We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but needs a little updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Pleasant but needs a little updating”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We were met with a nice welcome and immediately shown to our room and offered tea at once. A great start. The room was very big and comfortable with fine fittings and a real 'country home' feel. Given the style and quality of the room decor, it was somewhat disappointing that some of what most consider standard features of a 4* room were lacking. Without a telephone to contact reception, no television, no tea making facility, no safe, no trouser press and hardly adequate heating took from the overall experience. In addition the toilet cistern took about a half hour to refill, which was extremely 'inconvenient'. Although we advised the proprietress of this issue, they were unable to have it repaired on the Saturday evening we were there. The shower handle needs to be replaced as it is quite rusted. They're are many positives including the friendliness of the owners and the breakfast was excellent and overall it was a nice experience. However a little extra attention to small upgrading the house would enhance the property. Finally, I think it only fair to say that a discount was applied to our account for the bathroom failures.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Waddlerstrikesback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Firstly I would like to apologize for the bathroom issues, unfortunately we were unable to get the situation repaired that evening in a timely manner.
I will certainly take your feedback on board as this is the best way to improve and we are in the process of some minor updates throughout the hotel.
I do appreciate your comments re the friendly service and the quality of your breakfast, we do work effortlessly to welcome our guests and accommodate their needs.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again and you will see first hand how these reviews are extremely helpful.

Kind regards,
Irene Sweeney
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    42
    11
    0
    8
See reviews for
46
109
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at the Castle Grove and would highly recommend it. The owner Mary was so friendly and very interesting when talking about the house. The room was slightly cold but lovely. We also really appreciated the complimentary coffee and fruit bread that we got whilst sitting beside the roaring fire! We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was outstanding, we couldn't fault it! The setting is lovely and we intend to return later in the spring.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi Louise,

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to write this review and of course your kind words re the friendly service and the food.
We do work hard to provide friendly attentive service at all times and we are very pleased you enjoyed the food so much.
We are very proud of our restaurant's achievements and awards and we continue to use customer feedback to grow and improve on a daily basis.
I will be sure to tell mum, Mary, that you enjoyed hearing about the history of the house, she will be delighted!!
I and all the team here very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Irene Sweeney
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had our wedding reception at Castle Grove in February 2014. Right from the first time we enquired, we were treated as royalty. The staff could not have done any more for us to make our wedding and our stay there any more perfect. The setting is beautiful in the grounds and the guest rooms are spectacular - the whole hotel is furnished with antiques and period décor. It's such a beautiful environment in which to relax and enjoy.

Our meal was sensational - Filet of Irish Beef for everyone, which was cooked beautifully.

Breakfast was lovely too!

The staff are so fantastic. Everyone makes each and every guest feel so welcomed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi Mary,

Thank you very much for your your kind words, I am delighted the Castle Grove team was able to help in this very special day and it is so rewarding for us to know that you, your groom, family and friends all enjoyed the day!
We do work effortlessly to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay and in particular wedding parties as this really is their big day and we want everything to be just perfect.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Castle Grove soon!!

Kind regards,
Irene Sweeney
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here one night with my husband, wonderful experience.I booked the suite as a treat,this was a great choice. We had a lovely sitting room and a bedroom with a huge four poster bed. Everything about this place is so peaceful and tranquil, exactly what we needed. The house is beautiful with some amazing pieces of furniture, staff are always on hand, genuinely friendly, without being intrusive. It has an old fashioned charm, with tea offered on arrival by the fire and the delightful Mrs Sweeny visiting her guests in he dining room, good old fashioned hosting!We will definitely return ASAP! ....and the food!...amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annrosepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
I will be sure to show my mother, Mrs Sweeney, and the staff your kind review and very much look forward to welcoming you to Castle Grove in the near future.
Kind regards,
Irene Sweeney
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

In December my husband and I took a short break in Co Donegal and went went for dinner to Grove House. So impressed were we of the quality of the food and the hospitality of the owner and staff that my husband booked for us to actually stay for the Valentine weekend. We were not dissapointed. The food was incredible with some amazing flavours, we had a 5 course meal on Friday night and planned to eat out on Saturday but we couldnt resist going back and sampling the dishes we didnt have the night before.
In addition to the food the hospitality and service was first class, from the owner Mary B Sweeney and her daughter to all the staff . Their friendliness was genuine and we were made to feel more like friends than Patrons. The house is fascinating and full of antiques. A real peice of history.

We plan to go back again in the summer and visit the house and the beautiful area to see it in a different light. The nearest large town is Letterkenny a couple of miles away.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi Ann,
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted you decided to visit us again and am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
I will be sure to let the chefs know how much you enjoyed your meals.
I am so happy you felt so welcome , we work hard at making sure all our guests are made feel welcome and comfortable. As a family business we truly care about all of our guests and very much appreciate their business, so your review is very rewarding to us.
I hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Irene Sweeney
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband took me here on 19th December for my birthday. We had not eaten here in a few years. It was simply wonderful the food was absolutely delicious and such good value. We had a delicious goats cheese salad starter followed by a gorgeous sorbet then turkey and ham simply divine and loads of it and a chocolate parfait for dessert gorgeous. We also had delicious homemade breads, a chefs appetiser and lovely tea and mince pies to finish all in all brillant. I would highly recommend and cannot wait to return. I was even serenaded by one of the waiters when told of my birthday. What a perfect birthday thank you to all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fox149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and of course I am thrilled our team was able to make you felt so special and welcome on your birthday.
I will be sure to let the chefs know how much you enjoyed the meal , we do work effortlessly to maintain high standards in the restaurant and throughout the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Irene Sweeney
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We visited this country house hotel and restaurant in mid-December for my wife's birthday. The last time that we visited was around 2 years ago. The restaurant has certainly maintained its very high standards with regards to the quality food, ambience and service. We were not disappointed. We chose from the four-course festive menu and every course was extremely tasty with so much attention to detail. All in all, a great dining experience, not to mention the competitively priced menu which represented real value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank george9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Hi Charlotte,
Happy New Year, hope 2015 will be kind to you.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We, as a team, are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much, it's hard to top "best hotel stay ever" but we will continue to maintain and improve our services and always remain humble in doing so.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
3.6 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,110 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
4.6 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
9.2 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Grove Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Grove Country House Hotel

Property: Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Address: 245 Ramelton Road | Ballymaleel, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Grove Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Grove House is a 4 star hotel (Georgian house) and award winning restaurant which overlooks Lough Swilly and welcomes you into a relaxed atmosphere of comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Castle Grove Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Grove Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing