We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly fare for foodies”
Review of the ferrygate - CLOSED

the ferrygate
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: recently opened, a party of 7 dined last friday and enjoyed a superb meal. fresh dover sole and turbot, on the bone beautifully presented.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly fare for foodies”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Well presented plates, friendly service, and a willingness to produce food to suit all palates, including hard to please teenagers. Very pleasantly surprised. Hard to get a table without booking at weekend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEOFF W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Co Antrim
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We found this little restaurant by chance. Did not have a booking but noticed everyone else seemed to have booked in advance - so take heed!. We enjoyed a superb dinner from an exciting menu

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EB512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little hidden gem in Donegal!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Once again I must highly commend Ronnie & Caroline & their dedicated team for another 1st class meal. From beginning to end it was a fabulous dining experience even when accompanied by our 3 energetic &fussy kids. Nothing was too much trouble. Our waitress cara was as always delightful, our wine waiter extremely helpful in his recommendations, food was superb & went beyond the necessary in every way! If u ever have the opportunity to visit this heavenly village of rathmullan in donegal be sure to visit the ferry gate for a gastromical delight!!u will not be disappointed! Karen flanagan

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yummumIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

my first visit to this restaurant under the current owners,food was very good,disappointing that the fish choice was only wild seatrout(out of hake) no other,the service was very good on a quiet night, but overall well worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Same as The Ferry Gate”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Probably the same restaurant as The Ferry Gate, Rathmullan.
A very good place: don't miss the reviews available under the other name.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank akhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the ferrygate also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing