We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstandingl”

Portsalon Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

From the minute we piled off our bus we were greeted warmly by the staff and caddies.
A great afternoon of golf with some terrific caddies / shout out to Kevin, James and the jokster
We topped it off with a drink at the nearby pub and headed home.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank timbG2863BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"links course"
in 10 reviews
"great links"
in 4 reviews
"carne"
in 2 reviews
"sunday lunch"
in 3 reviews
"challenging holes"
in 2 reviews
"port salon"
in 2 reviews
"stunning views"
in 2 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"clubhouse"
in 13 reviews
"courses"
in 8 reviews
"rosapenna"
in 6 reviews
"ballyliffin"
in 6 reviews
"caddies"
in 3 reviews
"par"
in 4 reviews
"tee"
in 3 reviews
"captain"
in 4 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2017

We played Portsalon on Sept. 22, 2017 located on the Fanad Peninsula, founded in 1891, and the course is one of the founder member of the Golfing Union of Ireland, the Oldest golf union in the world. While there, we saw the Barton Cup, representing the oldest match play tournament in Ireland that started in 1899. Mr. Barton founded Portsalon. We met Martin Blaney, Club Captain of Portsalon. Paul McGinley is offering his services to tune up this course originally designed by Charles Thompson, the Portrush professional, and tuned up by Pat Ruddy, architect of the famed European Club, Ballyliffin Glashedy, Druids Glen & Heath and Rosapenna Sandyhills. An interesting layout, good value for money.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Played here today after being let down by a couple of courses due to very bad weather. Being a links course, the drainage is excellent. What I didn't bargain for was the views, which are some of the best you'll find anywhere, and the course itself. Every single hole has something to think about without it being unfair. The condition of the course was fantastic given the recent weather. The second hole is one of the best looking golf holes anywhere in the world. It was a fantastic surprise to play this and I will definitely be back next time I'm in Ireland.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank HibeeMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017

Called on spec for lunch. we were offered a table and welcomed in to the bar. We had a good lunch. Great prices and huge portions of typical golf-club food. Very tasty, well presented and good value.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017

We love this place. Alas have not been here for years. The course is truly magnificent as is the scenery. The beach has to be seen to be believed. Lovely friendly people and great food in club house. What more could you want?!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Rolande A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsalon Golf Club also viewed

County Donegal, Ireland
Narin-Portnoo, County Donegal
 
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Portsalon Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing