We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ,peaceful perfect!”
Review of Larkfield B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Letterkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larkfield B & B
Ranked #18 of 26 Letterkenny B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful ,peaceful perfect!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this accommodation September weekend 2013 .......absolutely no problems at all . I'm sorry Mr Anthony B but your review is a bit unfair and out of order .......in my opinion the hosts were lovley , naturally very busy but fair, charming ,delightful and non intrusive . The accommodation was quiet , peaceful we had a great time . Our bathroom was massive and we had no issue with the shower (not a power shower) but the pressure was fine and not as you've described ...pleanty of hot water , no problems what so ever . Breakfast was great and we got a Home made scone and jam every morning ! .
Wonderful hosts and thank you again Xxx

Room Tip: We accommodated two rooms ......no problems ......enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evacee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I arrived at around 930pm to ask for a room for one night. I was greeted by Michael, who seemed an awkward, ill-at-ease character. They had no facility to accept debit cards; only credit cards. Surely in the year 2013 this sort of thing should not be an issue? We agreed on a mixture of sterling and Euro which Michael seemed happy enough with. Contact with Philomena was minimal but came across as somewhat short and abrasive, as confirmed by our contact via email.

I went to bed and about an hour later a car started, revved loudly right behind my room and made its way across the gravel. From 215am to 330am I could hear the voices of at least 2 women conversing, doors opening and closing and at least one of them walking around. I expressed this to Michael in the morning and he said he'd "had a word with them". Why did it take 1h15m to do so? A cooked breakfast was arranged for 9am. I woke at around 815 and used the shower. It was so weak it was like being sprayed with a fine mist as one walks alongside the ocean on a rough day.

I popped my head in to Michael at 845am to make him aware of my presence. This seemed to perturb him, as if I had broken the contract breakfast at 9am sharp. I was shown to the dining room and told I was "putting him under pressure". There were no other diners there. I didn't demand to be fed immediately, I was merely sitting there awaiting my breakfast at the agreed time. His awkwardness and stress levels seemed to increase. The breakfast was fine and adequate but I received a fried egg when I had requested none. I can only imagine the enormous stress of my 15 minute early arrival had caused him to panic in the kitchen.

I made the perfunctory goodbyes and made a swift exit.

Room Tip: The Tripadvisor ranking says it all. Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtmacsherry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

we enjoyed staying at your bed and breakfast and we hope to see you both again very soon. all the best from ann and hans from courtmacsherry in west cork.
we also enjoyed the scenic routes in letterkenny.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

This 3-room B&B is located in a private house tucked into a dense residential community on the outskirts of Letterkenny, a town that's very rapidly growing and gentrifying as the Celtic Tiger economy roars. Thus it's a quiet location (within sight of sheep and cow pastures), but not an especially convenient one, even with a car. Hostess Philomena was very nice, while her husband seemed rather flummoxed at having to interact with guests.
Breakfast was okay but nothing special; my favorite item was the homemade scones, offered only one morning of our stay. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, though it featured remarkably ugly/ anachronistic decor; our private bathroom, located across the hall, was huge and newly renovated.
All in all, the place met our needs but didn't stand out as a great cultural experience or tremendous value. It may be a more logical choice for business travelers helping Letterkenny expand than for tourists.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rue_papillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.0 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
0.0 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkfield B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkfield B & B

Property: Larkfield B & B
Address: Larkfield Larkfield Larkfield Drumnahoe, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larkfield B&B offers quiet and comfortable accommodation on the outskirts of Letterkenny, County Donegal. There are three bedrooms, two of which are en suite. Free Wifi available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing