We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful place to stay, we were reluctant to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful place to stay, we were reluctant to leave”
Reviewed February 13, 2010

A large group of us had a function at the hotel and some of us stayed over. The hotel was exceptional in every way. I have stayed in many hotels over the years this place is wonderful. The location is great very romantic yet near enough to letterkenny for a livelier night. The rooms were individual and unique in every way, the furnishings very suited to the period of the house. The bed was the most comfortable ever!! The staff were more than helpful and more than willing to tend to all our needs. A wonderful place

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DonegalFizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    42
    11
    0
    8
See reviews for
46
110
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed here as a birthday treat - can only describe the weekend as sheer
relaxation and tranquility.
Apart from the beautiful scenery - the hotel itself reminds you of a time when hotels
really were places to relax and unwind. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff
or owners who were on hand to attend to our every need - the attention to detail -
the charm and elegance just made the stay so enjoyable.
It is, so obviously , a labour of love for the owners and it shows.
Would recommend this hotel for anyone who needs their batteries recharged and somewhere to be indulged.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burt1972
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

This was an interesting place to stay and had positives and negatives. Firstly I would recommend it, although be aware that the furnishings etc may not be what you expect from a 3/4star residence. I spent the weekend with my wife and upon arrival was a little perturbed to see the greenhouse area full of chairs that looked like they had been dumped there. This house was refurbished in 1999 and it looks like it has not been updated since. The furnishing in the bedrooms is certainly dated but they are spotless.

However, the welcome we got was fantastic and friendly and not typical of the reception received at most Irish hotels anymore. We got coffee in the drawing room upon arrival with home made cookies (no charge by the way) and the fire was lit for us. Ironing is done free of charge if you drop your stuff at reception too. It is a family run hotel and it shows.

Be aware that the hotel is about 4 miles from letterkenny, about a 15 euro taxi ride. So we ate in the hotel the first night and had wine and Irish coffees(some of the best I have tasted by the way) in the drawing room after by the fire. Food was good and reasonable 69 euro for 2 course for 2 people. The other nights we ate out and drove back and had some wine and coffee in the drawing room. The lemon tree and the bistro opposite provided good fare.

First impressions are a little “ not so sure” with this hotel but as a base for the Donegal area we enjoyed it and overall would recommend it on the basis of relaxation and service. I know my parents would enjoy it (We are in our early 30’s). This place is not for those looking for a loud and boisterous weekend.

The rooms are slightly noisy if you are over the drawing rooms as guests can sit and talk, sometimes loudly and it is a house so the floors are not precast concrete. This did not bother me too much but it could be worth asking for the far side of the house if it bothers you. This did not go on late; typically everyone retired to the rooms before 11.30pm. That’s the kind of place it is, you retire to the room.
Generally though the house is dead silent.

For the money it is a good place to stay and I would recommend it but be aware of the limitations if that bothers you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Castle Grove in Letterkenny, Co Donegal is a beautifully kept restored Georgian home in an equally splendid part of Ireland.
The house boasts beautiful periods rooms with high ceilings, genuine antiques and cut glass chandeliers.
The food experience is wonderful offering local produce at its best.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

I took my wife here for a quiet weekend so that we could both recharge our batteries and WOW. What a splendid place.
Take time out and leave the kids, mobile phone, laptop and anything else from the modern world and step back in time for a day or two.
We were given the George Bernard Shaw suite. Very large room with fantastic period furniture. The bed was socomfortable that we overslept the next morning for breakfast.
Though this is a four star establishment, the service is not what you expect from a modern hotel and thank god for that. It is warm, friendly and laid back. saying that, it is very good but it just adds to that feel of going back in time.
We sat in the drawing room for almost 3 hours reading the papers. No background music, no traffic and not even the sound of the wind and rain, just the gentle chimes of the old clocks going off every half hour. If you want peace and quiet then you have it here ina very large amount.
The food is outstanding, fine dining and fine wines but a wine list to suite all tastes and pockets.
For what you get here the price is very reasonable so it won't break the bank.
It is approx 3-4 miles from Letterkenny and approx 1 hour from Derry depending on traffic.
I don't play golf but the Letterkenny golf club is nearby.
This place is for the quiet getaway, not for kids or nightlife.
All in all, a place of tranquillity.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Loved our stay here in June. The room we had was in the main house overlooking the Lough. We never heard a peep from any other room which makes a change these days.

Dinner was good quality but rather formal for my liking and breakfast was serevd in the same room which was rather intimidating if there were just two of you there. We found breakfast quite slow...but then we were on holiday.

The only real minus point was lack of tea and coffee facilties in the room. Sure, they brought them up if you rang for room service, but there is nothing like being able to do it yourself especially in the early morning.

We would certainly recommend a stay here to anyone who likes a quiet, characterful location with friendly staff and good food.

  • Liked — Quiet location and ambience
  • Disliked — Lack of tea making facilities in the room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely weekend in donegal this weekend. The Castlegrove is an old fashioned country house and the decor will not be to everyone's liking. However the bedroom and bathroom were much bigger than the normal hotel room and the evening meal was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helped out with some queries we had regarding local amenities. The only small negative points I could make are 1. I had to contact the hotel several times before my booking was confirmed. 2. For such a big bedroom the TV was the smallest I have seen. 3. The Donegal weather (very changeable). I would definitely consider using this hotel in the future.
Also if you are travelling to Donegal, don't miss Glenveigh National Park!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Densel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,111 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
4.6 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
9.2 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Grove Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Grove Country House Hotel

Property: Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Address: 245 Ramelton Road | Ballymaleel, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Grove Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Grove House is a 4 star hotel (Georgian house) and award winning restaurant which overlooks Lough Swilly and welcomes you into a relaxed atmosphere of comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Castle Grove Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Grove Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing