We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service but food a let down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Sage

Restaurant Sage
Ranked #4 of 110 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $38
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sage aims to serve local bought produce from the wonderful areas surrounding Letterkenny, in Donegal. We have a contemporary feel with a relaxed and vibrant ambiance. Every dish is cooked from fresh and to your liking. We are able to cater for all sorts of tastes and dietary needs and our staff are always delighted to talk to new and returning customers about our menu. Our Chef hails from Mexico and we can offer fine imported Mexican ingredients, when ordered in advance. We enjoy our restaurant and certainly hope you do also.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service but food a let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

After seeing all the great comments on here thaught we'd give it a go a group of 4 went, the service was good very well looked after but the food was much a let down for what they perceive there great produce but poorly put together by the chefs, exspected alot more, sides came out with the meal and on the plates, veg in the bowls full of water what dose it take to drain the veg ,cold mash no seasoning on most of it the chutney for brie tasted like vinegar the brie its self seemed it was cooked from frozen cold chicken served on more cold mash with poor carrot puree etc steak was over cooked pork belly tasting off/old honey comb bunt and still mixed through the icecream to pass it off sticky toffee pudding basic I could keep going on about the food!, again though service was good very attentive and lots of complimentary drinks etc maybe to cover up the poor food.

Helpful?
Thank Orlaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    36
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Well after seeing all the good reviews on this restaurant and how nice the prawn brie starter is, I had to go, booked a table tonight set menu and thats all which my prawn brie starter not there the complementary soup bread was gorgeous, my steak was cooked right,,

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ellavin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan
1 review
“Holiday meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We as a family booked Sage after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We are particlar about our restaurant and expect good quality. Sage didn't disappoint. Prawns and Brie as starters. Excellent. Lamb, chicken and pizza as main. Excellent. Cheese, pudding and crumble for dessert. Very good. Staff friendly. Chef visited our table and wanted to know what. We thought. Genuine people. Hope it goes really well for them. Will visit again when in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank acreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranorlar, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A kitchen that can actually cater for dietary requirements”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I ate here on a Friday night in January and had a wonderful experience. The minute you walk in the ambiance is calm and welcoming! Garbhan the owner is just wonderful! Takes the time to come say hello to the guests and ensure everything is ok with their meal. I am a kitchens nightmare- allergic to dairy- and normally feel really awkward and a pain when ordering food but Garbhan made me very comfortable in ordering. All food is actually cooked to order, nothing is sitting premixed/made so every dish can be specifically tailored to a persons requirements. I had duck spring rolls to begin with...to die for! My partner had the scallops equally amazing. We then had steak and duck dishes! Well it was one of the nicest juciest steaks I have ever had. No need for any gravy or seasoning. HUGE bonus in that the wines are very competitively priced. We shared a lovely Australian Shiraz for only €18!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMarie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food and attentive staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great food with lots of choice for vegetarians. I highly recommend the sticky toffee pudding! Very attentive staff. Great value for money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Sage also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Restaurant Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing