We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in Donegal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very pleasant and affordable hotel with extremely helpful and smiling staff. Easy to find and well located on the edge of Letterkenny. Good food and plenty of it. Great location as a base for exploring Donegal. Warmly recommended!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the corridor doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,507 - 1,513 of 2,307 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Second visit with wife and 2 young children. I'm glad to say this was just as enjoyable as the first visit at Christmas, food was excellent, staff were great especially with the children, "fun time" in the swimming pool was very enjoyable, location is great. Even when we went at Christmas and the hotel was booked out (and car park parked out!) we found the staff to be the same, all very helpful. We had dinner both in The Great Room as part of the Easter package, then stayed an extra night and had dinner in the bar, the food both night was fantastic and the bar meals were reasonably priced as well, we're already booked in for Christmas again but may be back before that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seatzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel rooms are basic but very comfortable. Double bed,Tea/coffee making provided and two comfortable chairs. The staff couldn't have been nicer - so friendly. We were part of a bus tour and there was a set menu for dinner, but even so the food was really good and there was plenty of it. Breakfast was good - a vast choice and fresh baked soda bread every morning. A large swimming pool with saunas and steam rooms. Overall an excellent choice of hotel, close to town and main routes for exploring the area.

Room Tip: We were downstairs in room 115 - it was very quiet and facing into a small central garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Myself, wife and son stayed here for 3 nights over Easter. First impressions of the hotel were very good with everything very clean and tidy. Its about a 15 minute walk from the main street in Letterkenny . Check in was swift, the girls on reception were very helpful and friendly, Orla being particularly helpful. Room was spacious and clean. The only fault with the room was that it had what appeared to be an extraction unit for the hotel kitchen right outside the window and it runs non stop from 6 in the morning until 11 at night. The room number was 351 so avoid that one if possible. The breakfast was of a good standard with a good choice for everyone but can get very busy after 9 oclock. The food in the hotel bar was excellent so much so that we ate in the bar for the 3 nights of our stay which is something we would never do. When eating you must try a duo of josper it is medallions of beef with chicken fillet on a bed of mash and mushroom sauce absolute class. The only fault was that we could not get a drink in the hotel bar with our meal on Good Friday night even though we were assured drink would be served with meals. Saturday and Sunday the bar was very busy and is child friendly. The leisure facilities were excellent with friendly staff, good gym, fitness studio, swimming pool etc. The changing rooms were clean with coin operated lockers and towels supplied.
We will definitely be going back to this hotel and would highly recommend it .
Would have given it 5 stars only for the noisy room but I was informed on checkout that if I had let staff known earlier they would have moved us to another room, so hopefully next time we visit and they don't let their standards drop it will be a 5.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank ashmonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed two nights over easter seven people pensioners adults and kids. We all loved it. Great food, rooms and leisure centre. Well located and staff all fab. Kids loved fun n games in pool. Would recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank chrisy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Unfortunately our car needed repairs and the cost in the South was just too much and cheaper in Northern Ireland by a factor of 10. Found the Hotel by looking on Google Maps and checked out the reviews there and then decided to stay a week here with the family while the car was repaired.

Staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. The bar staff and dining room staff were fantastic and after meeting us (we were there during a quiet time), remembered who we were and what we liked. Great service and no fuss.

The food was fantastic but the portions were just way too large for us and we could not finish any of the meals. We stayed on a kids break and 3 dinners for us and the boys were included but we are not big eaters and could not manage the excellent food served.

The boys live in the hotel room if given a chance especially since the internet there was so good and fast. We nearly had to drag them away from their systems to get to see anything and to allow the cleaners to clean the room.

The pool is nice and warm and contains a steam room, jacuzzi, sauna, etc and was nicely done. There is a play time for the kids between 10 and 12 where the staff provide pool toys for the kids. Like I said, we were there during a quiet time and yet the pool was quite busy but the kids loved it and enjoyed meeting other kids staying in the hotel.

With the kids package, you also get some discounts to the nearby Arena7 and to bowling - we did not do the bowling but Arena7 is a bi of fun.

Shopping is close by. Either up town or the shopping district down the way. Both are very busy but within walking distance unless you but something. Derry is only about 30 minutes away and has great shows as well (but prices there are in Sterling, so watch out for that).

Hotel is nice and clean, staff friendly and reception was brilliant. Explained everything and pointed us in the directions we needed.

We are going back there in August for our summer holidays and hope to be able to stay about two weeks or so. We found a lot out the first time around and the second time, we hope to have even more fun and adventure there.

Loved the place and really enjoyed our stay there - what else can we say.

Yours,
Christopher J.

Room Tip: Get rooms to the back of the hotel if road noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here on Easter Saturday with Family and what a wonderful time we had! having previously stayed with all the nieces and nephews for the Santa Experience I knew the facilities on offer! What a wonderful personal touch for my niece and nephew to find an Easter Egg each and a card from the Easter Bunny also with a little note saying Santa had been asking after them! Needless to say they were delighted and amazed! Rooms where outstanding clean comfortable. We stayed in a beautiful Suite with the most amazing shower! We ate in the bar and the food was absolutely wonderful! and so very reasonable! Service Five Star great banter with all the staff from Denise on Reception to Declan in the bar/restaurant. All so welcoming polite and friendly! Breakfast was also outstanding great choices and plentiful - yes the hotel was busy as it was Easter but that added to the great atmosphere and was great for the kids as they had lots of new friends! we throughly enjoyed the leisure time in the pool and all the floats and fun toys where provided! All in all there is no fault to be found Mount Errigal go above and beyond with lovely personal service great personal touches and lashings of the great Donegal hospitality! We cannot wait to return! Thank-you Mount Errigal :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $55 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing