We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive enough without the extras!!”

Bread and Butter Bistro
Ranked #4 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Letterkenny
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Restaurant
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive enough without the extras!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Would eat in Bread and Butter with work colleagues regularly so decided to go there for Saturday lunch with my husband.

The place has had a revamp, unfortunately they have revamped their prices also! We had a burger with chips and a beef stir fry with noodles, one diet coke and hubby had a glass of water = €28! When I checked the receipt I noticed that we were charged €1.50 for mayonnaise on the burger as he did not want pepper sauce!

The food was nice but the price of it takes away from what we got! The service was ok, the kinda service you expect from a cafe/bistro. The proprietors are providing good cafe/bistro food and service however they are charging restaurant prices!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ngrieve12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    30
    18
    13
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will not be back!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very disappointed!..Ordered a wrap and panini and 2 teas for lunch (no side salad or chips) and bill was over €18!!!! Food was just OK but at that price forget about it!!!. When I queried the bill the cashier was very rude. Will not be back again!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodie3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yikes”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very poor selection of food, had a wrap, the bbq one, it was tiny!! :(
Really expensive for the food & service you get - very rude waitress, we seemed to be in her way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KG00005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Chip of the old block”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stopped in here for a sandwich. The food was okay. There was a raving review on the door from a newspaper but service and food were not as good as the reviewpromised. The staff were a bit aloof and all seemed to be having a good chat amongst themselves. The service was prompt enough after we ordered but the food was just basic. On my last mouthfull of coffee I realised there was a chip in my mug. Aaaarrrrggghhh

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice location, but not a place for foodies”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Bread and Butter is situated in a good location in a very busy shopping area of Letterkenny. So busy, in fact, that we had to queue to enter the carpark outside. I agree with previous reviewers that the decor is reasonable, with comfortable seats, and the fact that it is so busy leads to a nice atmosphere.

The food, however, is a different story. I ordered a "hawaiian melt" baguette, which was a single demi-baguette filled with a single slice of ham (apparently from a packet) that covered roughly 50% of the surface area of the baguette, coupled with a few chunks of tinned pineapple chunks and some bright orange melted cheese. It also had a side of chips, which were undercooked, and appear to have been frozen. If this were a 2 Euro sandwich from a shop in a rundown part of the city, I would expect this, but given that the price was a few cents off 10 Euro, it was a big letdown.

My friends all had chicken wraps, each of which they had to unwrap and re-build, as they were clearly put together with so much haste that they could not be hand-held.

To top it all off, when one of my companions ordered a cappuccino, he was told that they "only have black coffee or white coffee". He duly ordered white coffee. When it arrived, it was served in a latte glass, with a considerable top of frothed milk; as such, it appears that they have the equipment to make cappuccinos, just not the will to do so.

Strangely, the desserts were of good quality - I suspect they must buy them in rather than making them in-house. They weren't good enough to pull this review up from 2 stars.

Overall, I would not recommend this cafe unless you are going for dessert only - but even at that, the coffee situation means that you will be fairly thirsty by the time you are done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank largebrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Butter Bistro also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Bread and Butter Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing