We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unsatisfactory check in and out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unsatisfactory check in and out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

After a long journey, the reception was cursory and brusque. There was no recognition of my Carlson Club status at check in and the information given was little and what was provided rushed. I asked to pay in euros. It is a considerable disadvantage for me to pay in sterling, and I don't ask the hotel to act as a currency converter agent.The room was of a good size and clean; there was no shower gel. The following day no shower gel or shampoo was left in the bathroom and the coffee supply was not replenished. A telephone call however quickly corrected this. The hotel has a good swimming pool, gym facilities and a sauna suite. The breakfast had a wide range of hot and cold foods and was served in an attractive dining room. On check out my request to pay in euros resulted in my paying in sterling - apparently I had not pressed the right button, and of course it was my fault, not the fact that clear instructions were not provided. Undoubtedly it is a good hotel to stay in being in the centre of Letterkenny, but if you want to pay in euros, ensure that they make sure you have pressed the right button.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marks069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    303
    147
    50
    43
See reviews for
228
472
37
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Took my family here for Sunday lunch.
Staff couldn't be more helpful, service was great and the food was yummy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions. The rooms are a good size with huge, comfortable beds. It's in the centre of the town too, which is a bonus, and just across the road from a large selection of shops & the cinema.

The Leisure centre is very nice and well kept.

Breakfast is well prepared, and though a buffet-style operation, nothing ever tastes dry or overcooked. The bar serves good quality food (thai chicken noodles are particularly good!!), and has a nice atmosphere. I didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that.

There is always someone at reception (you'd be amazed with the number of hotels in the area where it's impossible to find a staff member at reception).

My one issue with the hotel though, is that their room rates seem to be quite a bit higher than other hotels in the town (nearly twice the price in some cases), and I'm not convinced that they truly justify that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank odwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson4, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you ODwyer for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Letterkenny, it is always good to receive good honest feedback for other reviewers to read and get an accurate discription of our hotel and also Letterkenny as a destination.
In response to your issue regarding out rate being higher than other hotels in town we feel this is justified as we are the only Four Star Hotel in Letterkenny and we are always re investing back into our hotel and as a Radisson Blu Hotel it is important that we maintain our standards at all times for the reputation of our hotel and the comfort of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind regards
Elaine McIntyre
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel is so easy to get to. It has a great selection of shops right across the road from it too if you are looking for a shopping break. We used it as a base for touring Donegal, and was great as within a few minutes we were out on any of the main roads.
The staff here were lovely, very friendly and helpfu in all areas. Check in was swift and easy. The bedroom was spacious, and spotlessly clean. The room was made up each day - we were there for 4 days over a long weekend.The bathroom had the standard toiletires - shower cap, shower cream and conditioner. The shower was amazing, lovely and powerful. The towels were fluffy and soft. There is an iron, hair dryer, and plenty of hangers and storage in the room. The TV had a good selection of channels including radio stations. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room also. The mini bar is not stocked but can be if you want it to be. The fridge is handy for water etc though too. They offer a turn down service, but we didnt use this.
The leisure centre was lovely. The pool was large, and perfect depth (think it was 1.3M) Again very clean (I am a bit of a clean freak :) ) The changing rooms have three showers, and are nice and warm after getting out of the pool ( water is luke warm ) There are hair dryers available in the changing rooms, and also a wheelchair accessible loo. One thing to mention though is the steps down into the pool - they are attached to the side of the pool, and the pool is all one depth, so there is no gradual inrease in depth anywhere in the pool. It wasnt an issue for me, and I am sure they have a way around these steps if needs be. Again the staff are great so just ask.
The restaurant - we only had breakfast here - but it was lovely. There was a great selection readily available and if you dont see something you want, ask and chances are they will have it, or be able to get it for you. There is a vast selection of fruit, cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, sauses etc. It is a buffet breakfast so help yourself. Very tasty.
The bar is lovely and relaxing, with lots of comy seating, and tehre are seats outside for the warmer weather.
We will definitely return here again, thanks to everyone for making our few days away so nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wexbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson4, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you so kindly for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Letterkenny, it is fantastic to read such an honest and detailed account of your stay with us. All of our staff are trained in Yes I Can service attributes and this is truly reflected in your feedback.
We most definatly look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Letterkenny when your travels allow
Kind regards
Elaine McIntyre
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Absolutely fantastic hotel. The staff were amazing: friendly, helpful and very nice. The food in the Tribeca restaurant was just superb. Top Class Hotel, at a very good price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unclevass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson4, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you Dkkeeling for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Letterkenny. It is excellent to hear your feedback about our food in TriBeCa Restaurant as we were recently awarded an AA Rosette for culinary excellence
We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels allow
Kind regards
Elaine McIntyre
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
917 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Very nice newly refurbished
Need it
Got the last room on the floor
They always make non smokers walk the furthest in all hotels !!!!

Excellent bar and great food menu and not all your normal burger steaks etc
Liver and onions was great!!!!!

Nice atmosphere in bar
Wifi not easy to get hold of but managed it

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson4, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Letterkenny, we appreciate your feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay and food in our Oakk Grill Bar
We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels allow
Kind regards
Elaine McIntyre
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Was greeted on arrival by a very pleasant guy at reception, who gave me relevant information about my stay and the restaurant facilities offered. Had dinner that night which was delicious and accompanied by great waiting staff, who where pleasant, courteous and hard working.
My stay was just for one night but it was very pleasant. Breakfast and check out was very swift the next day which was great as I was heading to work!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.4 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
3.8 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Address: Paddy Harte Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny is designed in a contemporary Irish style, with the comfort of both business and leisure guests in mind. The superior 4-star hotel features 114 modern, bright bedrooms, a restaurant, bar, grill, leisure centre, ample parking and complimentary high speed internet access. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Letterkenny town, within walking distance of shopping areas, cinema, theatre, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny Hotel Letterkenny
Radisson Hotel Letterkenny
Radisson Letterkenny
Radisson Sas Letterkenny
Letterkenny Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing