still some more the lady in the Dining Room at breakfast, (Heather/Hilary) is an absolute gem.

A very quaint touch, is a large dresser just off the main reception on the way to the lift, with the usual maps and lists of things to do in the area,.....BUT they have a system whereby people leave books they have finished reading,....so when you forget to pack your book,......fear not, there will be something there to please you.

The Spa is in a world of its own,.....calm, relaxing, spotless,......a real haven,.... a real indulgence.


RESIDENTIAL ROOM FOR FAMILIES????
Perhaps a room could be made available for families with children under 9 years some soft toys, books,games and seats for the parents to supervise their children(I am not being critical,.....it is just an idea)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foyle1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Having being covering Donegal for the last decade or so,as a company representative,decided to stay in the silver tassie hotel for a change.Top marks for this hotel as being part of the Select Hotel group,it is obvious as soon as you walk in the door,the management work hard at making you feel at home.The Relaxed atmosphere,the pleasant and professional staff,nice decor,excellent food,great pint of Guinness and comfortable bed and the freshly cooked breakfast in the morning all combined to make my first stay in the Tassie not the last .Highly Reccomended.Damien (Leitrim)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Went here for my hen party, and had a great experience of both the hotel and spa.
Package was great value and included, room, 4 course meal, breakfast and 2 mini escape spa treatments.
Rooms were great size, had everything you need in them and were very clean. The staff in the hotel were more than helpful and the food was brilliant. Even though there was a large group of us, and a wedding and a birthday party, our food was served quickly and was delicious!
The spa was the real highlight of the weekend though. The atmosphere of the spa, and the staff were perfect, with everyone thoroughly enjoying their treatments.
Hotel is a 10 minute journey out of Letterkenny town, but well worth the €12 taxi fair!
Would highly recommend this hotel, especially the spa. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L001C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is certainly a great place to stay, not only because of the hotel 'ambience', but also because of the unique attitude of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, from changing our room, to the great attention in the dining room at breakfast. Food is five star and service is excellent. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We chose the Silver Tassie because we were visiting friends in the area, saw a great online deal (£55 per room for bed and breakfast) and wanted to try out the Seascape Spa.
The hotel is easy to find, right on the main Letterkenny to Ramelton road and well located to drive to some of the most scenic spots in Ireland. It's around 20 minutes drive away from the lovely village of Rathmullan and all the beautiful beaches of that area. However, it is on the main road so anyone expecting rooms with a view of the Donegal coastline will be disappointed.
The service was exceptional throughout. We particularly noticed Declan the waiter in the restaurant. Our room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. We also availed of the DVD library - it's a 10 euro deposit but you can take out a few at a time. We travelled as a couple but if you have kids, I saw signs for 'cinema' nights for the children to give parents some time alone.
We had the three course meal for 25 euro per person in the restaurant and would particularly recommend the seabass and the garlic mushrooms.
The hotel started off as a pub and the bar is still very much the heart of the restaurant. There are darts, big screen TVs showing the rugby/golf/whatever sport is going on at the time.
The spa is good but needs some help on the organisation front. The treatment I had was absolute bliss (Indian head massage) but it was very difficult to get through to anyone to book it in advance. I emailed, left an answering phone message and received no reply to either attempt. Then when I finally got it booked, the staff ended up double booking me and I had to change my slot. When I arrived, I was left in the cocoon room so long I thought I was going to metamorphose! Fortunately the treatment was worth all the hassle beforehand.
I don't think I would be rushing back because it's not really the type of hotel I go for - I think it is targetted at older couples or familes but I would recommend this hotel if you get a good deal.
If you are set on going to the spa, book it well in advance.

Room Tip: The rooms either look out on to a busy road or to the back of the hotel. Ask for a rear facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-Dog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverTassie, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear D-dog,

I am glad you have so many positive things to say about this Hotel, this really keeps staff morale up to know that you enjoyed the good service, the room & our extensive dvd library.

I have passed on your comments to our Spa Manager regarding your booking and we will look into this to ensure there is not a repeat of it. Relaxation is a very important part of our spa experience therefore we do not like to rush any of our guests relaxation time in our cocoon or snooze room however if it very much a personal thing and you may have preferred a shorter time. That aside we are delighted you enjoyed your spa experience and found the treatment very enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I would recommend to book a suite if you can the rooms are amazing . Nice staff excellent food only shame is that they do not have pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverTassie, Manager at Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Hi Siof,

Thanks for your great review. It is much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
3.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
378 reviews
4.0 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa

Address: Ramelton Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $78 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa is only a 5 minute drive from the town of Letterkenny and a 15 minute drive from Rathmullan Beach. Renowned for excellent service and award winning food the hotel has everything you need to make your stay memorable including DVD players in the bedrooms and complimentary library of DVD's and books. Sample our specialty Seaweed baths in our Seascape Spa, just one of the many treatments & ways to relax. Golf courses, surfing, walking, horse riding and Glenveagh National, are a short drive from the Hotel. An ideal base to tour the North West Coast with Derry City only 33km away. Free WIFI access throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can avail of complimentary use of the Aura Leisure Centre Swimming Pool which is ten minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Tassie Hotel Letterkenny
Silver Tassie Hotel And Spa
Silver Tassie Letterkenny
Hotel Silver Tassie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing