We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking at its best”

The Poppyseed Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Letterkenny
Cuisines: French, Indian, Italian, Thai
Restaurant details
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home cooking at its best”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I went to the Poppyseed Bakery during the week for the first time with my wife and two daughters. There was a wide variety of food to pick from on the menu and the staff were very friendly. The homemade wheaten bread in particular was delicious and my wife loved the sun dried tomato and goat cheese quiche. I would definitely go back again and would recommend it if you are looking to treat yourself or for a healthy option at a reasonable price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poppyseed baker... S, Owner at The Poppyseed Bakery, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Hi ,
Glad you enjoyed your meal ,we take a lot of care to do homemade fresh dishes daily,hope to see you again,
Regards
Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greyabbey, Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely lunch the staff were very friendly and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AC-FCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poppyseedbakery S, Owner at The Poppyseed Bakery, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your visit, hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Keen prices”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The food is superb and there is always a good variety. The home baking is divine. The Poppyseed really is a hidden gem and a meal here costs a fraction of the cost of the other places in the town. Very highly recommended! Lovely staff!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank L1ttleM1ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poppyseed baker... S, Owner at The Poppyseed Bakery, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Glad you liked our menu we try to be reasonable in price so everyone can come and enjoy some home made food.
Regards
Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A cosy retreat from the storm”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We visited the garden centre with my 4 week old son and unfortunately got caught in a thunder storm so had to take refuge in the cafe for tea. The staff were very friendly and although we only wanted a hot drink there was a good selection of food (hot & cold) on offer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chick74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"just like Mum used to make :-)"”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Visited relatives in Donegal arranged to meet here for coffee, 3 hours later, fantastic lunch and amazing home made dessert we didn't want to leave the place! It was very busy and we took a table fr a lot longer than we should have but we were made to feel welcome n comfortable banana cake Devine we bought some to take home too. Highly recommend n definately will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank misscheeky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poppyseed baker... S, Owner at The Poppyseed Bakery, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
anytime our aim is to please
regards
joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poppyseed Bakery also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to The Poppyseed Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing