We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hillcrest Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillcrest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Letterkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillcrest House
Ranked #17 of 27 Letterkenny B&B and Inns
Sth Yorks
1 review
“Hillcrest Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

Hillcrest house is situated on one of the main transport arteries close to the centre of Letterkenny, located at the heart of Donegal allowing easy access to all areas of the county. Hillcrest house has all the amenities expected by the traveller, provided to an excellent standard. The unexpected outstanding feature of our stay (6 nights) was the exceptional quality of the food provided, both at breakfast and dinner and the flexibility of the owner to meet our needs. The charm, local knowledge and eloquence of the proprietor added much to our stay, making it a memorable experience. which would be repeated when revisiting the area.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Rossmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, MD USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

We didn't like the city of Letterkenny, the property wasn't glamorous or luxurious, the room was small, as many reviewers have already noted. BUT the owner, Martin Anderson, made us so welcome, was so helpful with tips and directions, was such a great chef and so hospitable, that we would recommend this place to anyone.
His friendly, open manner and the welcome he extends to his guests make all the difference between a place to stay and finding a new friend.
The first night we got there, it was late and we were starving. We hadn't booked dinner, but he had made a little extra, 'just in case.' My husband had salmon, I only wanted some soup. It was all delicious and the perfect 'comfort meal' after a long day on the road. Typical of his concern for his guests that he would plan for us even without a definite reservation. The breakfasts were lovely, and he would help us plan our days, go over our maps with us, make recommendations that only a local to the area would know. We stayed three nights with him and it was sad to leave on the last day!

  • Liked — friendliness/helpfulness/cooking of the owner
  • Disliked — didn't like the city of Letterkenny
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lady717998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

From the moment we arrived our host, Martin was the best ever! He was very personable and tried his best to make sure we had a great stay!

The rooms were a bit small, as well as the tv's but all were very clean.

The location was easy to find, (right on the main road, yet there was no road noise). It took two minutes to get into the main part of Letterkenny, and with Martin's excellent recommendation we enjoyed a wonderful dinner in town.

The breakfast was exceptional! (See my pictures!) Served in a very nice dining room with beautiful murals on the the walls.

I would stay here again, and would recommend it to my friends as well thanks to our wonderful host Martin!

  • Liked — Our wonderful host Martin!
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tetonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

In the Hillcrest B&B you can meet Martin Anderson the best host you can find, stayed in his B&B was a pleasure. It was the first B&B we've never been, but we felt in home. It is located a few minutes from Letterkenny town center, the room was en suite, it is not very big but it is confortable enough, the bathroom was good too, and everithing was very clean, also the room has tv and tea and coffe making facilities.
Martin is the chef of the Crest cookery school, so his breakfast are incredible. You can have dinner there if you book it in advance.
If you have any questions about places to visit or how to get to them, Martin is always most pleased to help you.
If you go to Letterkenny you should visit Hill Crest House¡¡¡¡¡

  • Liked — It host
  • Disliked — Where it is placed
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alba30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

Hillcrest B&B is an immaculate guest house. All the rooms are en suite with tv and, tea and coffee making facilities, and the beds are extremely comfortable. From the moment you arrive, and are greeted by the most genial host you'll hope to find, Martin Anderson, your stay will be a pleasure. I don't know many B&B's, if any at all, whose host is an award winning chef, having lived and worked for two years in Paris. Martin believes that a good start to the day is a hearty breakfast, and you certainly wont go hungry. Martin will also prepare evening meals if you give him enough notice. You can pre-book something to eat on your arrival as well. If you have any questions about places to visit or how to get to them, Martin is always most pleased to help you. I travel to Letterkenny several times a year, always staying at the Hillcrest. Before finding the Hillcrest i stayed at other B&B's, but would certainly not go back to them again, so i feel justified in saying the Hillcrest is the best B&B in Letterkenny!

  • Liked — The host was very helpful for tourist tips, the food was superb and the rooms were extremely comfortable.
  • Disliked — there was nothing i could say i disliked about the accomodation.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank essexguy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed in a fantastic B&B in Letterkenny, Ireland. Our host was Martin Anderson who gave us a warm welcome and was helpful with our touring plans in Co. Donegal. The rooms were immaculate with modern bathrooms and comfortable beds. Martin is a gourmet chef who was trained in Paris, so we were offered choices of delicious breakfast foods. Dinner is also an option if you give Martin a wee bit of notice. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at Hill Crest House if we were in that part of Ireland again.
Hill Crest House
Lurgybrack, Letterkenny
Co. Donegal, Ire.
[-----------]
Tel/Fax: 074 9122300 Mobile: 087 2457497

Helpful?
Thank shamrock45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

From the moment we arrived we had a delightful experience. Martin is a very accomodating and hospitable host! The breakfast was the best we had in our stay throughout Ireland! We can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank SarahsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
17.6 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
17.2 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
17.4 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
17.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House

Property: Hillcrest House
Address: Hill Crest Hillcrest House Sligo Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Letterkenny
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Failte Ireland 3 Star Approved B&B , is owned by Your host, award winning Chef Martin Anderson, he invites you to spend a little time in the heartland of County Donegal, be it a mid-week stay for business, a long lazy weekend exploring the joys of Donegal, experiencing the joys of traditional Irish cooking, a night at the races at Lifford Greyhound Stadium or tapping your feet to the beat of one of the many music pubs of the area. As a food Approved Destination, Chef Anderson Only use local ingredients and produce , with home baking , Breakfast and Dinner a specialty , A wee Irish Coffee Compliments of the Chef each evening is also awaiting you on arrival or while relaxing at the end of a busy day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing