We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Off Night for Pennsylvania House”
Review of Pennsylvania House

Pennsylvania House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Letterkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pennsylvania House
Ranked #12 of 27 Letterkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent 3 weeks taking 12 US tourists around the west of Ireland mainly. The only poor night's accommodation we had was Pennsylvania House and although to be fair it may well have been just one of those things - NO HOT WATER - and the one time we desperately needed it after long slogs along the Giant's Causeway. We had no hot water in the evening & none in the morning with lots of fobbing off excuses. We still had to pay full price which was the MOST expensive we had all over Ireland (& some of our B&Bs were top rate). The rooms were also not heated so made for a cold night. No matter how comfy the beds are - if you are cold & there is no hot water it makes for a miserable stay. I can't say I'd ever go back. A "scarcity mentality" does not pair well with "hospitality".

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 40 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed here one night and fell in love with the Irish landscapes, the warm people like Nuala and Michael and the comfy home that Pennsylvania House is. Ate well, slept like a rock and felt like I made new friends - What else could you ask for? Will definitely go back with a bit more time to explore the individual counties.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Karasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have stayed at this B&B many times and keep going back! It is a beautiful place to stay and is like a home to home. You get a real Irish welcome from Nuala and Michael - their hospitality is second to none. The breakfast is always first class, well cooked and plenty to eat.The bedrooms are spacious and very well presented. It is well situated, just on the outskirts of Letterkenny. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank susan209956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Warm, friendly greeting by a very gracious hostess. Nula made us feel very much at home. A lot of attention to the "little things". She went out of her way to make our stay and visit memorable. We are more than a little surprised to read several negative reviews. A B & B is not a hotel, but someone's home and you have to be considerate of that. We found Nula and her husband very accomodating. The snacks and meal was delightful. We would definitely stay at Pennsylvania House again and recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful country B & B. Thanks Nula and Michael.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Brian_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

2 of my friends and I, booked this B&B after I saw it on the net. I looked lovely and the reviews were good. When i rang Nula, she sounded really nice. We were told that it would only be 5Euros in a taxi to the Country Fest, which was the reason for our visit. In truth it was 12Euro. Apparently we were not the only people told this. We got a taxi back from town around 2.30am, and were 'met' at the front door by Nula. We felt like naughty school children. By the way, all three of us are mature ladies in our 40's!!! We went to our room, which had 4 beds, and which we were told NOT to sit on, or set anything in the 1 we were not using!!! We had a bit of a giggle while getting ready for bed, when our phone rang. NULA!!!! telling us to be quiet. we respected that, even though we were not noisey! Next morning when we came down to breakfast, she scolded us in front of all the guests round the table. Told us that she was running a B&B not a HOTEL!!! We were so embarrased we cudnt even eat our breakfast, and the other guests were mortified The atmosphere was horrendous. We went to our room, packed our bags, paid her and left. We wern't the only ones either. We gave a lady from Derry a lift to town. She had also booked 2 nights, but only stayed one. If you are someone who likes to enjoy urself, i would deffinatley not reccommend this place. On a good note, it was spottless, if a little old fashoned. And Pettals the dog was addorable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jacquelinesmith585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

A little bit of America over here. Homely atmosphere, genuine landlady, beautiful views of the hills of Donegal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank charlieFcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

All we can say is WOW WOW WOW! This was one of the most wonderful experiences we can say we have ever had in our lives. The Pennsylvania House is a beautiful place with an amazing view of the classic Ireland countryside. Very picture perfect and gives you a wonderful foundation for all of the beautiful scenic views that Ireland has to offer. But even more than that the owner, Nuala Duddy is one of the most friendly and charming people we could have ever imagined to meet. She would always ask us in the morning during our wonderful traditional Irish breakfast what we were doing for the day. Then she would offer insight into where we were going or offer suggestions of other things we might enjoy in the area. When we returned back to the B&B she was very quick to offer a “wee cuppa & biscuit” and enjoyed hearing about our day. She was truly interested to hear if we enjoyed the sights we saw. We were also quite interested in the local culture and she was very insightful into giving us a glimpse of what it was like in the local area. I think you could stay at every B&B in the whole of Ireland and never find another proprietor that would put more of her heart and soul into making sure you are enjoying your visit. Would very highly recommend The Pennsylvania House to anyone that was planning on staying anywhere near the Donegal County area. We cannot say more about how much we truly enjoyed our visit here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bperlstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
2.6 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
2.8 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oaklands B&B
Oaklands B&B
#2 of 27 in Letterkenny
119 reviews
4.8 mi away
Woodview House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Killererin House B&B
Killererin House B&B
#6 of 27 in Letterkenny
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennsylvania House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennsylvania House

Address: Curraghleas | Mountain Top, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Letterkenny
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing