We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropical world

Tropical world
Ranked #3 of 28 things to do in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a must I loved it so did all the family highlight for me was holding the snake the butterfly house was great and seeing all the different birds on show was nice staff excellent you wouldn't think when you pull into a garden centre you would get this keep up the great work thanks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1955sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    39
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
279 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great place! Definitely did not expect it to be so extensive when we chose to go here. Thought it would just be butterflies but the range of animals and birds here is fantastic. Definitely recommend it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BNM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This mini zoo is incredible!!! Unfortunately it is difficult to hear about! There are all sorts of animals and the butterflys are incredible in their heated area. Children will love this place. Great for a family day out as there is facilities so you can bring your own food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kizzy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stop here!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a place that no one seemed to know about but is absolutely superb. I think the fact it advertises itself as a "garden centre" says it all. We were in Letterkenny and looking for something family orientated to do and I saw the sign and thought to take a look. I walked in past all the plants and garden furniture for sale and followed the signs for the Tropical Zoo. Not expecting much I have to say. 25 euros for family of 4 seemed a bit steep so I asked the receptionist what there was in the Zoo. It all sounded very good and there was a "petting session" just about to start.
We were all very impressed with this place as there is a butterly house, a number of small monkeys, meerkats, turtles, snakes, tropical birds, lemurs, iguanas to name a few. We also got to hold a Royal Python and stroke a real live skunk!
It is a must visit and it is all indoor so could fit the bill as a wet day adventure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenwjwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great little place for a wet day”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lots of effort made here with a wide range of tropical bird, snakes, reptiles etc. Well worth going to. I brought my 3 year old who got handle a giant millipede and a snake!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank niallgRoscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical world also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Clonmany, County Donegal
 

Been to Tropical world? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing