We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not four star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Positives: friendly accommodating staff, good sized room and comfortable beds. Negatives: very poor food quality made more palatable by the friendly wait staff, conference refreshments poor.
Surprised it was awarded four stars and some culinary award.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tadgh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny on trip advisor.

We are disappointed to read that overall you did not enjoy your stay with us especially as you will see from other delegates who attended the conference spoke very highly of the hotel and the areas that you felt were poor. I can assure you the hotels AA Rosette Award in Culinary Excellence is well deserved as the quality of food and standard of service is second to none in Letterkenny which is why the hotel receives compliments time and time again on the food served however we are always happy to receive all feedback and have taken yours on board.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice clean hotel but would not say 4 star more 3 star very little warm water in the bathroom hand basin in the morning and there was no heat on. When we ask we were told it would be coming on it never did.. Staff very nice...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleendBallycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are pleased that you found the hotel and staff to be nice however I would like to apologise for the shortcomings in service that you received in relation to the heating and hot water. I can assure you that the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny does achieve and maintain the high standards of the 4 star award and this is why we are the only 4 star hotel in Letterkenny town.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

stayed here for a weekend with my other half. the hotel was lovely and the staff couldnt help you out more. the beds were really cosy. the hotel is in a good location and there is a cinema at the end of the street and loads of shops right across the road so you can go and spend all your money :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us, your feedback is greatly appreciated as we always strive to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay from the moment they arrive and we are delighted that on this occasion we met your expectations. The hotel’s location is ideal whether you are shopping, taking a stroll through Letterkenny or touring the North West of Ireland.

Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback, we look forward to welcoming you both back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Comfortable, modern hotel. Staff professional and helpful.
Good breakfast and bar menu. Albeit located within retail park, easy to access and shops walkable ..
Lots of choices for eating out with plenty of local pubs. Easy to plan day trips around Donegal from letterkenny, staff happy to help. Relaxing stay .. hope to return

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank convoykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay on trip advisor, it is greatly appreciated.

We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and it has made our day to see that you hope to return. Our priority here at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny is to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and we are delighted to see that we have delivered on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

just returned from a few days break in Ireland and stayed at the Radisson.This is the third time I've stayed there and have always found it to be very clean.The staff are very friendly and the food is superb.Our room was spacious and well furnished.Situated in the heart of Letterkenny,it is a very good base for tourists.I would definitely stay here on any future visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

Your wonderful comments and feedback have really made our day. We are delighted to read that you find the staff to be friendly and the food to be superb along with the hotels amenities. We strive each and every day to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and we really are over the moon that we have met your expectations and that you will be back again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here towards the end of August for 5 days. On arrival we were checked in efficiently, but on entering the room realised there was no air-conditioning, the bathroom extractor fan didnt work, so we asked to be moved and were, though we were informed that in standard rooms, there is no air-conditioning in the room. I know it is Ireland but a 4 star hotel without air-conditioning as standard - is pretty basic nowadays to have it. However, the extractor fan in the bathroom again didn't work and there was what seemed to be a strong stench of urine. Again I trundled down to reception and Niall apologised and upgraded us to a business class room. Eureka - bathroom extractor fan that worked! And to boot there was air-conditioning.
We both had a good night sleep, though her indoors, the following morning was like a 'drunk' trying to get out of bed. She looked under the mattress and low and behold her part of the bed was broke! So the hotel quickly sorted this little issue.
Part of the hotel deal included meals on two evenings. On both nights the meals were of a decent standard. Breakfast while self-service, with the exception of coffee and toast being brought to the table, is pretty good. The staff in the restaurant both in the evening and at breakfast were pleasant and helpful. Staff in the hotel in general are very courteous, up for a bit of craic and conversation and are a credit to the hotel.
Outside of the few mishaps at the beginning the rooms are spotless and kept immaculate. A bonus for me was to find out they have modernised some of the gym equipment, which was great, as her indoors could go to the shopping mall across the road, while I tried to lose different sort of pounds.
All in all a very pleasant say and it is my better 'alf's fave hotel in all of the island of Ireland. And to be fair it is all down to the staff. My concern is that the small mishaps we encountered at the start need looked into and that the hotel updates constantly and doesn't run down - that would be a shame.
Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Hopefully they will put air-conditioning in all rooms - if not pay a bit extra and go for business c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theblackwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found the overall experience that you enjoyed to be down to the hotels staff. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any shortcomings you received in the bedroom standard but in relation to air-conditioning is only available in business class rooms and not a 4* hotel standard requirement in Ireland for all bedrooms to have but we will certainly take your feedback on board and greatly appreciate it.

We are over the moon to read that your partner consider us to be here favourite hotel, that is a wondering honour to have.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in the radisson last Thursday night 3rd October after travelling for nearly 5hours I arrived after work at 8.55pm only to be told at reception that the only food I could order was on the 24 hour menu which was a very small choice I was really disappointed after the journey I had just taken and when room service arrived it was disgusting and I could not eat it. I have just started a course in letterkenny it and will be staying in letterkenny. Every few months for the next 2years but I will definitely not be staying in the radisson. Also when I entered the room all the tiles in the roof at the entrance were all pushed up into the roof

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us on your recent visit to Letterkenny. The bar and restaurant in the hotel finish serving food at 9pm each evening, this is a standard in many hotels in Ireland however we do offer an extensive room service menu that is available 24 hours. Unfortunately, there is no record of your feedback on your disappointment regarding the food received in our records, we always strive for each of our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us and if we had been made aware of your feedback during your stay we would have been delighted to offer you a replacement meal.

If you would like to contact me in relation to your feedback please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We do hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future as you will see from previous reviews our guests very much enjoy their experience of the hotel and return time and time again.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.3 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
385 reviews
3.8 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Address: Paddy Harte Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $79 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny is designed in a contemporary Irish style, with the comfort of both business and leisure guests in mind. The superior 4-star hotel features 114 modern, bright bedrooms, a restaurant, bar, grill, leisure centre, ample parking and complimentary high speed internet access. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Letterkenny town, within walking distance of shopping areas, cinema, theatre, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny Hotel Letterkenny
Radisson Hotel Letterkenny
Radisson Letterkenny
Radisson Sas Letterkenny
Letterkenny Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing